We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Auckland City to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at Motel as we were going to a show at Vector Arena which was a 5 minute walk away. Motel was clean, tidy and a good price. Found the room hot but slept with our door open. Enjoyed our view. I recommend this motel if you don’t mind walking hills. Had a lovely meal at the restaurant which offered a special priced menu for the Michael Jackson cirque du. We will defiantly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for providing feedback on our hotel, this is appreciated. I'm glad to hear that you made the most of our central location which is certainly very handy to the Vector Arena. We look forward to having the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    110
    117
    45
    19
See reviews for
42
140
32
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The blurb our travel agent quoted was sit on the balcony and enjoy panoramic views of the bay and city. Still giggling the balcony is tiny, and you never should judge a room on the view so I will stop there. The bed was comfortable and the ensuite had a bath / shower which is always a bonus . It is a lovely 15 mins walk to the city centre and the windows have an extra layer so you honestly cannot hear the traffic so you will get a great nights sleep.

Rooms are small I was on the 4th floor so the refit may not have gotten to this floor yet. Staff are friendly on check in and this is a place to stay if you like a walk. I will stay at a hotel near the harbour or just off queen street next time.

Room Tip: Try and get a harbour view even numbered rooms not odd numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, this is appreciated. Our refurbishment of all rooms was completed earlier this year so all rooms are now either superior or superior plus. I'm glad you enjoyed a good sleep due to the hush glass which certainly does make a difference. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I came up to Auckland for the Netball. I was very very happy with this hotel. The staff were helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay here again. It's proximity to Vector arena was perfect for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback, this really is appreciated. I am very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us recently and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed in what the hotel calls a junior suite. It is more like a one bedroom room, but without a door on the bedroom. Location is great for going to a show at Vector arena, but is a bit of a step from Queen street. Staff were friendly, especially the two on the breakfast counter, they had been up since 4.30am and still had a welcoming smile, and greeting. Staff on check in and check out were very quick and helpful. To the questions of would I recommend to others and would I stay here again, it is a yes to both, but only if I was going to the Vector arena, if I was going to Auckland for more of a sightseeing trip I would chose somewhere closer to Queen St.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, this is always appreciated. I'm glad to hear that overall you had a great stay with us, it is always pleasing to hear positive feedback regarding the great staff we have here. We certainly are very close to the Vector Arena and I'm pleased you made the most of this handy location. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has had a refit...but where??
Rooms are small but beds ok and hotel is quieter than others in the city.
Bed was ok and I slept well. There is no safe so I left privacy outside my room which may have been why I didn't get woken up. Breakfast looks dire but there is sliced fresh fruit so all in all this hotel is ok in many different ways

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm glad to hear that overall you had a good stay with us recently. Our refurbishment of all rooms was completed earlier this year. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went to Auckland for a conference, and this hotel was recommended by the conference organizer. My first impression of the hotel was OK - it's clean and tidy enough, and staff there seemed friendly. However, when I checked out, a male staff there managed to confuse my room number with another room. I pointed this error out to him immediately, and the staff apologized. I thought he would correct it, but when I got home I found he did not correct this error. I rang the hotel immediately. A female staff answered the phone but did not take my call seriously. She agreed to send me a corrected invoice via email, but did nothing. It seems that she did not even pass the message on. This morning I found that someone in the hotel entered my bank account and got the money out without my signature. They did not even bother sending me a message to notify me what they did or sending me a corrected invoice. It seems to me as long as they could get money out of my bank account, they did not give a toss about anything else. I rang the hotel again, and thank God this time at least one guy knew what to do. He also passed my complaint to the hotel's general manager who offered me a $50 food and beverage voucher as compensation, but I declined it, as it's no good to me. I don't have intention to go back there or go to any other Copthorne hotels.
The manager says that "This is not normal practice for us " , but I doubt about this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your feedback, this is always appreciated whether it is positive or negative. Since our email correspondence I have followed up with the staff member who checked you out to outline what errors he made on check out to ensure this is not repeated and again, I apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you. As I have already mentioned, this is not normal practice but a one off mistake made and I'm sorry that this impeded on your stay in Auckland. I have spoken to the female staff member who took your call and she was very upset to hear that you felt she did not take the call seriously. This is certainly not the case and we very much care about our guests and the service they receive. Again I acknowledge that you have declined my offer of compensation but thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was staying at the hotel to meet up with a friend from Australia.
I was upgraded to a suite, the room was lovely and it was clean. Lovely View.
The Meals and Service was superb. I cannot fault them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback, this is always appreciated. I'm very pleased to hear you had such a great stay with us recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.