We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quay West magical views - good for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$40 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quay West magical views - good for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Mum and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a a high floor (L 21) grand corner suite. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, laundrey, kitchen, dining room, longe room and large balcony on both sides. Views out to West Harbour, Westhaven Marina, Auckland Harbour bridge, Rangitoto Island, sparkling Waitemata Harbour, out to the other more distant islands - right around! Easy access to the fairly recently developed downtown viaduct and Britomart areas. Easy stay - no hassle - great apartment - every thing that you could possibly want or need. I joined Count Down NZ (Woolworths) and had basic breakfast groceries delivered so they were waiting for me at reception when we arrived. I had contacted reception about it - no worries. I would stay here again - especially with teenagers - room to spread out - access to downtown Akl - own bathrrom - own food supply and able to wash n dry clothes! Only thing that was difficult was trying to get through to them from Australia - both initially to make the reservation and also to speak to them afterwards - longwinded process and often put on hold and cut off.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for - we went for the most expensive and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear D R,
We appreciate your detailed feedback relating to your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. We are pleased to hear the hotel offerings and service met your expectation and requirements. The suites certainly lend themselves to families given the space and facilities provided. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    135
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
108
142
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mixed feelings about this place. Stayed with my wife and our two kids for 6 nights. First the positives

1. Excellent location - good base to explore Auckland.

2. Rooms although a little dated quite comfortable, serviced daily and clean.

3. Most staff (apart from one) friendly and helpful

Negatives unfortunately outweigh the positives:

1. Outrageous Internet fees. I travel extensively and reluctantly except Internet fees in better properties. I am usually fine with paying up to $30 a night as this will be used for all devices (laptop, iPads, mobiles). However, the Quay West Auckland charges $25 per device per day! For a business person this is just not acceptable. This is a just a rip off! Additionally the Internet is very slow. The property will try to say free Internet is available in the foyer but this just does not cut if. Also the speed in the foyer was barely above old dial up speeds!

Internet cost is the reason only given 1 star for value.

2. Very noisy. Rooms are not well insulated and street noise is a constant problem when sleeping even on the higher floors.

3. Fire Alarm malfunctioned a number of times during our stay. No apology to guests.

4. Attempted to charge us for items we did not consume.

5. The night before our departure reception called to advise we should have checked out in the morning and if we wanted to stay an extra night fees would apply. Reception was in the wrong. We prepaid room and had to argue we were in the right. Finally it was accepted we were correct. No apology provided.

Conclusion

Good location but there other some excellent hotels in just as good locations. Explore your options. I will not be returning to the Quay West Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear OzTD,
Thank you for your feedback relating to your experience at Quay West Suites Auckland. We appreciate all of your constructive comments and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further offline. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct on katie.worthy@accor.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a quick weekend in Auckland on the way to the Americas. Wanted to be near the viaduct so debated between this and the Sofitel. Based on reviews and price decided on Quay West.

Got in around 1am and were greeted by a friendly and chatty check in guy. Quick check in then up to the room.

The suites are massive, with large separate living room, kitchen, laundry, bedroom & bathroom, and a large balcony. Unfortunately July was a bit chilly to get use of the balcony!

Everything does look pretty dated and tired, like its last makeover was in the 90s or earlier. Very plain decor and some chips in the wall paint. Still, very comfortable!

The bed was really comfy so settled in for a good nights sleep, but unfortunately the sound proofing isn't great and there was constant street noise and non-stop police sirens. Maybe Auckland has taken a crime nose-dive recently??

Shower was a bit of a trickle but did the job.

Was glad of having the laundry in the end and was nice to have a proper kitchen, not that it got much use other than making tea!

Check out was again really friendly and they recommended and booked a Super Shuttle, which was less than half the price of a taxi and very efficient, so a good suggestion.

All in all it was a decent hotel and good value, but its certainly could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Chris W,
Thank you for your detailed feedback relating to your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the service you encountered and take on board your comments relating to the decor and refurbishment requirements of the suites. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I first started staying here early 2012 and i loved the fact it was equally apartment style/hotel style, but now since changing to Accor, Things are starting to change! They no longer offer room service/breakfast which is a disappointment as we dont actually use the cook facilities, I wish they had of given you notice or something in your room as i went downstairs to ask for a breakfast menu and was told they no longer off room service. The room was a little unclean, the bin had food still in it with a plastic bag over the top, and the showers are never properly cleaned, alot of grime in the cracks.
Apart from those small things i love this hotel especially for it's handy location, Walking Distance to everything and the spacious balconys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear SarahJ20,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. Please note that whilst room service is no longer available, we can happily assist with bringing an order from the cafe up to your suite for your convenience. We apologise for the cleanliness issue experienced on this stay, it is certainly not the level of service we strive to acheive and will ensure this is follow up accordingly. Please do not hesitate to talk to us directly on your next return visit and we can ensure your personal requirements are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I appreciated the excellent views, the space, and the privacy of the bedroom - it was well laid out for work colleagues who don't know each other that well. Warm, comfortable and secure, and of course it was very convenient for the course we were attending. Great shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Flashy1842,
We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the shower and the space of the suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quay West Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
Quay West Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.