We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Mayoral Drive, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Loved this hotel, room was great, comfortable beds, nice big bathroom with big bath, staff were all extremely helpful, happy & friendly. Early check-in was accommodated for as requested. Very happy, would stay again :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Naiadjan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. I will share this with the wider team who will be delighted as I was to read your comments with regard to the service delivered by the team here, this is certainly appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future and thank you once again.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    535
    139
    49
    31
See reviews for
157
555
98
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights over New Years' we paid around £100 per night. Well equipped rooms, generally good service, found a Concierge who advised us to leave the City for New Years Eve!! Which seemed bizarre as were asking for advice on where to go in the city for New Years! Anyway other than that, short walk to the harbour, and shops, free, but limited WiFi, generally we were very pleased.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Ikorel,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to read your comments with regard to the well-equipped rooms and generally good service.

I will follow up with our Chief Concierge on why they would be advising guests to leave the city for New Year’s Eve, as I also found this bizarre. May I extend to you on behalf of our team my sincerest apologies.

Once again thank you for your review and for making the long journey to New Zealand.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

nice hotel could do with new carpets etc but service, meals etc were excellent.we had a room facing onto street where a bus seemed to stop every morning at 4am!!not good when trying to sleep after 15 hour flight.however very good overall

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear mattyYoughal_Ireland,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for making the long journey to New Zealand, we trust you enjoyed your visit down under.

In 2012 we completed an extensive renovation of the public areas and hotels rooms where all room carpet was replaced, I believe your comment with regard to carpets would relate to our corridor carpets of which we hope to complete very soon.

Thank you once again for your review and do look forward to having you visit us once again in the near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on the 19th whilst visiting Akld and I can say the hotel met most of my expectations. I booked directly on their website and got an excellent deal from their "super secret sale." This included 2-4-1 breakfast buffet vouchers but we only used it on our last day (see separate review on Straits Cafe).

• Check-in was a breeze and we were lucky enough to have been granted our special request of an early check-in at 11am as there was 1 room available.
• Room: The room was suprisingly spacious enough as even with 2 comfortable double beds, a wardrobe with a safe, a small table & 2 chairs there was still heaps of room to walk about. There was a mini bar with complimentary tea & coffee making facility. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath and was also spacious with lots of mirrors. I am normally weary of hotel bathrooms being outdated or having a shower & bath all in one, but this was great being separate and modern.
• Facilities: We also used their indoor pool and sauna and these were good facilities to be available, although pool could be heated a bit more. I also noted a gym by the pool area.
• Internet: The free wifi provided in-room seemed quite adequate enough for 2 of us using it for just generic internet browsing and email checking on our phones.

• Housekeeping: The only downside to the stay was that the cups when we got there were stained with I can only guess was the previous guests lipstick. So I rung housekeeping and asked for new cups which took over half an hour and another phone call to get. Then the next day after we have had our room "made up" and got back to the hotel and was about to make some tea - well what have we here the cups were stained again! This happened again on the 3rd day. Hence one can only state that they actually do not get cleaned or replaced. I have heard of those hotel horror stories where housekeeping just wipes drinking glasses with generic household cleaner and never expected they were happening in NZ, let alone a 4-star rated hotel. Some might think this is minor but as I like to have my tea in the morning, arvo & night, this was a big deal to me. And this made me think of what else they might be cutting corners on with housekeeping. This I feel let the whole stay down for me hence the averagw rating.

Overall a great stay as most of the staff we saw always had a smile to give. Great to note they also have tunnel access direct to Aotea Square and front entrance parallel 5-min walk to Sky Tower which were very convenient.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear enzedwelly,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and on behalf of all of the team thank you for writing such a comprehensive review of the property.

Overall we were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and found very good value in the room and the service you were experienced through the property. Our indoor is maintained at 29 degrees which is regarded as the perfect temperature for recreation and training of which the multipurpose use of the pool is.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention to standard of Housekeeping you experienced, I would like to assure you this is far below the minimum standards we set and for this I apologise and will discuss with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure follow up. .

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do loo, forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Over all experience was Fantastic,

Staff were helpful and professional. The room was spacious and clean along with spacious bathroom.The Breakfast waitress were friendly and the breakfast was yummy. Which kept us going all day.

Only dislike was a charge to c c.Which could take a few days to be refunded to cover any charges to the room eg mini bar.

Happy to give cc no: of course that's standard practice for Hotels and Car hire. But to charge a deposit of 200. Not to sure about that. However we would stay again.

Would recommend travellers to stay.

Thank you all, specially receptionist, and concierge

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear James M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland during your recent visit to New Zealand. We were delighted to read your comments with regard to the service from our team members, our room quality, breakfast, facilities and the extremely good value for money.

Unfortunately to guarantee payments the banks require us to charge a bond on your credit card and you are correct in that it can take 2-5 days to clear.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel seems quite old, in the lobby, in the corridors, the doors and carpet, etc. are quite shabby; however, the room was spacious, there was free Wi-Fi though it was slow (256kb).
The gym was quite nice. It was unexpectedly spqacious - about 40-50 sq meters: a few treadmills, free weights - dumbbells, a few exercise machines, no benchpress of course, but one can do quite a few things... The sauna seems new and clean (despite towels lying around everywhere). The swimming pool area is alright as well. A bit of chlorine you can feel.
The parking is $15 per day. centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear SergeLeo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for your review following your stay with us. Overall we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found it comfortable and convenient.

Our complimentary WIFI is actually at 512kb, although we advertise it at 256kb.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I've been thinking about my stay there in order to write this review and there is absolutely nothing negative at all I can remember. This place is really nice and I strongly recommend travellers to stay there. The staff is very nice, from reception, to concierge, bar staff, housekeeping, there has not been a single person who's been less than very friendly!
The room is a great size, very comfortable, clean and pleasant. The bar area is really nice, specially the terrace, where you can relax with views to the Sky tower. The location is amazing!
I had breakfast in the hotel, plenty of choices, efficient waiters, fresh and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Sissi2702,

On behalf of the team here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, thank you for taking the time to write your review and positive endorsement of the hotel.

We were delighted to read your comments and do look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland in the very near future.

Thank once again and regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.