We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is located a bit further away from where the action is but is a great boarding experience. Breakfast and in room dining was fantastic. Sleep quality was a bit average with extra soft cushions but one can't be too picky when travelling..

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Bhavik_D

Thank you for comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your in-room dining experience and breakfast. We are disappointed to read that you found the sleep quality average with soft cushions, fir future visits please note that we do provide a pillow menu.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of events and special offers.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    677
    187
    62
    33
See reviews for
222
671
120
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Once again, we have had another great stay at this wonderful hotel. The staff continue to be most obliging and will do their very best to meet your requests. We were given a lovely room on the 10th floor with views out over the city. The room was very clean and well appointed. We had a comfortable king size bed and they also offered a pillow menu. This hotel is so well positioned to the central city, especially if you are going to a show, as we were. We had breakfast in the Straits Cafe and there was a wide variety and selection of food. It was a great way to begin the day. Even though there are many other hotels in the central city, we still prefer to come back to this hotel as we can be assured of wonderful service and a good nights sleep. Many thanks to the staff and management at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear NZBeachlover,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, our team will be delighted as I was to read your comments following your recent stay.

The Team have worked very hard to ensure a welcoming environment and your feedback has let us know that at least on your experience we have been successful in our objective.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall a good place to stay. Wouldn't pay too much for it. The shower and bath were separate and were really good. The beds felt amazing. The decor in the rooms and halls feels tired and needs an update. It looks like reception has recently had a makeover though (July 2014). The location was ok, but not great. Would have rathered be a block or two closer to town

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Randa_kel,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were pleased that generally enjoyed your stay with us.

Should you find yourselves in Auckland again we do look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed two nights, took full advantage of the pool and gym. Breakfast was yummy with a large selection of foods. Room was good nice and clean and we loved the blackout curtains. And will Definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear AnaKireka,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your comments and we were very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep track of events and special offers.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent our first two nights in NZ at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel. Although we arrived very early (6:30 am) we were able to check in at that time. Our room was spotless, quiet and very comfortable. The hotel is within easy walking distance to many attractions including the Auckland museum, the ferry terminal, parks, etc. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear SRQC,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled to read your comments especially with regard to our friendly and helpful team members.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice Hotel, In need of renovation, has that early nineties feel.

IRD was really fast and easy, rooms were nicely clean as well as the bathroom (even thou not all toiletries were replaced every morning). and it was huge. (view of the room was not good, overlocked a indoor patio and the gym)

Really cool indoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear gsepulve,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were pleased that generally enjoyed your stay with us.

Should you find yourselves in Auckland again we do look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My partner and I were in auckland for 4 nights and had a full itinerary of activities planned so we weren't really going to be spending that much time in the room any way. However the room we booked had a full sized bath and shower, a nice king size bed ( a little on the stiff side) and a ok view of the city (8th floor). The room was clean but there was a pretty intense build up of mould in our shower. The staff were very helpful and friendly. However BE AWARE of being ripped off by cabs coming from the airport. We were charged 108$ for the transfer which was about 20mins. An absolute joke! so we arranged a shuttle with the concierge which was a low 27$ for the both of us!! Overall it was a good stay and great value for money at 149 per night - I think you can get it for $129 if you pay in advance. If you are new to auckland like we were then stroll down to the elliot st "stables" it is a great place to eat where they have heaps of tables in the middle and various restaurants around the edges so you can get something from each and they bring it to you!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear travelcat333,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of the property which overall you were happy with.

We were disappointed to read that you found the bathroom to be mouldy, we do pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional guest experience, it is clear that we have not delivered with regards to that experience and for that I would like to extend to you our sincerest apologies.

A tip for future visits and for readers is to book the Hotel Limousine which will provide an Airport Transfer for a set $95.00 fee, they will be waiting for you in the arrivals hall which makes everything very easy and stress free. Other than this use the Shuttle or Airport Bus.

Once again thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon. .

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.