We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Auckland City to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Whangarei Heads, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is very average. Dreary from the outside, hallway carpets in desperate need of a clean and generally needs updating. We stay in a lot of hotels and there are numerous in Auckland for the same price that are superior. That's just my opinion! Buffet breakfast was nice, hence 3 stars. Rooms are ok but small.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback, we do appreciate this. We have spent a lot of money on the hotel recently including refurbishing all rooms and painting the exterior of the hotel so I'm sorry to read you felt the hotel was dreary. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the breakfast. Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback, this is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    101
    95
    37
    13
See reviews for
31
122
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Staff were very helpful when I arrived early and no room was available. They made me a cup of tea and gave me a room as soon as it was available. Restaurant is average looking, food reasonable, but not cheap. Good shower head strength in rooms, beds very comfy. Location is quiet and out of the city rush.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear you were well looked after when your room was not ready. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

this is the 2nd time i have stayed here, the rooms are nice and the location is brilliant.
Can park the car and walk all of central Auckland.
I used their website directly to book, and found a good offer with parking included.
Will come and stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and it's great to hear you've stayed with us a couple of times now and would stay again. We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed two nights. 6th floor room was very clean and serviced daily. Very nicely appointed rooms, mine had a small balcony. Food good although the dinner was a little overpriced and small. Breakfast was good and plentyfull. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback, I'm really pleased to hear you had a great stay recently and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The room wasn't big, but it was a good size. The buffet breakfast was ok too. The corridor was a bit noisy but once I got inside the room it was nice and quite. Good value for money. The car-park was a bit limited though, they said I could park in a parking building down the road and they will reimburse it or something, but I was too lazy so I parked across the road (free because it was Sunday). :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
thanks very much for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear you had a good stay with us recently. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneroo, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was one of a few that offered a balcony (strange reason really). Booked the room from Australia by phone. They didn't require a credit card to secure the room which is not the 'norm'. Staff very friendly and courteous. Room was quite good but not very big. King sized bed whilst was most welcome it did take up a fair amount of space in the room. Having arrived at Auckland airport at 5.00am we had booked the room for the previous night to prevent having to wait until 2.00pm, normal check in time, to move into the room.
Shared the dining room for breakfast that day with a tour group from the Far East. Had my toast taken from the toatser when my back was turned and thats how the fight started........only joking but I aired my feelings when no apology was offered. Breakfast was average but probably within keeping with the low cost of the room (NZ$99.00/night ).
Room was noisey due to guests transiting the passages through out the night. Overall we rated the hotel a 7 out of 10 and would probably not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the last room at the end of any passage to reduce noise from people checking in and out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay - I do hope that the toast incident didn't impede on your time in Auckland! Thanks again for providing feedback, this is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent service from all the staff, very accommodating. The location is fantastic. We asked for a view of the harbour and it was great seeing the yachts out there on Saturday morning! The $10 card was fantastic as well - $10 a day for parking and the awesome $10 buffet breakfasts. Thank you Copthorne on Anzac - would definitely stay there again. Shelly E.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks very much for the great feedback Shelly, this is really pleasing to read. Pleased to know you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.