We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$40 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Hotel/Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have recently stayed at this hotel, as I have on many other occasions and find it to be a brilliant place to stay. The rooms are very large, and they mostly have great views of Auckland Harbour as mine did from a balcony (a great place to relax after a hard day). The rooms include dining room, lounge, and bedroom, with televisions in the lounge and bedroom. The rooms are clean and have great room controlled heaters for the cold winter nights. It is close to almost everything in Auckland, especially the business district. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Get a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    134
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
107
142
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

stayed recently at Quay West Auckland, left Jan 9th after a 2 night stay. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment and although the location of this hotel is great, and the views are great also, the room itself was disappointing. There were handels hanging off sliding doors, tiles loose, cupboard doors not shutting properly, just very very tired. They did offer to move us to another room but as we had one night to go, we put up and left.

also, our kids suffered flea bites all over their body staying in this hotel, a lot. Not any of the other hotels we stayed at on our NZ trip did this, so be AWARE !

the service of the hotel is fine, and firendly, the pool and spa is great also, but the rest somewhat disappointing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Quay West combines the services of a hotel and the convenience of an apartment. Our unit had a large balcony overlooking Auckland harbor, a living room, a bedroom, a kitchen, and a laundry room. Located just two blocks from the ferry building, this is a great choice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights with my family in a double corner room overlooking the harbour. The view of the harbour is down a street so its a chanelled view but still good. We were lucky to see a cruiseliner dock in and leave. The rooms are good and spacious as with all Quay West Suites that we have used. The breakfast we had included in our stay was with a small cafe within the hotel. Not much variety so i wudnt suggest it esp if u looking for halaal. Halaal food can be found but u have to be cautious on establishments just stating they are halal. Look for official signage. Across the road is a Food Alley with many types of food stalls. There is a muslim owned store there but the curries are rather sweetishly prepared. The pool is refreshing and includes a hot tub which was relaxing. Wifi is free in lobby only. U have to keep asking reception for codes. I agree with others views that wifi shud be free for the prices we pay for these hotels even if it has data limitation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a spacious one bedroom property overlooking Auckland Harbour with a large balcony, accessed from both bedroom and living areas.

The apartment comprised a well equipped kitchen with all mod cons, a spacious bedroom with built in wardrobes and luxury bed linens and in rom TV. The lounge area had a large dining table and plenty comfy seating to relax on.

The bathroom had shower and separate bath and was immaculate and well presented.

Ideally located for transport, with the station 2 minutes walk away as well as ferries etc. 2 minutes walk to the main shopping districts and plenty restaurants and eateries close by.

Staff were friendly and professional and there was free internet in the foyer.

Excellent property and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor facing the waterfront is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from a 10 night stay at Quay West Apartments. Stayed in a Superior 1 bedroom apartment on 15th floor. THE BEST VIEWS!! I'm pretty sure the views are even better on the higher floors but ours was still great for watching the harbour and the cruise liners coming and going every day. The apartments are very spacious, clean, tidy and actually quite large (even with a fully equiped laundry) so it was quite surprising and kind of like being a home away from home. Everything you could need was in the kitchen, not that we cooked at all. Very impressed. The apartments are serviced every day also which is great. Check in was very smooth and all staff were very helpful with anything you required tourist wise. There was a PC in the lobby for guests to use for email, Facebook etc which was handy. The internet charges in the apartments weren't too bad either and straight forward to set up. If you hire a car from the airport, be aware that Quay West charges you NZ$26 per day for parking which is a little steep, but if you need a car, you have to pay it. Hint, take a look around the car park at some of the luxury cars there!!! Impressive. There is a supermarket close by, DFS Galleria, Queen Street and the harbour itself - all in all a very central location. I must admit we only used the room service once and that wasn't too bad a meal. Would highly recommend this hotel as an option for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Quay West Apartments on 2 separate nights in December 2012. The service was first class. We were welcomed warmly by lovely smiling reception staff. Check in was a breeze. The apartments were lovely and well appointed. The view was great and the proximity to everything was so helpful. On the first stay we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely. The second stay we were in the 1 bedroom apartment as we had booked but it was still perfect for our needs. When we asked to have the sofa bed made up for our daughter, housekeeping arrived so fast it was incredible! Even more amazing was the fact that not only were the beds comfortable, but so was the sofa bed! It had a really good mattress and not one of those thin foam ones. The staff are lovely and couldnt be more helpful and so prompt with everything. The cafe was great too with really reasonable prices and the food just lovely. The only drawback is the distance from the Airport. It cost $85 in a taxi to get to the hotel the first time.The taxi driver then told us that you could get a $49 special if you ring and book in advance with one taxi company. Check with the hotel for cheaper options with transfers. Next time we travel to Auckland we will definitely stay here again. We would love to stay a week!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quay West Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
Quay West Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.