We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Healthy Food Options!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Auckland

Save Saved
You added Heritage Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Warkworth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Healthy Food Options!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best part of our stay at the Heritage for me was their catering to different food intolerances by way of their very tasty healthy food options on the menu, including RAW, juicing, GF & vegan etc. Made life easy and I didn't feel like I was an alien for a change!
The beds were extremely comfortable and we always enjoy the "heritage" factor of the building. Would definitely stay there again.
RMCS

Room Tip: The sliding door with frosted glass between two beds to create two separate bedrooms is not that gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Rachel S,

It was great to read that you enjoyed the various food options available through Hector’s Restaurant at Heritage Auckland. Our food offering has been extremely well thought out with our Executive Chef, Jinu, focused on delivering balanced menus that offer a range of plant based items combined with seasonal, local produce. Our breakfast in particular, does offer a wide range of food including fresh juices and our RAW Bar, which is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast offering. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re visiting Auckland.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    261
    70
    32
    13
See reviews for
124
256
31
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fantastic stay. The room was fantastic for the kids and us with the dividing door and very clean. The breakfast was awesome. The kids enjoyed the heated lap pool and spa. Was disappointed they didn't have all the sky sport channels and at night when people walked along on the wooden floor by our room in heels it made a bit of noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear nanashazza2014,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor. It was pleasing to read that you had a fantastic stay, and that you found the room suited your needs as a family. We do offer a select number of channels, it is always difficult to have enough, or the right channels, to meet all of our guests preferences. We do find that our original wooden floors are a great feature of the building, however if people don’t walk on the carpeted areas they can be a little noisy.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room overlooking the harbour was just fantastic! Beautiful, clean, spacious and with a kitchenette we were able to make our own breakfast. The front desk staff were wonderful and helped us with booking tours and sorting out issues we had with some of our pre-booked activities. My only complaint was the price of breakfast. Although it got rave reviews, I did not want to spend NZ$28pp.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear USAsvenskan,

It was a pleasure to read your positive feedback after your stay at Heritage Auckland earlier this month. Your comments about the room you were in being beautiful, clean and spacious with harbour views are really appreciated. It is also very pleasing to read that our front desk team were helpful in booking tours for you, and in sorting out the issues that you had with your pre-booked activities. We do believe that our breakfast offering is competitively priced; we offer a wide range of food, including a full cooked buffet, continental buffet, tea & coffee, juices and our unique RAW breakfast bar, which is proving to be a very popular part of our breakfast. As an alternative we offer the option of an a la carte breakfast menu, allowing you to pay for what you choose to order. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in several hotels across NZ & Australia. We definitely enjoy the hospitality and comforts that the Heritage Hotel chains offer. We would definitely stay at any Heritage Hotel again in the future.

Thank you
J & V Panui

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear J & V Panui,

Thank you for your positive review after your stay at Heritage Auckland. It’s really nice to read that you enjoy the hospitality and hotels that the Heritage Hotel group offers across the country. We look forward to hosting you again in any one of our hotels in the future.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice in last two years. The rooms are spacious, the staff very friendly and the beds are so comfortable. There was a slight issue checking out but the staff fixed this without any fuss. My booking was not straightforward which would have added to the confusion. The meals in the restaurant are very tasty. If I come back to Auckland again this would be my preferred hotel. The hotel has a beautiful feel to it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Anne A,

It is great to read that you’ve stayed at Heritage Auckland twice in the last two years. I’m pleased that you find our rooms to be spacious and our team to be very friendly. We get a lot of positive comments about our beds and how comfortable they are; having a great sleep experience is a key part to having an enjoyable hotel stay. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Auckland again. Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at Heritage Auckland on three separate occasions and believe there isn't a better hotel for discerning families. The rooms are very generous and well furnished and the beds extremely comfortable. We love the new Raw breakfast now being served and looked forward to dining in the restaurant every morning. The valet parking is a wonderful luxury which is thoughtfully included in the family holiday package rates. We also love the close proximity of the Heritage to some fabulous shopping and first class restaurants which all combine to make the perfect base for our short breaks to Auckland. If I have one niggle it is that the outdoor spa has been removed and the indoor spa is no replacement, hope you will bring it back .......please!

Room Tip: We love the main hotel and rooms on the upper floors are generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear NellyTrolley,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. It is great reading that you’ve stayed with us on three separate occasions, and that you enjoy the hotel from a family perspective. The RAW breakfast option is very well received, and has been extremely well thought out by our Executive Chef, Jinu, who is focused on delivering balanced menu options. We are sorry that we had to remove the new spa pool from the roof top pool deck area, it just wasn’t coping with the very high level of use that it was getting. We are currently working through options for a commercial spa pool for the outdoor area; however this could still be sometime away, as we need to ensure that any spa installed can cope with the level of use we now know it will get. Thank you again for submitting feedback.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirau, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights and have to say the standard was wonderful, clean rooms and very comfy beds we were not on the street side of the building so had a very quiet room. the roof top pool is wonderful and is a great place to see the sky tower lit up at night. The breakfast is amazing wonderful selection of foods and all to a very high standard. The hotel is in easy walking distance of all the main central attractions in the city and is easy access of the main state highway for the ones you need your car for, the valet parking was well worth the cost made the checking in process a lot easier. The staff at the hotel could not do enough for us and were pleasant without being over bearing. many thanks for a wonderful stay Heritage we will be back again. Good value and a great stay

Room Tip: Friends stayed on the other side of the building facing the main street and had disturbed sleep due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Auckland_Heritage, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Megan A,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor after your stay in June. It was great to read that you found your room to be clean and the bed very comfy; we receive a lot of positive comments about our beds. Our breakfast offering receives a lot of positive feedback, with a wide range of dishes available, including our unique RAW Bar breakfast option. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location; being centrally located means that we are just a short walk away from key highlights within the CBD or Auckland’s busy waterfront area. Thank you also for your comments about the service our team provided during your stay. We look forward to having you stay again when you next travel up from Tirau.

Kindest Regards
Marcus Keenan
T.H.E General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.