We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked a Club Room and enjoyed all the benefits that go along with it.
Very friendly and helpful staff and the 'special occasion' birthday bubbles were a nice touch :)
Super comfy bed and the pillows were amazing!

In fact, I enjoyed this hotel so much I am bringing my Mum here to stay when we go to the Hollies concert this month! :D

Room Tip: Do try the club room as it's definitely worth the extra $ :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear AMay99,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for your review. We were delighted that enjoyed the Club Lounge benefits and that the team looked after you on your special day.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for the Hollies and Thank you once again. We would also invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    718
    194
    67
    36
See reviews for
231
708
132
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Ten out of ten for service! Staff were fantastic in fact they were better than fantastic! Room was clean and tidy and Restaurant was also amazing.

Close proximity to everything is great and I would visit here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Mark F,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the wider team who as I was will be thrilled to read your “Ten out of Ten” and “Better than Fantastic” comments.

Thank you once again and we would invite you to friend us on facebook or follow us on twitter to keep track of our latest deals and events.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights following our arrival in NZ. It's reasonably centrally located - about ten minutes walk down to the main shopping street but there is a free city centre bus which operates every ten minutes or so (it's to residents but only 50c to others) and stops quite close to the hotel. We were given a large room with two double beds, two chairs and a table, so quite sparsely furnished. The bathroom was spacious with a separate bath and shower.
There is a pool and gym and an outdoor area close to them with sun loungers - this was very welcome as we had been to Auckland before and really just wanted to relax and get over the jet lag.
The business centre offers free use of computers and there is free Wi-Fi.
Breakfast was quite expensive but there is a nice little café run by a young Chinese couple about two minutes walk away which does excellent bacon butties.
A taxi from the airport cost us $85. We used the shuttle service going back which picked us up from the hotel and was much cheaper.
Overall, this was a perfectly adequate city hotel.

Room Tip: The pool and gym are on level 4 if you want to be close to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Margaret252,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for your review following your stay with us. Overall we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found it a value for money experience.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Reception staff all very help full and seemed pleased to help you with any problems. Yes wifi is not good but at least your are not paying for the inconvenience .Breakfast was well set out but why do you have to pay for a cappuccino ??????
They do not charge you if you leave loads of food !

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear richard k,

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and also for taking the time to write your review following your recent visit to Auckland. We were delighted to read your comments with regard to our reception team. Thank you also for bringing to my attention the WIFI service, it should be of good speed and easy to use, we will get this checked.

Once again thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not a bad hotel. We had a patio to our room and the whole experience was actually quit good. The staff were friendly and the room more than comfortable with a TV opposite the bath so that you could watch whilst having a soak. A bit of a labyrinth of corridors but, once you knew where you were going, worked out fine. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Bybhuggjijbigg,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Once again, Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at The Rendevous Grand on Sat 8 February 2014. I booked online.
I remember when this was a really plush property but today it is tired and outdated.
Check in staff very pleasant although it was reasonably busy at the time.
I had booked on the Executive Floor. For this we got a large suite with a terrace. Bed comfortable and super king. Bathroom all marble and very large. The suite had a lounge and dining area with guest bathroom.
What was hard to believe was the air on unit. As this is an older property the system is old. I asked an engineer to check our air on. All was well but the dial does not go below 20 degrees C. So it was very uncomfortable.
However if you leave your key card in the slot as we did, we were able to reduce the temp but no lower than 20 degrees.
We went to the Club Lounge. This is no manned by staff during the day, you just help yourself. There was a small fridge with complimentary soft drinks and water. Snacks were small dry crackers and there was a coffee machine too. All in all no the private oasis I was expecting. Wee spent no time in there.
We ate dinner in Straits the on site restaurant. Service ok but food pretty marginal and the worst Caesar Salad with bacon that had seen better days. Breakfast was equally bad.
I popped a button and needed a Sewing kit. Couldn't find it in the suite, rang Housekeeping. No problem they said but it took a further phonecall and around 20 minutes for the kit to arrive.
The Hotel was quiet overnight and we were pleased about this.
Easy to get to Queen Street.
We did no use the pool or Japanese Restaurant. The Atrium bar area has seen better days.
I would not stay here again personally.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear GolfCharlieCharlie,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we thank you for your comments and will certainly discuss these to try and lift the guest experience further.


Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was the third time we have stayed at the Rendezvous Grand in Auckland. It has a very nice proximity to the cruise terminal, shopping and restaurants. We have always found it clean and nicely appointed. This trip we booked a "Show Package" that came with a dinner and buffet breakfast and both were exceptional in the Straits Cafe. But by far the best part of this very large hotel is the exceptional front of house staff. Kevin, Soli and Fernando among others were always ready to assist with their expert knowledge of the area. And although we had a late checkout at noon with our package our Hawaiian Air flight did not leave until midnight. The front of house staff kindly kept our luggage safe and sound for us all day as well as even offered to let me shower and change clothes in the ladies locker room of the gym/pool. Accommodations can always be found that are clean, new and such but the staff and their wonderful attention to their guests needs is why we keep coming back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland whenever we are in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Linda M,

On behalf of the team here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were thrilled to learn that this was your third visit and on each occasion you have found our team to be exceptional, I will ensure that I make special mention of Kevin, Soli and Fernando at our next team meeting.

Thank you once again and we would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.