We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Auckland

Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quay West Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Auckland
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    126
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
102
139
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a quick weekend in Auckland on the way to the Americas. Wanted to be near the viaduct so debated between this and the Sofitel. Based on reviews and price decided on Quay West.

Got in around 1am and were greeted by a friendly and chatty check in guy. Quick check in then up to the room.

The suites are massive, with large separate living room, kitchen, laundry, bedroom & bathroom, and a large balcony. Unfortunately July was a bit chilly to get use of the balcony!

Everything does look pretty dated and tired, like its last makeover was in the 90s or earlier. Very plain decor and some chips in the wall paint. Still, very comfortable!

The bed was really comfy so settled in for a good nights sleep, but unfortunately the sound proofing isn't great and there was constant street noise and non-stop police sirens. Maybe Auckland has taken a crime nose-dive recently??

Shower was a bit of a trickle but did the job.

Was glad of having the laundry in the end and was nice to have a proper kitchen, not that it got much use other than making tea!

Check out was again really friendly and they recommended and booked a Super Shuttle, which was less than half the price of a taxi and very efficient, so a good suggestion.

All in all it was a decent hotel and good value, but its certainly could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Chris W,
Thank you for your detailed feedback relating to your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the service you encountered and take on board your comments relating to the decor and refurbishment requirements of the suites. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I first started staying here early 2012 and i loved the fact it was equally apartment style/hotel style, but now since changing to Accor, Things are starting to change! They no longer offer room service/breakfast which is a disappointment as we dont actually use the cook facilities, I wish they had of given you notice or something in your room as i went downstairs to ask for a breakfast menu and was told they no longer off room service. The room was a little unclean, the bin had food still in it with a plastic bag over the top, and the showers are never properly cleaned, alot of grime in the cracks.
Apart from those small things i love this hotel especially for it's handy location, Walking Distance to everything and the spacious balconys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear SarahJ20,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. Please note that whilst room service is no longer available, we can happily assist with bringing an order from the cafe up to your suite for your convenience. We apologise for the cleanliness issue experienced on this stay, it is certainly not the level of service we strive to acheive and will ensure this is follow up accordingly. Please do not hesitate to talk to us directly on your next return visit and we can ensure your personal requirements are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I appreciated the excellent views, the space, and the privacy of the bedroom - it was well laid out for work colleagues who don't know each other that well. Warm, comfortable and secure, and of course it was very convenient for the course we were attending. Great shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Flashy1842,
We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the shower and the space of the suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

To start - the staff are lovely, we had no problems with them.
The suite - reasonable fixtures, had a nice view down to the harbour. We had a king bed and the mattress topper seemed a bit narrow.
For an apartment style suite they weren't keen to help you cook - no foil, no baking dishes, no little bottle of oil. The fridge was filled with the usual overpriced mini bar items.
The bathroom wasn't well proportioned - the toilet hid behind the door, the shower was small, and the water pressure not great, and the temperature was difficult to control.
Internet access was expensive - if you could get a router - or free if you wanted to spend a lot of time sitting round the lobby - you had to get a new password for each device and each time :(
Parking was also expensive.
There was a cafe in the hotel - but we didn't use it as we were told it was only open till 4:00.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Bethdid,
We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations of an apartment in regard to the kitchen offerings. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all interactions with our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Quay West is very handily positioned nearby central Auckland, the cruise terminal and the Viaduct area.

I stayed here for a bit over a week and over that length of stay it's the little things which can chip away at your impression of a hotel. The bathroom is poorly designed, with the bathroom door and the shower door both opening towards where the toilet is positioned and unable to open either door fully as a result. Another mild annoyance is the charge for internet, $25 per day - with a limitation of one device being able to access the hotspot. For an international guest with a work laptop, phone with restricted use because of international charges and an iPad, it would have been great to connect more than one device to the hotspot. The hotspot also had to be delivered by a hotel employee who had no idea how to use it.

I'd recommend staying here, the staff were nice, the location was good and it's nice to have a room bigger than a hotel room to stay in.

Some nights I was able to hear a bit of street noise, but it was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and with a view through to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear cc2506,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about Quay West Suites Auckland. In regard to the internet, please be advised complimentary internet is available in the cafe and the hotel lobby should this be a suitable option in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was the first time staying at Quay West. The room was very nice, on the 22nd floor. It was very quiet for the cbd area. It was a very large room, as i like my space. The views from the room are the best i have seen in Auckland. Rooms look a little on the tired side, but i still found it to be comfy. The staff were very helpful, as i arrived one hour before check-in. Over all, very clean and tidy. I will be back. There is only one negative, the beds are way to hard for me. That is why i only gave (Sleep Quality three stars)

Room Tip: Rooms level 19 and above, are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Matt_wallace,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. The location and views are second to none. We can assist with the bed comfort on your next return stay, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#18 Family Hotel in Auckland
#20 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quay West Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
Quay West Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.