We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location and rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CityLife Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CityLife Auckland to your Saves list
CityLife Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-360, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great service, location and rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Always have good service at Citylife - staff friendly, helpful and professional. Location is super central, and surrounded by great bars, restaurants and takeaway outlets (Kiwi Country Noodles Outlet sounds terrible, but awesome and cheap Chinese food near entrance!). Rooms clean and have all the facilities required for a short stay. Also very good value for money - what's not to like!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    229
    56
    23
    6
See reviews for
92
201
43
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom suite for two nights. Booked room at back of hotel as it is quieter. Comfortable bed, good amenities.Great buffet breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant food is very good. Gym was a little sparse for equipment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arrived in Auckland early morning and had asked if I could check in ahead of the normal check-in time. When I arrived the receptionist explained that the room was not ready but offered me the use of the shower etc in the gym area.

Very friendly and helpful staff at the hotel made it a good choice though agree with other reviewers that the WiFi access is not great but compared to oter places where I have stayed in NZ it compares fairly well.

Other reviewers have mentioned the noise from the streetlife below - I was on the 6th floor and would suggest asking for a room on one fo the higher floors.

The plus side of its location on Queen Street is that everything in the centre is so easily accessible and you can easily get buses to areas such as Ponsonby and Parnell.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel was quite nice, sufficient for our two night stay to Auckland. The location did leave something to be desired as it can be loud due to the bars nearby. It was also a pretty far walk to get to the Viaduct Harbour area. The room was comfortable and clean, though the shower was quite dirty. The concierge was also extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel has great facilities that showcase it as a premium hotel. However it is located very near to the nightclubs on Queen St and if you are a light sleeper it will be a hard nights sleep. The rooms are well maintained and the staff are very helpful. Wi-Fi deal is not great compared to other hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had absolutely no problems with this hotel. The location was fantastic, just a short walk to the harbour, Albert Park, Sky City and right amongst the shops of Queen street. I stayed in a deluxe suite, and the large room was well worth a bit of extra money. The flat screen TVs in both the lounge and bedroom were a bonus, as was being able to open the balcony door (even though it's not a balcony you can step out onto).

I had no problems with any noise at all, and had a great view from the 15th floor over looking Albert Park. The bed was super comfy, and the amenities were fantastic. The 60 minute free internet voucher was fantastic, and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. I would stay here again on my next trip to Auckland.

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade to a deluxe or one bedroom suite, and ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night at the Citylife. The room was great and was in a great location. We were on the 11th floor; i am a very heavy sleeper and can sleep through anything but i have to say the noise coming from the nightclub on the next street was crazy. i understand when you stay in the city you are going to get noise and i am happy with this. This was out of the ordinary. Even with the TV up full you could still hear the music. It wasnt just the base; you could hear every word of the songs and even the woops of the people - it sounded like we were actually in the club. It finally stopped just before 4am. I was told on check out that it was to be expected staying in the city but i encourage the staff and GM to spend a night in one of the rooms and see just how bad it is. As i mentioned i 'could' sleep through anything - now i have to change my statement!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CityLife Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Auckland

Address: 171 Queen St | P.O. Box 105-360, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern spacious high-rise - In the heart of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your CityLife Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Citylife Hotel Auckland
Auckland Citylife Hotel
CityLife Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityLife Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.