We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good weekend away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Is a very nice hotel, and unique with the atrium. Check-in very fast. Room was nice however toilet was not flushing but this was resolved quickly. Comment card from three weeks earlier was open on bed side table. Tought the TV's were too old for a hotel like that. Pool very nice, room service very fast and tasty. Check-out was a nightmare, line was going rogith across the reception, only 2 receptionists on, in a hotel with 400+ rooms you would expect more staff, had to wait 45mins before could check-out.

Would stay here again.

  • Liked — The Atrium
  • Disliked — The Reception
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    921
    252
    83
    45
See reviews for
318
875
161
464
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

I loved staying at this hotel. It's in a great location, just a few blocks from the city center and surrounded by resaurants.

We paid the extra $55 to get the Plaza room as well and it was worth it. The view was great, and the breakfast and appetizers in the evening were lovely.

The gym here has about 15 machines, 6 of which were doubles. We used the treadmills, the elliptical machines, the rowing machines, and the weights machines and then headed over to the sauna where we tried to figure out the appeal. Then we jumped in the pool which was HUGE. It's super long, like a lap pool, and only 4 ft 7 deep all around. Then, we headed out to the sun deck to relax and dry off a bit. The pool, gym, sauna part of this hotel is amazing and I would definitely come back just for that part.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant in the lobby one morning and were happy with what they had. They had bacon that looked and tasted like ham, but was called bacon, baked beans for breakfast, unfiltered apple juice, lots of fruit, grilled tomatoes, watery eggs, and really yummy pancakes.

We also used room service and ordered Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli with Tomato & Basil Sauce and a green salad (with lots of extra tomatoes). It was prompt, delicious and affordable.

For those of you from the States, it's very similiar to Embassy Suites.

  • Liked — The pool was really nice. Also, the plaza club benefits.
  • Disliked — The parking entrance was a little hard to find.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

The Rendezvous was the last night of a month stay for us in NZ and was a great way to end our trip. The carpark is right next to the hotel and accesses the hotel directly, it was pretty reasonable for a hotel car park (approx $11 if I remember correctly, but please double check that). We were impressed by the front desk staff and the concierge who were all very helpful. We had a lovely room, quite luxurious in feel, nice furnishings with a view over the roof terrace, pretty good size with a comfy bed and boasting a large bathroom, with both bath and separate shower. It was a light room (large windows along one wall) with good storage and quiet hallways, so no disturbance from surrounding guests. We reserved a late check out until 6pm and got charged half a day which was about NZ$90 which again, we thought was pretty reasonable, particularly as a shower with fresh towels was just what we needed after a day on North Auckland beaches and before boarding a late night flight to the UK. The hotel is pretty centrally located in the CBD, and very convenient for the Sky Tower, Queen Street and the shops, it is also very straight forward access and exit to the State Highway and airport, as long as one of you can read a map. We didn’t try any of the restaurants but the lounge bar on first floor was very relaxed and the room service meal we had on late arrival was nice, not too overpriced and very prompt. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay here again if returning to Auckland.

  • Liked — large room with great bathroom
  • Disliked — not having time to enjoy the terrace and pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon in Aus / NZ and enjoyed staying at this hotel. We couldn't believe the rate we got for a balcony suite via the hotel's website. Continental breakfast in the club lounge and parking in the adjoining multi storey were included.

The room was the biggest we've had at any hotel - walk in wardrobe, dining table, 2 WC's, wall towall marble bathroom with a TV in it, 2 flatscreen TVs - lovely! We ate roomservice one evening and it was lovely, again, very good value.

The hotel itself was fine, big, modern if a little bland. Concierge was a little mixed (an excellent English ex-pat who gave brilliant advice and insights into Auckland, but others who couldn't answer even basic questions about how to get to takapuna beach - we sorted ourselves out!). Club lounge service & continental breakfast was not up to the standard we've had elsewhere, but we just didn't spend much time in there.

Location was great for downtown Auckland. The rate we paid clinched it - we'd definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Great balcony suite, amazing value
  • Disliked — A tad bland, service a bit mixed
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

An utter joy to spend time at.

Very reasonably priced for the standard. The rooms are large, clean and modern. The bathrooms are magnificent. The decor inside is very nice indeed, the food is good and there's even a pool and sundeck too! All staff are all friendly and helpful (especially the porter) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I stayed at the Rendezvous in mid-October 2008 for 6 days, and it was more than adequate. The room itself was extremely comfortable, with a large comfy bed and an absolutely fantastic bath and shower. The cost to stay was a little high, but the room definitely felt luxurious enough to compensate.

I didn't interact much with the staff, except for using room service, which was for the most part outstanding; I used it most nights, as I couldn't find any particularly interesting restaurants in the area. I had one ceasar salad which was particularly unpleasant, but otherwise everything I ordered was great (again, a little expensive).

My major complaint about the whole experience was the internet, which cost 33NZD a day, and on top of that if I went over a 100mb download limit (Very VERY easy to do when you go to a website that has a photo gallery!) I was charged 10 cents for every mb beyond 100. That ended up being a huge expense that I hadn't anticipated and left me feeling extremely disappointed.

Finally, I have to say; this hotel really is in a great location. It's easy walking distance to the harbor, all the tour buses that do pick-ups stop at this particular hotel, and best of all it's very close to the theatre district- I went to a concert and to a stage production nearby simply because it was such an easy option and a great way to spend the evening.

All in all, I'd recommend it, but FYI it is not a budget hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Liked — Location, room service, bathtub!
  • Disliked — Expensive and lousy internet access
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in a "club access" room for new years eve. The room we requested had an almost perfect view of the sky tower which is the main fireworks display for Auckland city on NYE. The rooms are spacious, and clean. The club lounge where you can enjoy breakfast and canapes complimentary if you pay for an upgraded room was great...exceptional service...we thoroughly enjoyed that! The service of other staff around the hotel was average, not great......but not poor either. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Sky City and to Queen st, so in a good location. Overall good value for money and we would probably stay again.

  • Liked — the club lounge
  • Disliked — no airconditioning in the hallways!!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.