We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Quay West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$40 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved Quay West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Quay West, Albert St, for three and a half days, after arriving on a cruise ship.

We loved this hotel. The location could not have been more perfect to access the harbor and CBD; and our view of the harbor from the ample balcony was exquisite. The staff stored our luggage until check in and were extremely accommodating in all ways. Especially helpful was a man at the front desk, named Venu. He was extraordinarily informative, friendly and with a very gracious attitude.

The rooms were great. I had arrived from the cruise ill and having a separate bedroom, as well as a nice kitchenette, was perfect. Also, the walk-in clinic and pharmacy immediately next door came in very handy. This hotel was a bit higher in price and standard than we usually book but was worth every penny. We even booked an extra night in order to rest as long as possible before our 10:45PM international flight.

If I ever have the good fortune to visit Auckland again, this is where I will stay.
JAH, Palm Beach Gardens, FL

  • Liked — Separate bedroom, kitchenette, laundry in suite, view, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    135
    47
    11
    6
See reviews for
108
143
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

These are nice units in downtown Auckland.

They are spacious, clean, well located, and equiped with full kitchen and laundry.

  • Liked — Convenient location, nice well equiped units.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

Family stayed in a one and two bedroom suite both of which were huge. Though be warned that in the two bedroom suite one bedroom is simply 2 single beds and nothing else - separate bathroom and no TV. However the other bedroom has a lovely big bed, TV and en-suite.
Excellent location in the heart of the city just 30 seconds from Queen St (main street). Very helpful staff though slow to answer the phone when awaiting service in the bar.
Breakfast excellent.
Nice pool though bit small for my liking.
Internet a total rip-off but walk down to Queen St for cheaper alternative.
Scary parking with tight spaces but just take it slow.

  • Liked — Huge clean rooms with laundry facilities
  • Disliked — Expensive internet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Doaghs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

A nice enough place with a great downtown location and the appropriate facilities to tick all the boxes they need to get their stars but quite soul less and a real rip off when it comes to internet and telephone charges.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet and phone charges on departure
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

I stayed for 4 days in September 07. The location is perfect--one block from the harbour with many excellent restaurants and good jogging. Harbour view from my room was also great. Balconies with doors that open allowed for fresh breezes. Bed was very comfortable and living room in good condition.

Only negative--fitness room was closed. However, I had free access to the nearby YMCA, which had excellent facilities. A little funky but people at Y are quite nice. Still would be better to have fitness room open at hotel.

I would recommend staying here. Better view and more spacious than other choices in Auckland.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Fitneww room not open.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, CA USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We spent two nights at the Quay West in Auckland. The hotel is centrally located in Auckland and is only one block from the waterfront. Our suite had excellent views of the harbor and the offshore islands and a large balcony to enjoy the views from. Everything is close by, and Viaduct Harbor, Princes Wharf, Ferry Building, and Sky Tower are all a 5 to ten minute walk away.

The hotel had a nice warm lobby and the check-in was very efficient. We parked our rental car in the parking garage below the hotel, which was convenient and there were plenty of spots. The elevators are the worst part of the hotel. They are only operated by waving your room key in front of a sensor and then pushing the floor number. During our stay, the elevators consistently had the sensors break. One time, we kept trying to select our floor and another person was also, but it wouldn't work. Then someone on floor twenty called the elevator and we went all the way up, and then that person couldn't get it to work. We then started going down as people called the elevator and each one couldn't get there key to select the bottom floor. Finally the elevator got called back to the bottom floor after about five minutes. The staff ended up closing this and another elevator on and off during our stay, leaving only one.

The rooms were nice and large. Definitely not as new as the Quay West in Sydney we stayed at the night before, but still nice and the furniture was good quality. Didn't love the blue carpet, but the room still was tastefully decorated. For a family of five like us, looking for an upscale hotel where we can have only one room, this was perfect. The room had two bedrooms and a sofa bed. The beds were comfortable and one room looked at the water, and another out towards Sky Tower. The two bathrooms were nicely appointed in marble. Had desert in the room one night and it was very good. Can't comment on a full meal though. There is a pool and spa done in Roman style. Didn't use it because we were seeing the sites, but it looked nice.

  • Liked — Room size and location
  • Disliked — The elevators
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire, uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

We initially booked for 2 nights and stayed only for 1 (this was only because they would not refund our money)
We were on the 20th floor to start with in a 2 bed suited it was very old and dirty.
We moved to the 8th floor and the room was the same burns in the curtains, stains on the bedding and furnishings.
This hotel is well past its sell by date and is in desperate need of a refurb.
Do not stay here
Staff very unhelpful we got a full refund on return home

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quay West Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
Quay West Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.