We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room at a good price with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Auckland City to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable room at a good price with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Had a nice relaxed stay in a smallish but comfortable room with nice views. Very friendly staff and the meal at the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    101
    96
    38
    14
See reviews for
32
123
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

small comfortable room ,bed 2 singles joined together not ideal needed a mattress topper , good value B&B, opening windows big plus, easy walking distance to CBD and Harbour

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed here overnight, in transit from Australia to Taupo. The room was a bit small, but adequate and comfortable. Staff were helpful and the restaurant provided good food at a a great price (3 courses for NZ$29 each). The location is great and having free parking was also a plus. I would recommend it for a short stay instead of places like the Hyatt, which I have found to be both below standard and expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge nz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I've just come home after spending a couple nights at this hotel and I am covered in flea bites (or bed-bug bites)! The standard of cleanliness is just not what I expected for a hotel of this price bracket (hair in the shower, greasy floors, etc). The staff on reception were very nice and efficient but unfortunately good customer service doesn't really make up for having to share a bed with insects...

Unfortunately I didn't have time to arrange other accommodation after the first night so had to stay 2 nights, but a colleague had the right idea and changed her accommodation immediately. I would have been okay with the paper thin walls and poor tv reception, etc - but fleas??? Definitely won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Spent one night at Copthorne in a King Single room which I booked online and got a really great rate.
Paid the same amount Jan 08 at another Central hotel - which was horrible and dingy and clearly hadn't been upgraded for at least 15 - 20 years.

The room at Copthorne was very clean and was nicely furnished - with an extremely comfortable bed.
The service was fantastic - staff were exceptionally friendly and prompt.
Close proximity to CBD, quick walk to everything you could need.

Will definitely book a room there again when next in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here as I got us a deal on a daily deals website. Looking at it now Im glad we didnt pay full price. The rooms where very small and needs some improvement. The Supposed King bed was actually just two singles put together and was very uncomfortable to sleep at night.
We actually had to move rooms as the first room we were in the had problems with the toliet. There was no problem at all moving us and the staff were very friendly however when they said we were moving they told us that we had been upgraded to a Superior room (when I had booked it with the deal we got it said it was for a superior room). When we actually got up to the new room there was no difference what so ever in the two rooms so can see what the upgrade was there.
Dinner was okay but again glad we didnt have to pay full price. Breakfast wasnt the best and now wish we had gone with our gut instinct and gone and had breakfast somewhere else for cheaper (again we didn pay full price but what we did pay for breakfast was overrated and breakfast wasnt all that great).
Overall staff were very nice, friendly and helpful but the rooms need a major upgrade and when you're telling someone they are getting upgraded them actually upgrade them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Great location as we walked down to the city and up the hill to Parnell. Reception staff were so welcoming and helpfull. We left our ipod and ph charger in room after leaving and within two days of requesting their return they arrived via courier. The bed was extra comfortable and room quiet so a great night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.