We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice appartment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Quay West Auckland to your Saves list
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thames, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very nice appartment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed with hubby and 2 teenagers in a two bedroon corner suite. Had a lovely view of harbour and was very roomy. Have wanted to stay at this property for quite awhile but always very expensive. I found a really good deal on a internet site and was not dissapointed. Has a lovely heated pool and spa. Didn't eat there as was closing by time we decided to eat. Good location just across from downtown shopping centre and just around the corner from Queen Street. Only gripe would concern parking, we did request parking they charge $25.00 but is very limited we found a park but then went out and coming back drove around the carpark 3 times looking for a park. Alot of other places use this carpark and even though there were places we could not park there. Car was left in loading bay all night and when we checked out I asked for discount and they only charged my $15.00 which we were happy with.

Room Tip: High up and a corner suite facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    149
    50
    14
    6
See reviews for
121
156
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We were disappointed not to be able to book into the Hilton, which gets such great reviews. However we were travelling with our two teen-age boys, and the Hilton, surprisingly, does not have any sort of space conducive to family stays. The best they could offer was two rooms, with a request for them to be next to each other. This, for a LOT of money with little value. For the price of one room at the Hilton we rented a two bedroom, two bath grand corner apartment at the Quay West, on a high floor. This was perfect! We had travelled for over 24 hours to get to Auckland, and needed a place to relax to begin our vacation, but I also wanted a sense of being in Auckland. Our apartment had 180 degree views of the harbor from the balcony, balcony furniture, full kitchen, full laundry facilities -- and was just a block from the harbor.

On our return lay-over kids & I minus husband stayed one night in a one bedroom high floor suite with harbor views. Again, wonderful and spacious, for a very reasonable price. Full kitchen, bath, laundry, good closets, two TVs, and a balcony that runs the length of the bedroom & living room. Very good space for a couple for a long terms stay. Caveat: pull-out sofa not the most comfortable.

The Quay West has a nice indoor pool with city views, and good desk staff. To note: While the Quay West rents rooms by the night this is also a condo with long-stay rentals and also owners in residence. It is probably better for the more independent traveller, although it does have desk staff 24 hours a day. A high floor is much preferred than a lower one. Also the views of the harbor are wonderful, but there are two office blocks in view, also. Tip: the food court across Albert Street has a cleanliness rating of "A," has won awards, and has great food for little money.

Room Tip: Book through Mirvac, join frequent guest program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed one night in the Quay West Suites and were upgraded to a bigger suite so not sure what our basic one would have been like. But this was really luxurious, and spotlessly clean and well appointed. We had two bedrooms and two bathrooms as well as a spacious living room and kitchen and a balcony facing the harbour. It is very centrally located - we were catching the train to Wellington at 7 in the morning so needed to be near the station. We did rather under-use it as we had dinner in one of the lovely harbour-side restaurants and left before breakfast. These suites are not cheap but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Auckland. Shops, harbourside restaurants and Sky Tower are all within walking distance and the harbour views from our room were spectacular. The room was spacious and well appointed and we appreciated the complimentary bottle of champagne as we were on our honeymoon. Shawn at reception was very helpful, though the other guy working there was not. Only complaint would be that several pubic hairs from the last customers stay were on the bathroom floor, which is disgusting. The room was otherwise very clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

If I returned to Auckland, I wouldn't stay here again. This hotel was in a great location and the view of the harbour was great. It stopped about there. The 'apartment' was very spacious for a family of four but very dated and even though it was clean it didn't feel clean -furniture was old and a bit smelly. Bed was very uncomfortable and bathrooms basic. We only had 2 nights there and just didn't spend any time in the rooms as they were so grim.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Suites-hotel down-town, Albert Street. In Auckland we stayed already in the Hilton, Hyatt, Stamford, etc., this time we chose the Quay West for 4 days. We had a corner suite on the 23rd floor with great harbour view. Very nice furnished, big living room, small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 1 of them with shower, the other with bathtub and shower. Big flat screens in the bedrooms and the livingroom, washing maschine and tumble dryer in a separate small room.
Small pool and gym on the 5th floor.
We enjoyed our stay here. Queenstreet and harbour with restaurants and shopping possibilities are only a few steps away. The restaurant on the 1st floor offers only breakfast. Parking in a car park around the corner, entry by hotel elevator, 26$/day, Internet per cable from the reception is 25/day. Favourable prices at the low seasons.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Auckland. The apartment itself was very well presented and ideal for a family traveling with children or friends staying together. We stayed in a high-floor corner suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We had an amazing view of the city, from the bridge and harbour, to the tower and city skyline. The swimming pool, spa and gym were also fantastic.

My problem arose when the hotel failed to arrange a babysitter, which I had arranged prior to my arrival. It was only upon checking with the hotel staff on the day I required the babysitter that I discovered that they had not done anything about it. So they had to arrange it at the last minute. I also had to ask for the complimentary bottle of champagne I was to be given as they had also failed to organise this. The manager on duty took care of both of these requests. However there was no follow-up the next day to ensure everything worked out OK even though we saw the manager on atleast two occasions in the lobby the following day.

Lastly, whilst the room was serviced to a very good level, it was not done so until very very late in the day, being 2:30 or 3:30pm. By this time we had gone out for some morning sight seeing and were returning to our room to shower and rest before heading out to dinner in the evening. However we had to work around the cleaners servicing our room and could not fully relax as we would have liked to during this time. This late servicing was a huge inconvenience.

I was left feeling that the staff who work there do not really care about their guests needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#20 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Quay West Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.