We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business or pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Auckland

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quay West Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Auckland
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    125
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
102
138
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed last night in a one bedroomed apartment at Quay West Suites. We were blown away with the size of the apartment. It had everything and more including it's own full laundry.
Deck was huge and view amazing.
Location was great as once we had parked the car ($26) we walked where we wanted to go.
Staff were all friendly, check in and out quick and easy.
We used our Accor card to book this room so felt we really got great value for money and are already looking forward to staying here again.
Downside was the water pressure in the shower which was not great and the little cafe had already closed when we arrived mid afternoon.
Everything was spotlessly clean and we highly recommend Quay West Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Jenny M,
Thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. We are pleased you enjoyed the spacious suite and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Mum and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a a high floor (L 21) grand corner suite. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, laundrey, kitchen, dining room, longe room and large balcony on both sides. Views out to West Harbour, Westhaven Marina, Auckland Harbour bridge, Rangitoto Island, sparkling Waitemata Harbour, out to the other more distant islands - right around! Easy access to the fairly recently developed downtown viaduct and Britomart areas. Easy stay - no hassle - great apartment - every thing that you could possibly want or need. I joined Count Down NZ (Woolworths) and had basic breakfast groceries delivered so they were waiting for me at reception when we arrived. I had contacted reception about it - no worries. I would stay here again - especially with teenagers - room to spread out - access to downtown Akl - own bathrrom - own food supply and able to wash n dry clothes! Only thing that was difficult was trying to get through to them from Australia - both initially to make the reservation and also to speak to them afterwards - longwinded process and often put on hold and cut off.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for - we went for the most expensive and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear D R,
We appreciate your detailed feedback relating to your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. We are pleased to hear the hotel offerings and service met your expectation and requirements. The suites certainly lend themselves to families given the space and facilities provided. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mixed feelings about this place. Stayed with my wife and our two kids for 6 nights. First the positives

1. Excellent location - good base to explore Auckland.

2. Rooms although a little dated quite comfortable, serviced daily and clean.

3. Most staff (apart from one) friendly and helpful

Negatives unfortunately outweigh the positives:

1. Outrageous Internet fees. I travel extensively and reluctantly except Internet fees in better properties. I am usually fine with paying up to $30 a night as this will be used for all devices (laptop, iPads, mobiles). However, the Quay West Auckland charges $25 per device per day! For a business person this is just not acceptable. This is a just a rip off! Additionally the Internet is very slow. The property will try to say free Internet is available in the foyer but this just does not cut if. Also the speed in the foyer was barely above old dial up speeds!

Internet cost is the reason only given 1 star for value.

2. Very noisy. Rooms are not well insulated and street noise is a constant problem when sleeping even on the higher floors.

3. Fire Alarm malfunctioned a number of times during our stay. No apology to guests.

4. Attempted to charge us for items we did not consume.

5. The night before our departure reception called to advise we should have checked out in the morning and if we wanted to stay an extra night fees would apply. Reception was in the wrong. We prepaid room and had to argue we were in the right. Finally it was accepted we were correct. No apology provided.

Conclusion

Good location but there other some excellent hotels in just as good locations. Explore your options. I will not be returning to the Quay West Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear OzTD,
Thank you for your feedback relating to your experience at Quay West Suites Auckland. We appreciate all of your constructive comments and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further offline. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct on katie.worthy@accor.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a quick weekend in Auckland on the way to the Americas. Wanted to be near the viaduct so debated between this and the Sofitel. Based on reviews and price decided on Quay West.

Got in around 1am and were greeted by a friendly and chatty check in guy. Quick check in then up to the room.

The suites are massive, with large separate living room, kitchen, laundry, bedroom & bathroom, and a large balcony. Unfortunately July was a bit chilly to get use of the balcony!

Everything does look pretty dated and tired, like its last makeover was in the 90s or earlier. Very plain decor and some chips in the wall paint. Still, very comfortable!

The bed was really comfy so settled in for a good nights sleep, but unfortunately the sound proofing isn't great and there was constant street noise and non-stop police sirens. Maybe Auckland has taken a crime nose-dive recently??

Shower was a bit of a trickle but did the job.

Was glad of having the laundry in the end and was nice to have a proper kitchen, not that it got much use other than making tea!

Check out was again really friendly and they recommended and booked a Super Shuttle, which was less than half the price of a taxi and very efficient, so a good suggestion.

All in all it was a decent hotel and good value, but its certainly could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Chris W,
Thank you for your detailed feedback relating to your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the service you encountered and take on board your comments relating to the decor and refurbishment requirements of the suites. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#18 Family Hotel in Auckland
#20 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quay West Suites Auckland 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
Quay West Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.