We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Auckland to your Saves list
Heritage Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location and spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ideally located near the Sky Tower, Queens Street and the Harbourfront, Heritage Auckland was a great place to stay. We rented their top floor 2 bedroom suite that came with a large kitchen, 2 bathrooms, a large sitting room and a balcony overlooking the harbourfront. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances and utensils as well as a large selection of teas and coffee. Both bathrooms featured a large shower with good water pressure and one of the bathrooms also had a bathtub.

As this was our first trip to Auckland, we had asked the concierge for tips on things to do for the 2 hours we had before our dinner reservation and his suggestions were spot on.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the harbourfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear choenna,

Thank you for your review of Heritage Auckland after your stay with family earlier this month.

I’m glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the ease of access to key city based attractions, the CBD and the Auckland waterfront.

The 2 bedroom suite that you stayed in does have great views across the city to the harbour and comes fully self-contained, just like an apartment. It’s always useful having 2 bathrooms when travelling with family.

I’m pleased to see that you would stay at Heritage Auckland again; we look forward to having you return. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    361
    98
    37
    17
See reviews for
178
379
41
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a concert, in the room with two king beds. It was a great sized room and balcony. Not super modern but nice, clean and staff were great. The rooftop pool area is fantastic!! It made
The hotel, and I would definitely stay again. I have stayed in many hotels in akl and I must say this has the best heated outdoor pool.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Julie L,

Thank you for reviewing Heritage Auckland after your recent stay with us.

I’m glad that you enjoyed the great sized room that you stayed in with the added bonus of a balcony. It’s really pleasing to also read that you found the hotel to be clean and our team to be great.

Our rooftop pool and gym are pretty special, with great views across central Auckland to the Harbour, I’m happy to read that this helped to make your stay that much better.

I’m pleased to see that you would definitely stay at Heritage Auckland again; we look forward to having you return. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Always a warm welcome & excellent service, rooms are spacious and well appointed. A nice gift in the room & a welcome back note. For me it is a luxurious home away from home and very handy to my work location. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Christopher L,

What a great review title, I really enjoyed reading your review this morning; it was a nice way to start the day.

It is very rewarding to see such positive feedback from one of our loyal guests; we do strive to deliver an excellent experience to all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Auckland on business. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and rate Heritage Auckland with 5 stars on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has been dressed up just enough to look too in photos.

Which is great for the new media generation but there has to be better places to stay.

I'll give it 3 stars for having a bed and and a roof. Both of which worked admirably.

Oh and an oven, which was uncalled for and redundant.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear James M,

It’s fair to say that I found your review to be an interesting read after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. I am truly sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations.

We do find that the oven in the guest room, that you have made mention of, are used on a regular basis by other guests; we appreciate that every guest does have a different need when staying.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on our honeymoon - extremely warm welcome, all staff couldn't have been more friendly or happy to help. Thoughtful gift in our room to congratulate us on our wedding. Amazing breakfast - only downside is that it isn't included in the room price. Excellent location. Rooms are enormous! We'd stay again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Siobhan G,

Thank you for your submitting a review after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month.

It was really nice reading that you found our team offered an extremely warm welcome, were willing to help and that they couldn’t have been friendlier.

We enjoy the opportunity to be able to recognise a special occasion when we’re made aware of it, and I’m pleased that you enjoyed the small gift. Our breakfast often receives a lot of great feedback; we do also offer package rates with breakfast included, for any future stays.

Great to read that you would stay with us again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great sized rooms. Excellent services. Yummy dinner great value three course $39 pre show special. Included in package full buffet breakfast. Service outstanding very welcoming. I will be back to stay next time in Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MJP1972,

I really enjoyed reading your review today. I’m glad that you enjoyed the great sized room and excellent service from our team. The pre-show dinner menu is a good option and great value for money.

It’s really nice to read that you’ll be back to stay the next time that you’re in Auckland. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and rate Heritage Auckland with 5 stars on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a suite which was huge, separate living area, small kitchen and a view of harbour bridge from window. While the room was generally was well appointed the bathroom was somewhat tired, vanity veneer warped from moisture. The bed was also queen size which I would have thought would have been king. The hotel seemed deserted. However I booked this hotel as for the price paid I still feel it was very good value for money compared to hotels down at the viaduct and it's only a short walk from the Heritage to the viaduct, Queen St and Vector Arena

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear AngeNZer,

Thank you for your review after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month.

It’s nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in a large suite with good in room facilities and good views across to the Harbour Bridge. We are looking to replace the vanities with issues that you’ve highlighted. We do have a number of our rooms with King Beds, if this is your preference it certainly is worth making this known when you make your reservation.

We have been having a very busy April, it’s nice to read that although we are really busy this didn’t have an impact of your stay.

I’m glad that you found our pricing level to be acceptable, and also enjoyed our location allowing easy access to the areas that you wanted to visit while in Auckland.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.