We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   196 - 200 Quay Street | PO Box 459, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Taranaki NZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average rooms, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice this month on 2 separate occasions due to it being a great location and good service. It does tend to be a bit noisy on a Fri or Sat night though. Our 1st stay, we had a faulty window catch so was extremely noisy, we told reception of this and were moved the next day to another room. however the new room was on the top floor and was just as noisy from the air nod and rooftop machinery. I chose to upgrade to a superior room from a standard, but I felt the room was very very basic and would be interested to actually see a standard room. I'm doubting that I did actually get a superior room. The 2nd room we got was a lot nicer than the 1st so it would be interesting to know if we did get what we paid for.
Rooms are quite small and some rooms are a little outdated and lacking in some general maintainence. Car park is a bit of a messy set up, and no lifts from car park, luggage needs to either be unloaded out front of hotel, then reverse car out to access car park (hoping of course that another car doesn't come in while doing this). Then have to walk luggage from car back to main front door of hotel.
I would stay here again, knowing that the rooms are not amazing or quiet, but the location outweighs all that. And it's not a bad price either.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    215
    292
    152
    90
See reviews for
128
343
69
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here because of the location,but the noise from the bars and traffic meant for a bad nights sleep.Hotel is quite run down,then you do get what you pay for.Location suited me this time,but definately wont be back.I like my sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Couldn't beat the location, price and friendliness of the staff. While the rooms were clean, full of all the necessary amenities, and had great views, the property itself is getting dated. Rooms could have benefited with better lighting and power outlets, particularly as I was there on business and was working on my laptop in my room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

All rooms face north and have views of Waitemata harbour and the Viaduct Basin. Airport buses stop at the pier and it is a short walk to the hotel from there. Parking is chargeable but they do sometimes have deals where parking is free. Breakfast is taken in the restaurant, again overlooking the harbour. Rooms are spacious and clean and there are two lifts to all floors. Internet is available (chargeable) in the lobby. The hotel is opposite the Auckland I-Site (tourist information) and close to the Queen Street bus station. We experienced a minor problem when checking out in that we were charged in GBP without being asked, when we would have preferred to pay by NZ$. The resultant refunds and recharging on the credit card was inaccurate, but this was quickly rectified by the duty manager when we returned a couple of days later. An excellent hotel with some good deals available.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the harbour so any room has a good view although the higher up the better the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here the night before the auckland marathon in October 2012. The location is second to none - just opposite the ferry building for the early morning ferry before the race. Comfortable room and the staff were helpful. The major issue - and this hasn't changed in several years - the bathrooms are very jaded and need renovation desperately.

Room Tip: as high as possible - there is a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After a recent 5 day stay I feel qualified to offer a pretty accurate review of this Hotel.

Positives first. Staff are very polite and obliging. The breakfast included in the tariff is acceptable and a nice inclusion, The location is excellent, proximate to the harbour and shops. The view from the room is a very pleasant harbour outlook. Rooms are quiet and I like being able to open the window for fresh air.

Areas for improvement. Beds are not that comfortable. The linen is well worn. Room decor and furnishings are straight from the 70's. The carpet has seen better days. The bathroom although clean also needed refurbishment. The heating and cooling system seems to struggle. A few quick calls on the room phone resulted in a stellar bill that required a chat with the Manager to resolve.

In summary the Hotel is acceptable if you get a good rate. It really doesn't make the most of its great location and as other contributors have said - it needs a major refit.

Room Tip: Careful if you use the room phone - costs are prohibitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Copthorne, and found it much better than where we stayed the last 2 years due to the peace and quiet. Although it is within walking distance of Central Auckland, it was peaceful which is important when you are running a marathon and need your sleep. The only downside was being charged for using a credit card to pay the bill, I would have thought they had already made enoguh out of us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity

Address: 196 - 200 Quay Street | PO Box 459, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Auckland HarbourCity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.