We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Auckland to your Saves list
Pullman Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is in the nice location, 5 minutes walking to the harbor and the center.Rooms are nice and well furnished.The only complaint is very very loud noise coming from the windows.It was windy when I was there and the wind was making terrible noise through the windows.I couldn't sleep at all.My colleagues said that they had the same issue.
Everything else is really good and the food is delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear "Sanjulina",

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Pullman Auckland. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay.

My sincere apologies that the wind kept you up at night however. Unfortunately Auckland experienced gusts of wind of up to 125 kmph last week, due to a storm that lasted several days.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    462
    179
    42
    21
See reviews for
174
512
97
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Good service, comfortable rooms, good location. A good business hotel except that if you wanted to have your laptop and mobile on wifi you had to pay $10 per day. And I liked the breakfast a lot - really wide range of choices!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear "CitizenDave",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Pullman Auckland. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Below is a letter I sent to the hotel manager.

Dear .........

When I saw the first night's accommodation charge on your system I asked one of your staff who assured me it would be correct. At no time was I told I would have two bills to pay. I assumed, since there were so many online specials available for your hotel, that my rate was matched to them.

As for having a great stay. A comedy of errors and inadequacies. I've listed for you what I can remember.

1. Room requests were ignored as you are aware but even to the extent of providing a room with two singles rather than a king.
2. Equipment failures - air conditioning didn't work
- room safes didn't work
- tv quality very poor
- in room movies not available through half our stay
- unusable coffee machine
- a damaged lift without a lobby button which I only mention as I found myself trapped by it.
3. Catering - buffet breakfast food appeared days old
- vegetarian meals served covered with bacon !!!!
- a menu that read very well but the food supplied was to such a poor standard as to be inedible. Try the cannelloni, the rubber cheese pizza and the terrible desserts.
4. Service - a few hardworking, amenable staff members accompanied by a number who were very disappointing.
- Uncaring, disinterested and inept. Did not return calls or confirm bookings.
- Billing unclear and not correctly itemised.


Overall .... a very disappointing experience. I chose your hotel as you seemed to promise quality but unfortunately this was only a marketing illusion.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear "LuckyLui",

Thank you for writing to us regarding your recent stay at Pullman Auckland, and for taking the time to speak with me earlier in the week regarding your stay. I very much appreciated you sharing your feedback and as I mentioned, we are sincerely sorry that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations..

As mentioned in my email correspondence to you, I am sincerely sorry that we did not originally allocate you an apartment with two king beds. The request was acknowledged but I have since learnt, that the information did not download from one system into another, and for this I am sincerely sorry. It was an error from our side. I know our Front Office Manager, complimentary upgraded you to one of our corner suites once we realized the error, however I do appreciate that it was not ideal to move to another room during your stay.

After speaking with the Maintenance team, I understand from my colleagues that while the aircon did work, it was a case that you wanted the temperature adjusted which was done centrally from behind the scenes and from within the room. As our safes run off a battery operated system, at some stage, unfortunately they will lose their battery life however the batteries were replaced immediately.

As I mentioned, I am sincerely sorry that the In Room movies became unavailable during your stay. While this is a service provided by an outside company, I can appreciate that it is frustrating nevertheless to not be able to watch a movie of your choice. I have since removed the movie charges from your bill.

Please be rest assured that the breakfast items are cooked on the day and are replenished as and when needed, in line with keeping the quality of the food to its highest standard and keeping in mind holding temperatures and timings. While I know that you did not enjoy some of the room service items, it is difficult for me to comment on this when we are not told about your disappointment at the time. If you are not happy about something, we very much want to hear about it so we can rectify the situation immediately. We also receive nothing but praise about the quality of food served in the hotel so it was surprising that you did not enjoy several dishes.

I have also spoken to the Executive Chef regarding the pancakes served in the Omni Bar and they are not served with bacon so I am sincerely sorry that this is what you experienced. This is one area that is still very puzzling as this has never happened before.

I can appreciate that there were some aspects of your stay that were not perfect and mainly down to technical areas, which unfortunately at times, cannot be avoided, and for this I am sincerely sorry. I can understand that you may not wish to return to stay with us, however it is my hope that this will not be the case. We would love to welcome you back to Pullman Auckland in order to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Was absolutely lovely to look at.
When we arrived we were looked at like who are you what do you want. The service was average.
The team were nice and they did there jobs the management looked like if you've got money well give you better treatment.
The room was as Ok clean but the towells were old they had holes in them.
The king size room I had asked for was a twin just with beds put together not what I call 5star.
Not much available on TV unless you wanted to pay for extra.
Overall experience was average

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanAucklandHotel, Quality and Attitude Manager at Pullman Auckland, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear 'robdavo",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. While I am pleased that you felt welcome by most of our team, I was disappointed to read that you felt you had an average stay.

The team work passionately every day to ensure our guests have a memorable stay and their every need is taken care of. We normally receive nothing but praise from our guests on how welcoming and professional our staff and management are, so it saddened me that you felt like this was not the case. Please accept my sincere apologies. I can assure you that this is never our intention and I would love to speak to you further regarding your thoughts, in order to get a better understanding of your experience. We are committed to service excellence and always want to ensure that when something is not quite right, we understand the reason why and we very quickly ensure that it does not happen again. I would be grateful if you could contact me on c.saunders@pullmanauckland.co.nz so we may liaise direct.

In the interest of the readers of this forum, I must point out that our bath towels and linen are of a high quality and each and every room is inspected thoroughly. Furthermore, our guests can enjoy over 20 different TV channels plus the option of purchasing a selection of movies.

I very much hope to hear from you, and equally, it is our hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Carly Saunders
Quality and Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Auckland

Address: Cnr Princes St and Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning views of Auckland harbour and the city’s parks, Pullman Auckland offers guests a visual treat as well as a very warm welcome. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides easy access to Auckland’s numerous attractions, including the beautiful Albert Park and vibrant, cosmopolitan Viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Auckland
Pullman Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.