We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of our New Zealand Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Auckland to your Saves list
Heritage Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Start of our New Zealand Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location, staff are really excellent and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in the tower wing for the second time and were not disappointed, room was clean and spacious with great attention to detail. The restaurant food was superb although the service could have been a little more attentive, breakfast was really good with a huge selection to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    346
    96
    36
    17
See reviews for
174
359
41
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Heritage Auckland is a mid-level downtown hotel, and it tends to be indistinguishable from just about any other moderately expensive downtown hotel in the world, much less NZ.

Very clean, very polite and helpful staff. The room was nice and properly equipped. My single BR suite had nice furniture, good A/C, working TVs in both rooms, good kitchen facilities, no complaints.

The location is not particularly exciting - not too far away from anything, but not exactly close to any of the places we wanted to go. Walking distance to the waterfront, but a bit of a hike.

What would make a hotel like this stand out is if it managed to avoid any of the things that I get so tired of in mid-level downtown hotels:

1) Stingy wi-fi. You get the measly ration per day, but if you want to suck up a lot of bandwidth, by say, streaming music or video, you get hit with an annoyingly large charge. The charge is so wildly out of proportion with what the hotel actually pays for connectivity that it is really criminal.

2) Expensive valet-only parking. Don't like it? Sorry, you just have to suck it up. The nearby parking garage is even more expensive.

3) Unimaginative and moderately expensive breakfast. The usual hot hot or cold breakfast - the hot stuff in steam tables, might be good or not depending on your timing.

Make any one of these things free and my review goes up to five star. It's odd, but the chances of free breakast or free wi-fi seem to go up as the cost of the hotel goes down. Really, it should be the opposite, don't you think?

- Mark

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear mansnorkel,

Thank you for your review after your stay at Heritage Auckland in December last year.

You have written quite a detailed review; it’s really nice to read that you found the hotel to be very clean, and that our team were very polite and helpful during your stay. I’m glad you enjoyed the well-equipped room, with nice furniture, good a/c, working TVs, good kitchen facilities and overall had no complaints about your room.

While our location might not be exciting, we are actually just a 5 minute walk from the Viaduct Harbour area and downtown Auckland, I’m sorry to read we weren’t close to anywhere that you wanted to go.

I am very pleased to advise that, since you stayed in December, we have introduced complimentary Wi-Fi through the hotel.

As you note the nearby (independently run) car park building is more expensive than our valet parking. To that end I do believe that the hotel valet parking, for a one-off daily charge, in a secure car park and having our team park and retrieve your car on demand to be value for money. We do also offer package rates that include car parking and breakfast.

I am really sorry that you found our breakfast to be unimaginative and moderately expensive. We have an a la carte breakfast menu available, where you can choose and pay for only those items that you’d like to order, as opposed to taking the full buffet. In general we do receive very good comments and feedback about our breakfast, from the quality and quantity of what we have on offer to our unique RAW Bar breakfast buffet, with a focus on a healthy start to your day.

We do thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, comments and experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a great location, just near sky tower and a walk to the docks
Staff really excel in delivering great service, really enjoy staying here when I visit Auckland. Bar area down stairs was closed when we returned from dinner at around 10 which was a bit of a shame

Room Tip: rooms facing the inside courtyard are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Sue J,

Thank you for your review after your stay earlier this month while on business.

It’s nice to see that you really enjoy staying at Heritage Auckland when you’re across on business. It is also really rewarding to read that you found our team exceled in delivering great service during your stay; we do have a strong focus on offering an enriching experience, it’s nice to see this showed through. I’m sorry that the bar was closed on your return from dinner; this can be difficult to get right at times, if there aren’t guests around the team will close the bar.

Our location is good, being centrally located makes it easy to get to get around the city, down to the harbour area and key transport links.

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in the heart of auckland. There is nothing i can put my finger on as to if i like this hotel or not. By all appearances it ticks the box but there is no wow factor. The shower is over the bath and in this day of hotels that seems cheap however the room is well presented, fresh and well laid out. I was surprised to discover that 50% of the hotel is permanent owned occupied. Staff are friendly.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Shane N,

Thank you for your review after your stay earlier this month.

I do have to say that the title for your review is very interesting. I was sorry to read that you didn’t find a wow factor at Heritage Auckland; I’m unsure what you might have been looking for to get that wow factor.

We have a large number of our rooms throughout the hotel where the bathroom offers a separate shower & bath, as well as the shower over bath style. The bathroom style can quite often depend on the room type booked; it is worth talking to our front desk team if your preference is a separate shower & bath option.

I’m pleased that you found your room to be well presented, fresh and well laid out, it’s also nice to see that you found our team to be friendly.

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Due to an oversight we desperately needed a nights accommodation in Auckland, Hertiage was all we could find central Auckland. We have stayed previously - see other review, I don't think we would have stayed again if we had a choice. In terms of the room it was adequate, a little tired - but was the original hotel- so an old building to be fair. Good views, reasonable size room, air con, comfortable bed, good size bathroom with bath/shower. On the slight down side - TV limited channels with port reception, shower tended to spray past glass screen causing large puddles on floor if not careful. Small mini bar, fresh milk - nice touch but it was expired and lumpy! Found the staff all very professional and friendly. Perhaps we were being a little picky. But for $450 a night we would have expected a little more.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sue B,

Thank you for your review after your stay earlier this month.

I’m sorry to read that you didn’t really like the character of the Hotel wing; the focus when the conversion was done, from a department store to accommodation, was to remain true to the art deco period and the style of the décor offered, I do appreciate that not all guest like this style. While I do understand that we were full when you stayed, with no option to move rooms, I would also like to highlight that we do also have a more contemporary Tower wing to the hotel; this wing offers a more corporate and consistent feel than the art deco Hotel wing.

Our usual TV channel offer is 22 different channels, with 7 being Sky Channels; we currently have an additional 2 Sky channels for cricket, 24 in total at the moment. I was sorry to read that that the TV reception was poor, did you contact our maintenance team to look at this? I’m sure we could have rectified this problem quickly if contacted.

I do apologise that the milk was lumpy, I will ensure our Housekeeping team review all expiry dates to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

I am pleased that you found our team to be professional and friendly throughout your stay

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hotel in the area of the Sky city and the docks. Our room was spacious and the bed was divine. We had a fridge and a stove, and a spacious bathroom. The hotel was once an old department store, so there are vintage floors , but most fittings and facilities were modern and convenient. The staff was solicitous from check in to check out. Breakfast was good and plentiful. great value for your money. Walking distance from quays and restaurants.

Room Tip: we got a corner room on floor 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Andrea S,

It was enjoyable reading your review and your comments that you found Heritage Auckland to be a great hotel. I’m pleased that you found your room to be spacious with good in room facilities and a divine bed; the sleep experience is an important part of any hotel stay.

The conversion from the old Farmers Department Store was carried out with a focus on remaining true to the style, history and character of the building; it’s great to see that you enjoyed the character and charm of the hotel.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our team being attentive and considerate throughout your stay; we do have strong focus on providing an enriching experience to all of our guests. We frequently receive fantastic comments about our breakfast offering in Hectors Restaurant; it is quite varied with traditional breakfast offerings combined our unique RAW breakfast bar with a great variety of healthy eating options.

Thank you for taking the time to review Heritage Auckland after your stay earlier this month and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to stay one night at the end of a week travelling in the Bay of Islands. It was difficult finding accommodation as, we didn't know, the Eagles were playing in Auckland that weekend. Our room on the fifth floor was comfortable and spacious. As we had been staying in apartment accommodation on our travels, we thought that it was handy that it had a kitchen and we would make our own breakfast. However, we only had one chair in the whole room even though there were two queen beds in the room. I see from some of the other reviews, that people had a dining table and two settees. We had to ring reception so we could get another chair delivered so we could both sit down on something other than the bed. I can't fault the hotel, as the staff were very helpful and pleasant, the rooms spotless and the bed comfortable. Also, the hotel is only ten minutes walk to the Wharf area.

Room Tip: If you want a dining table and other seating arrangements, ask beforehand if your room includes this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear julie B,

Thank you for taking the time to review Heritage Auckland after your stay earlier this month.

I was pleased to read that you found your room to be spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean; and that you also enjoyed our comfortable beds and the added bonus of the kitchenette in your room. The deluxe suites, that have 2 queen beds, do create a little challenge for us with ensuring additional furniture; there is a balance between providing space and comfort. The other reviews that you have read will be referring to the same room type, but with just 1 bed and a lounge area. I’m pleased to see that our team delivered an additional chair on request.

It’s really nice reading that you couldn’t fault the hotel and that you found our team to be helpful and pleasant. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.