We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoping this hotel isnt going to change too much..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Quay West Auckland to your Saves list
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Hoping this hotel isnt going to change too much..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I first started staying here early 2012 and i loved the fact it was equally apartment style/hotel style, but now since changing to Accor, Things are starting to change! They no longer offer room service/breakfast which is a disappointment as we dont actually use the cook facilities, I wish they had of given you notice or something in your room as i went downstairs to ask for a breakfast menu and was told they no longer off room service. The room was a little unclean, the bin had food still in it with a plastic bag over the top, and the showers are never properly cleaned, alot of grime in the cracks.
Apart from those small things i love this hotel especially for it's handy location, Walking Distance to everything and the spacious balconys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear SarahJ20,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. Please note that whilst room service is no longer available, we can happily assist with bringing an order from the cafe up to your suite for your convenience. We apologise for the cleanliness issue experienced on this stay, it is certainly not the level of service we strive to acheive and will ensure this is follow up accordingly. Please do not hesitate to talk to us directly on your next return visit and we can ensure your personal requirements are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    159
    51
    14
    7
See reviews for
126
161
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I appreciated the excellent views, the space, and the privacy of the bedroom - it was well laid out for work colleagues who don't know each other that well. Warm, comfortable and secure, and of course it was very convenient for the course we were attending. Great shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Flashy1842,
We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the shower and the space of the suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

To start - the staff are lovely, we had no problems with them.
The suite - reasonable fixtures, had a nice view down to the harbour. We had a king bed and the mattress topper seemed a bit narrow.
For an apartment style suite they weren't keen to help you cook - no foil, no baking dishes, no little bottle of oil. The fridge was filled with the usual overpriced mini bar items.
The bathroom wasn't well proportioned - the toilet hid behind the door, the shower was small, and the water pressure not great, and the temperature was difficult to control.
Internet access was expensive - if you could get a router - or free if you wanted to spend a lot of time sitting round the lobby - you had to get a new password for each device and each time :(
Parking was also expensive.
There was a cafe in the hotel - but we didn't use it as we were told it was only open till 4:00.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Bethdid,
We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations of an apartment in regard to the kitchen offerings. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all interactions with our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Quay West is very handily positioned nearby central Auckland, the cruise terminal and the Viaduct area.

I stayed here for a bit over a week and over that length of stay it's the little things which can chip away at your impression of a hotel. The bathroom is poorly designed, with the bathroom door and the shower door both opening towards where the toilet is positioned and unable to open either door fully as a result. Another mild annoyance is the charge for internet, $25 per day - with a limitation of one device being able to access the hotspot. For an international guest with a work laptop, phone with restricted use because of international charges and an iPad, it would have been great to connect more than one device to the hotspot. The hotspot also had to be delivered by a hotel employee who had no idea how to use it.

I'd recommend staying here, the staff were nice, the location was good and it's nice to have a room bigger than a hotel room to stay in.

Some nights I was able to hear a bit of street noise, but it was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and with a view through to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear cc2506,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about Quay West Suites Auckland. In regard to the internet, please be advised complimentary internet is available in the cafe and the hotel lobby should this be a suitable option in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was the first time staying at Quay West. The room was very nice, on the 22nd floor. It was very quiet for the cbd area. It was a very large room, as i like my space. The views from the room are the best i have seen in Auckland. Rooms look a little on the tired side, but i still found it to be comfy. The staff were very helpful, as i arrived one hour before check-in. Over all, very clean and tidy. I will be back. There is only one negative, the beds are way to hard for me. That is why i only gave (Sleep Quality three stars)

Room Tip: Rooms level 19 and above, are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Matt_wallace,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. The location and views are second to none. We can assist with the bed comfort on your next return stay, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in Jan 2013 on a rare trip away without our toddler.

The staff were helpful, the apartment was well appointed, spotlessly clean and the balcony had a great view over the harbour bridge and the viaduct basin.

The bed was comfy, the apartment was quiet and we slept well.

Parking was expensive, but the apartments are right in the CDB, so no real surprise.

Although the Quay West Suites aren't cheap, they provide the sort of accommodation you should be able to expect for the money, and their location is excellent.

So what was wrong with them?

Sometimes a small thing can colour your opinion of a place, and in the case of the Quay West Suites it was coffee.
In the well appointed kitchen, was a cafetiere, and in the cafetiere was a sachet of plunger coffee. Just as you get in all sorts of other hotels and apartments all over New Zealand at all sorts of price points. However, in the Quay West Apartments, the coffee is a minibar item. In a hotel of this standard and at this price point, being asked to pay extra for the sort of coffee which is included in the room rate at much cheaper accommodation annoyed me. I felt that it was just plain money-grabbing and it put me off an otherwise excellent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Pauly_Mc_12,
Thank you for telling us about your stay at Quay West Suites Auckland. In regard to the coffee, additional tea and coffee is provided complimentary however we take on board your comments in regard to the plunger coffee price. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was my 35th birthday and last minute the accommodation my friends had previously book let us down. We had a dinner party scheduled for 30 people in Ponsonby but were wanting to have champagnes in the room for 15 of us girls to open presents as bit of a warm up. So I called the Quay West Suites the day before we were scheduled to arrive on the off chance that they would be able to help, I told them of how I'd been let down, and much to my amazement they went to all lengths to make my night amazing. They found me a fabulous 2 bedroom apartment with an amazing view right out onto the harbour, they took into consideration my desire to host my friends for a quiet gathering by ensuring we had a large balcony, and the price they charged was not over inflated due to my booking being so last minute. The staff were incredibly helpful. This night was one of the best I've had in ages, and would never have been as successful if the Quay West Suites team had not helped me. I will always recommend this hotel to any friends, colleagues or family moving forward.

Room Tip: The corner suites have fabulous balconies that wrap around the room. Rooms are also very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear JenniferR,
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Quay West Suites Auckland and that we were able to assist in making your special day a memorable one. Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommedning us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 63 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Venere so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Quay West Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.