We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the Supreme Court” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Auckland to your Saves list
Pullman Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“From the Supreme Court”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel would be 40+ years old and has had different owners but it retains an elegance and naturally a superb position in the city. Some amenities are tired but they are more than made up for by the location, pool/spa facilities, restaurant and especially the staff.
The training in this hotel must be superb as from reception to pool, from bar to the restaurant, all of the staff are committed to professional service, sincere courtesy and making your stay a memorable experience.
The hotel has windows that open which is rare these days but valued by those of us who do not enjoy perpetual air conditioning. The rooms are clean and well presented. The location next to the university, supreme court and Albert Park in an older quarter of Auckland afford this hotel a quieter ambience than the normal hustle and bustle of downtown hotels amongst the entertainment quadrant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear "Kevin H",

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Pullman Auckland. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Thank you for your very kind comments about our hotel team. They work passionately every day to ensure our guests are taken extra special care of. They will be delighted when I share your feedback with them.

We hope to see you again soon. It would be a pleasure to meet you on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    462
    179
    42
    21
See reviews for
174
512
97
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I spent four nights here in two different rooms. The first room (909) was a suite with a king bed, and the best hotel room I've experienced at a great price. The second room (703) had two twin beds, and after staying in the suite, the second room didn't seem to have quite enough room for two people. Also, 909 was immaculate, but 703 had a few stains and signs of wear here and there.

A word about the heating system (or air con, as people in Australia call it; not sure what New Zealanders call it)... when you switch it on, it seems the default is to have the fan continuously running. If you're not used to circulated air, this can leave you feeling a bit dry in the morning. On the second day I figured out I could adjust the fan, and set it to auto, so it would kick off/on when needed. I didn't experiment, but an even better option might have been to put it on permanent low - but the auto seemed good, so I didn't mess with it again, other than to adjust the temperature.

This hotel has a fantastic, nice-sized pool, sauna, and steam room (I didn't use the gym) included in the room price. The staff is exceptionally congenial and responsive.

My appreciation for the staff reached new levels the day after I switched rooms. I had accidentally left in the bathroom a bottle of deodorant which costs $7 in the US but $27 in Australia :-( I first called the front desk, but nothing had been turned in. I recalled from the first two days that the person cleaning rooms was very friendly, so I returned to my former floor to see if maybe they had picked up the deodorant. Unfortunately, a different person was cleaning the 9th floor that day, but she said she would ask the other staff member. I was delighted when less than 20 minutes later, the person who had cleaned 909 knocked on the door with my deodorant :-) I wouldn't expect a cleaning person to turn a bottle of deodorant in to the front desk as something left in the room, but I also wasn't expecting the cleaning staff to be so exceptional, both in communicating with each other and in their friendly attitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear "lambjams",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay. Your kind comments brought a huge smile to my face.

Warm regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed at the Pullman for a week while visiting the Auckland area. The hotel is perfectly located in the city. The hotel staff is exceptional. Anything I needed, they responded to cheerfully and with more than I expected. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. I have found my home away from home when visiting Auckland at the Pullman.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear "PoeticRebel",

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Pullman Auckland. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon!

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

After a minor hiccup on arrival, everything was splendid at the Pullman. Front office manager Sevag is a greast asset - charming, efficient, and always helpful.

Our suite was very comfortable - great beds, good bathroom, well-appointed sitting area and very efficient heating.

Breakfast was outstanding - try the whitebait fritters.

The location is fine. A short walk downhill to the centre of the city, and there are always plenty of taxis available for longer trips.

Slight negatives: wi-fi was at times slow and when the wind blew hard there was an eerie whistle from the window in the sitting room. Fortunately the window in the bedroom was better sealed.

We used the hotel's Audi transfer to the airport on departure. Ciaran, the head of the bell desk, was a reallty chsrming chauffeur.

In all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear "Young_Gazza",

Thank you for your outstanding review! The Pullman team is delighted that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived at 1:30 am and the staff checked us in quickly and was most accommodating with our luggage. Our room was comfortable, the bathroom was a nice size and the mattress and pillows were terrific. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and seemed very happy. The location was perfect - within walking distance to the downtown area, but not right in the heart of downtown so easy to reach by car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear "Nexi1",

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay. I am so pleased that we had the pleasure of welcoming you to Pullman Auckland. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

With kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our second stay at the Pullman but the first time taking our two girls (5 and 7). We were looking for a break away together as a family and due to some special health needs required somewhere with full service so we appreciated everything about our stay. As other reviewers mention the Pullman is perfectly located for a city break with the CBD within walking distance for the children. Overall the staff are fantastic but a few deserve a special mention as they made the trip as a family especially successful. Firstly the service provided by the doormen is excellent. Always prompt and polite and they all interacted beautifully with the children. Check-in and check-out were prompt (although we were given the wrong room type at first this was resolved quickly). We ate at the breakfast buffet every day and it was a real treat. The range of food - especially healthy options - was impressive. The coffee was excellent. Best of all the staff were wonderful. Warm and attentive every morning, they acknowledged the girls and offered special hot chocolates even though the service was extremely busy. We also used the pool facilities everyday and they were a highlight of the stay. Both girls are confident swimmers so coped well with the lap pool which is deep and really designed for exercise. The spa pool is big enough to accommodate a couple of children without ruining the experience for other adults having some time out and the complex has plenty of room for a parent to supervise. Once again the staff at the spa were extremely welcoming. To end I would like to compliment the singer who set up in the bar on the Friday night. We were only able to stay for one song but we enjoyed him so much. Once again he interacted beautifully with the girls who were fascinated by his equipment and his talent - thank you. Thank you so much for everyone who made the stay great, not many hotels could have made a family break such a success.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear "BGermaine",

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Pullman Auckland. I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay again and that the team ensured that you and the kids were looked after and were made to feel special. We very much hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.