We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better to stay at a back packers!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Regis Auckland

Save Saved
You added Park Regis Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Regis Auckland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58-60 Queen Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand (Formerly Mercure Hotel Windsor Auckland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“better to stay at a back packers!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This has to be the worst hotel short of one in Vietnam that I have ever had the displeasure to stay in!
Stayed in the Park Regis in Singapore and it was beautiful in fact all the picture in their lift are of the Singaporean hotel, no surprise as they'd be hard pushed to get a good angle on this hotel.
It is old, the fittings are cheap the towels are small and so are the rooms. The shower had raw sawn off Gibb packing it out, the shower door didn't shut, the lighting switch had a mis-matched broken cover over it. The carpet had big stains on it and the curtains were riddled with little holes.
The carpark is around the block and a nightmare to get in and out of with traffic lights to let you up and down the one ramp, as well as $35 a night to park in.
Breakfast was ok and the water was hot and bed comfy.
There is no SKY TV either only channels 1,2,3 and local one so no movies.
The Du luxe rooms was small with a shonky sink unit and fridge with hung microwave and kettle that passed it for a kitchenette and it was noisy all night from clubs and thin walls.
Staff were friendly but not efficient, having paid for 2 nights we found ourselves locked out of our room at 11am as they forgot, so we had to get our door card reloaded.We were also told our room was one of the biggest!
Recommendation from a frequent traveller - stay somewhere else as you'll get better value for money elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    12
    12
    11
See reviews for
7
26
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since our last visit in 6/2013 this hotel was taken over by the Park Regis chain in December 2013. Minimal décor upgrade at this stage sighted - rooms clean & reasonably appointed for its nightly tariff. Breakfast is available but we did not utilise on this 3 night stay.Customer service standards are still very high & nothing was overlooked. Complimentary luggage storage for early arrivals & late departures was most welcomed. Understand some former Hotel Windsor staff retained which no doubt helps in overall service standards.This is not a 5 star hotel but nor is the daily tariff. Visiting Auckland without a car & relying on its efficient public transport system, you won't find a more central & convenient location. Only two minutes walk to the Ferry terminal, Britomart Train Terminal Building & all buses is a great convenience. Overall definite value for money & recommended.

Room Tip: Our experience with this establishment over many years has been the kitchen units on the 8th floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Park Regis Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most detailed review and comments. I am thrilled that we made such a good impression.

We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Mike Davies
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long flight from Canada, we were very disappointed by the rooms at the Park Regis Auckland. They are an odd shape, long and narrow, furniture stained and chipped. The bed was comfortable, but the bedding provided was poor, we were freezing!The bathroom is up 2 steps, and very basic. The room had a sink , microwave and stove top and fridge.But my main issue was the noise, the nightclub up the street finishes at 4am!!We also heard every shower and toilet in the building flushing all night!The hotel is in a good spot, the staff were helpful, as we changed rooms. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: You can get a fixed price cab fare to the airport organised by the hotel, very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Park Regis Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. My sincerest apologies for the noise from the neighbouring night club, on occasion your room can be affected and I am in the process of deliberating a solution with the neighbouring club which will eliminate any noise issues.

Most of our rooms are uniquely shaped and we feel that it adds to the character of the hotel. The rooms have air-conditioning so heating should not have been a problem, I apologise in the event that the unit was faulty and will investigate immediately.

Kind regards

Mike Davies
General Manager- Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

hotel is ok not a pleasant hotel to stay at reception is ok..should really renovate asap poor housekeepers trying to clean these room as good as they can buh how can our room look any cleaner when the walls need repainting and new carpet an new furniture poor housekeeping as i watch my housekeeper clean my room an i did quote to her whats the use of cleaning these rooms when it looks ugly anyways shoking so i tip her for trying to make my room up as nice as she can.
i guess a close down for renovation will be good..will maybe revisit when renovation is done

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Park Regis Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We too have identified the need for a refurbishment in some of the rooms and eagerly await the go ahead as plans for an extensive refurbishment have been tabled, unfortunately these thing do tend to take a while and I hope we can get a further opportunity to show you the improvements on upon your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike Davies,
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim Municipality, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of the hotel was perfect, right down town Auckland. The standard of the rooms could be better – the bathroom fan were spinning franticly, but still the humidity after showering was bad. This also made it quite humid in the rest of the room. The hotel offers 8mb(???)/day of free wifi and the breakfast was no highlight.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Park Regis Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to see that you found our location to be perfect.
Our maintenance team have replaced the bathroom fan, thanks you for bringing it to our attention. We are also working on offering a substantial wifi package to all guests which hopefully will include free wifi throughout the building. Currently there are a few packages available which allow a far greater amount of data for the guests including 30 minutes of free wifi without data limits.

I am sorry that our breakfast did not leave you satisfied, we have improved our breakfast since takeover and take pride in the range of hot and continental offerings available, from an $8 express to the full cooked country breakfast which is a highlight for most guests.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

Mike Davies
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reception staff were friendly however the hotel is not safe! I would not recommend this to anyone as it was the worst experience in my life. My room was broken into at 4am, whilst I was asleep in the room. The reception could only apologize as they had no explanation as to why this happened or how it was possible. I felt unsafe being a solo traveler and would not want this to happen to anyone else as it was terrifying.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Park Regis Auckland, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

I am dismayed at your comments following our discussions on the alleged incident. Particularly given the fact we treat such allegations most seriously and that at the time all our security measures were checked and rechecked with the result showing that no entry into your room was recorded at the time in question with no further evidence of anything untoward on any of our security cameras. You alluded to a few other facts which turned up no evidence what so ever and furthermore the blasé demeanour in which you reported the alleged incident and the lack of details you provided showed no urgency which would be expected in such a “terrifying” situation. Under these circumstances, we deemed the matter closed.

Yours sincerely

Mike Davies
General Manager- Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was very spacious and even had a microwave and stove top. Everything was very clean. The room could have done with better lighting.
Our big issue was with them taking a $100 deposit. We were told our credit card wouldn't be charged but it was. On check out we were told it would take about 3 days to get our money back. Definitely not happy about this!
We didn't use the wifi as it is very expensive.
All the staff were very nice & helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Park Regis Auckland, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and kind comments. I apologise for the mix up with the $100 bond. From my understanding the CC is not charged but instead a hold is put on the amount. I agree that three days is excessive when waiting for the funds to be reallocated and will take this up with our bank. We are also in the process of introducing an improved wifi offering with the goal of having free wifi throughout the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Mike Davies,
General Manager - Park Regis Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Regis Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis Auckland

Address: 58-60 Queen Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand (Formerly Mercure Hotel Windsor Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Regis Auckland 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a historic setting in the heritage listed 'Windsor House', Park Regis Auckland is perfectly located in Auckland's CBD surrounded by shopping districts, restaurants and a short walk to Viaduct Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Park Regis Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Windsor Auckland
Mercure Hotel Windsor Auckland
Park Regis Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Regis Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.