We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Bexhill
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Reasonable rates for families, room has all facilities, nice comfortable bed, within walking
distance of all shops, cinema etc., very helpful staff. Free parking . Nice pool and gym. The
huge buffet breakfast was excellent and included in our package. We only stayed one night
with our son and daughter in law and three teenage grandchildren, ideal for all ages.
Thoroughly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear RoyLBexhill,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and especially with regards to our guest service and value for money for families.

Once again thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    720
    195
    68
    36
See reviews for
233
710
132
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Rendezvous Grand Hotel in Auckland is a beautiful hotel; On par with the Hilton chain for less money. The room was nicely appointed with a large comfortable bed. The Concierge was helpful in booking a ride to the airport. If you are not into walking, stay closer to the waterfront where the fine restaurants are located. The Rendezvous Grand is just a block from the Sky Tower—a must do in Auckland.

Room Tip: The hotel was very quiet. We were on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear JimKSATX,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled to read your comments especially with regard to our value for money, comparison with Hilton and our helpful team members.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Excellent location. If there for events at Aotea Center this is a must stay. Staff excellent
Room had a broken window which they made temporary repairs due to weekend immediately. Shower had broken spare shower rose holder. Other than that room was great and bed was very comfortable. Great sleeps. Breakfast buffet really good also. Value for money all round

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Bruce M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review following your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to read your comments with regards to our excellent team and location to Aotea Square and the Arts District of Auckland.

On behalf of the team I would like to apologise for the broken window and shower rose, although it was repaired, the room should have been in excellent condition for you.

We would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events

Once again thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was impressed by receiving a welcome email a week prior to our one night stay - a nice touch that doesn't happen that often I thought. My question regarding parking was responded to quickly. Great start! On check in I was told my request for a quiet room had been noted and I indeed had a quiet room....very good!
The room was most certainly quiet...inward facing towards some old apartment buildings a car park in the distance and well away for the road. While not the most stunning view it was exactly what I requested...very quiet...no road or street noise at all and perfect as we were going to be out all evening anyway.
Requests for extra towels and milk were met really quickly indeed....so far all going well.......
However despite these early good signs the hotel failed to impress totally by the lack of care and general attention to detail.
The room whilst large and perfectly adequate for one night had chunks off the corner of walls....dirty looking tiling in the bathroom and air conditioning that appeared not to be working at all well. The biggest disappointment however was the sound of the plumbing! The toilet flushing and shower/basin noise in the room was astonishing....not only from our room but also from the room next door! REALLY REALLY LOUD!
As we were heading to a concert early evening, my mother and I chose to have a casual meal/snack in the atrium bar. I had to request someone wipe and clear our table although to be fair with only one staff member looking after the bar it was difficult for her to cater to everyone quickly. It would have been a more appropriate level of service to have more staff on, I feel.
The advertised tunnel to the Aotea Theatre was a little scary to be quite frank.....and difficult to navigate......we were not the only guests that had several attempts at getting to the theatre only to return to the hotel for more directions......some clear signage would easily solve this issue and would be appropriate should the hotel wish to continue to advertise the tunnel as easy access to the theatre......navigating past several "homeless" people sleeping close to entrance to tunnel was also more than a little off putting......
I'm not sure that I would score the hotel any where near 5 stars......it may be even pushing to achieve 4 stars based on my experience.....although no one can deny, it is in a great location. Maybe with a little renovation and attention to detail in some areas, the mismatch between my initial positive expectations and the actual experience could be remedied?!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear donandkaren,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the pre arrival letter and upon your arrival your request for a quiet room noted.

We were disappointed to read that the view and quality of the room did not meet your expectations. We are also sorry that you were unhappy with the noise from the next door room, this is a surprise and I must admit this is a very rare issue that guests advise us of. We will investigate this and thank you for letting us know

Thank you also for your comments on the Atrium and our Tunnel signage, we as you were are very unhappy with the council for some of the issues in Aotea Square at present.

We appreciate and value your feedback as it provides us the opportunity to review and ultimately improve our processes. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Nice hotel in walking distance of the city center and all its restaurants. Big clean rooms and affordable parking at the hotel. We only stayed for one night so we didn't get to check out the pool. Also we didn't include breakfast, so no opinion on that either.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear HarmDonkers,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel and our central city location

We hope your travels bring you back to Auckland and we see you again soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Efficient and friendly staff from start to finish of our stay. Comfortable bed, good size room, well serviced and very clean and a good breakfast selection. A very pleasant stay, plus handy location to Queen St, Skytower and Civic Theatre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Jan S,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed great service and felt so well taken care of.

We would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Once again thank you very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Many years ago stayed at this hotel when it was The Carlton. They have maintained their attention to detail and service focus. Everyone at the hotel was approachable and friendly. Free WiFi was a bonus. We left wanting for nothing - Thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Peter K,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay with us at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We were thrilled to read that we have maintained the attention to detail and service focus from the Carlton Days, I will ensure that I share this with the wider team who as I was will be equally thrilled.

Once again thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.