We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an overnight stay :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Auckland City to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for an overnight stay :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a very relaxing and awesome overnight stay at Copthorne. We purchased the winter warmer deal and it was worth the money you paid for. Receptionist was very accomodating, i arrived 1330 and even the Check in time was still 1400 she allowed me to check in asap without hesitations. Lovely room perfect for couple like us. The only thing is that we dont have a bath tub but everythings perfect i love the balcony and the view was stunning..refurbishment of the room was fabulous..very calming ambiance..dinner and breakfast was perfect!! I enjoyed the buffet brekkie the most! Highly recommended and thank you

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, I'm really pleased to hear you had a great stay with us recently, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    110
    117
    45
    19
See reviews for
42
140
32
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September to attend the Home Show.We've stayed here before -- and it's still a great place today. There's now a charge for parking - $10 per day - a cost we were happt to pay, as secure parking is limited. We enjoyed the generous buffet breakfast - which was included in our Moments to Treasure deal. We also enjoyed an evening meal deal in the Restaurant- Winter Warmer . I had the Venison Pie - which was truly delicious , and my hubby enjoyed the Pork belly. So YES - would certainly recommend the Copthorne.

Room Tip: IF you're a Railway enthusiast - ask for a room with a view to the Railway lines. My hubby IS an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback, I'm really pleased to hear you had a great stay! Agree that for railway enthusiasts the harbour view rooms are the best! Great to hear you enjoyed the meals in the restaurant too, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Handy access from Anzac Avenue. Ground floor lounge bar and restaurant convenient for short stopover. Breakfast offer of cooked or continental satisfactory. Dinner in Zoe's Restaurant a sad mix - very good menu and food but service quite poor and hard to understand - staff need a lot of training on how to cope with small numbers and a lot more if it was a busy night !
Rooms average size but very well appointed. Excellent shower. And the bedeside alarm clock worked.

Room Tip: From what I could gather from others in our party, all rooms must be very good - can recommend 4th l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay however I am disappointed to read your comments about the service in the restaurant. We do appreciate your honest feedback and this has been passed onto the relevant head of department. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this hotel as a Secret Sale and was pleasantly surprised with the A-plus customer service we received. Easily the best we have ever experienced in New Zealand. As for the room and bathroom: clean. Decor a bit outdated and I believe there are some refurbished rooms so it might pay to ask. The carpet in the corridor is really in need of total replacing as it is stained beyond repair. Not a good look at all. If I had to pay full price for this hotel I would expect much more.
We had dinner at the restaurant and cannot fault the food or service. Once again it must be the best service we have ever experienced. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast the next morning.
The hotel is situated a bit of a walk from the inner city. For older or unfit guests the walk back to the hotel could pose a problem. We made use of taxis twice at the cost of $8.00 and $10.00.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Judith
Thank you for your glowing review about our customer service. It is very refreshing to hear that our staff have given A plus customer intimacy. You are correct we have completed 3 floors and have 3 remaining. We look forward to welcoming you back and please get in touch should you need accommodation in the city again.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice Clean rooms, Restaurant had delicious foods. The only problem we had was the bed was right across from the main door and all the light came through at night and was hard to sleep with the light shining through. Other then that i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alorisella

Our winter menu has been very popular and I am delighted you enjoyed the offerings available. I am disappointed to hear about the issues you had and we are sourcing options to fix this. If you are returning please ensure to get in touch so we can offer you a complimentary upgrade and ensure you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us in the city of sails.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times (usually for a vector show) and find it quite nice. The rooms could do with a update but are always clean and tidy and roomy enough (which is all that we require). The moments to treasure deal is quite good as it includes breakfast which is lovely. The meals in the restaurant are great and served efficiently. The staff are always friendly and helpful. A nice comfortable nights sleep. We have even booked again so we can see the NZ v Aussie Netball match!
The Hotel is also only a 5-10 min walk to town.
Keep up the great service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear The Barrs
Our Moments to treasure package is very popular and an affordable way to stay in all of our properties around New Zealand. We are completing our rooms refurb this year on levels 1, 2 and 3 and look forward to seeing you back again. Please get in touch and we will be delighted to give you a complimentray upgrade.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We chose the Copthorne Hotel to hold our yearly conference for the NZFederation of Image Professionals. The service by Brent and his team was excellent and all went very well over the days of the conference. Well done and we will definitely use your facility again. Thank you. Ester O, NZFederation of Image Professionals

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Ester
Thank you so much, you were a delight to deal with from booking stage to end of NZFIP event. Please keep in touch and we look forward to catching up soon, always a good excuse to have a coffee or glass of wine.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

Address: 150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Auckland City 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on what was once a beach side cliff, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers both city and seascape views. Each room has a balcony which offers spectacular views of the surroundings. Our hotel is in central Auckland and within easy walking distance of Queen Street and the main Central Business District with its wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel offers 110 spacious accommodation rooms that are thoughtfully crafted with all the essential room amenities. A $1.2 Million refurbishment in 2011 has seen the Copthorne Hotel Auckland City position itself high in the four star market. 2012 brings the remaining rooms refurbishment as well as flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Auckland City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.