We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a City Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Auckland

Save Saved
You added Heritage Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Kerikeri, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a City Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a fantastic short break at The Heritage. We are a family of four. The hotel is well located within the city, very east to walk to the Viaduct, Queen Street, Sky Tower and many other attractions. Our room, a deluxe double room was perfect in style and size, clean and well equipped, comfy beds, also had a great view of the harbour bridge. The facilities were great, loved the gym, pool, spa and sauna. Breakfast was buffet style, extensive choice of options, everything was very fresh and delicious. The hotel personnel were the cherry on top, for a big and busy hotel they made the extra effort to make your stay enjoyable, everyone was very friendly and were so accommodating. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jules H,
Thank you very much for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland.
I am really delighted that we have been able to share with you our "Heritage Experience" this included your stay, eat and family elements that have left you with wonderful memories which is why we love doing what we do which is hosting guest from all over New Zealand and the world. We do look forward to hosting you and your family sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    257
    70
    31
    13
See reviews for
121
251
30
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Heritage Hotel is a fantastic Hotel located in the Heart of Downtown Auckland. It is in EASY walking distance of the Cruise ship docks, Harbor marina, Maritime Museum, Sky Tower and all of the downtown shopping area. The hotel personnel are very helpful, kind, and friendly. The hotel is VERY bright, clean, well kept, and just a great place to get a great nights sleep after a long air flight, or a place to headquarter while staying in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Keith Y,
Thank you very much for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am very proud that my team have been able to share with you our "Heritage experience" that has seen you enjoy our Sleep, Eat and play experiences that have left you with wonderful memories. I do hope you have had a wonderful stay in New Zealand and would be delighted to host you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I like this hotel. It's stylish with tasteful furnishings and artwork that are very simple and understated. The room was well appointed and the locally produced bathroom products are la ovely touch.

The hotel is well situated if you are interested in shopping around Auckland and there are lots of yummy places nearby to eat including Marbeck's Kitchen next door which is funky, rustic and delicous. I was too tired to go out for dinner so ordered a burger via room service - it was fresh and tasty and the accompanying chips were crunchy and perfectly cooked and salted.

I arrived early without arranging previous early check-in and was given a room despite the early hour - impressive! All staff were very friendly.

Definitely my new faviourite hotel in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Nova F,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to proudly provide to you our "Heritage Experience" which included your sleep and eat requirements. We do look forward hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Good location infront of Skycity casino. Central location and convienant. Rms clean, and has a washing machine and kitchenet in every rm. Friendly staff. No smoking hotel. Rms comfy n big. Fast and room service sufficient.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Gerald_Sum,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. We are delighted to be able to share "The Heritage Experience" with you which included a great night sleep and an excellant dining experience. We look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great value for the money, well located,harbor,Britomart,Skycity and many major attractions many good resturants were within walking distance. Front desk and concierge were very helpful and everybody smiled at you. Breakfast Buffet was deliciouse with good variety, I had steam rice miso soup smocked saimon every morning for 4days,so happy! Free Internet two hours everyday which was hard to find in NZ. Hotel is a historic building well renovated and tasteful decorated. Ask for deal of stay two night get one mor night free or stay 3 nights and get free buffet breakfast deal. We went back and stayed one night after we had to make a detour from Queenstown due to snow storm.
超值,地點適中。港口,交通中心,觀光主奌,好餐廳都在步行距離內,免費觀光車站就在附近。櫃台很稱職,每個職員殾面載誠懇的笑容。早餐可口又多樣,我天天吃米飯,魚,味噌湯,連吃四天,高興死了。免費無線上網每王二亇小時,這在紐西蘭是很難得的。旅館是歷史古蹟,寬敞舒適典雅,值得推薦。訂房時問他們的住二天送一天或住三天送早餐的方案。

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear donald1937,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to share with you the Heritage Experience including our Sleep and Eat moments. I am equally delighted you made the decision to return and experience our service again. I do hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and do hope that we can welcome you back sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were in the Tower Block but you need to tell locals there are 2 Heritage lobbies Nelson St and Hobson St as we had 2 meetings that we had to walk out on to the street. The hotel is Fantastic, service is as you would expect. Was a nice touch to have a card and chocolates left for my birthday. Bed was super comfy. Close to sky, walk distance to everything we wanted

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Ian M,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted we have been able to share with you The Heritage Experience focused on ensuring your stay is memorable and enriching. I have noted your comments about our 2 entrances and will continue to ensure lift our profile with our Auckland guest.
We do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Kind Regards

Graeme Back
T.H.E General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This has to be a favourite and it is worth a little more money as the facilities and service is wonderful. Our rooms for both stays were huge and luxurious. LOVE IT!! The spa is good and clean and there is also a tennis court on the roof.

Room Tip: Both the old hotel and the new wing are apparently great. We love the older side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageAuckland, General Manager at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Moaiisle,
Thank you for sharing with readers comments relating to your recent stay at Heritage Auckland. I am delighted "The Heritage Experience" exceeded your expectations and do look forward to welcoming you back sometime very soon.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
T.H.E General Manager
Heritage Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Auckland

Address: 35 Hobson Street | PO Box 105-326, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Auckland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco; historic landmark refurbished in 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Heritage Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Heritage Hotel Auckland
Auckland Heritage Hotel
Heritage Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.