We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Mayoral Drive, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and would not bother trying anywhere else in Auckland to stay. Excellent value, modern clean room, great facilities including a swimming pool to keep the kid happy and good choice of interesting restaurants. Close to Sky City, Queens Street etc but set back away from the main road so no noise at all at night. Only a ten mins walk to Britomart - and 20 mins to Vector Arena. Helpful staff and very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    535
    139
    49
    31
See reviews for
157
555
98
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago so was rather dubious about going back, the service & rooms had been ordinary, but they had a special offer on for one night so I gave it another try, oh boy am I glad I did, there had been such an improvement, the room we had was refurbished and the service was fabulous, room was spotless, room service was with us in around 10 minutes at 11 o'clock at night, the breakfast was great the breakfast staff were great, so attentive, the reception staff were the same and at the concierge's desk (all three of them) were marvellous went to great lengths to help, even the service at the bar (there was an event on that night) was quick and polite. can't say how good it felt to receive such great service, talk about "can do attitude" someone has done a lot of great training here and it was well worth it, Will certainly return with or without the special offer. Oh by the way the mini bar prices were very reasonable not your usual rip off. Cooked breakfast a little pricey at $31 but still good value for money.

Room Tip: It's a big place so if you don't want a long walk try telling the receptionist not to put yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed three times within two months, and in total about 10 nights in the Rendezvous. We had a warm welcome every time, and everything like checkin, checkout, luggage storage, etc. went smoothly. The rooms are very spacious, and impeccably clean. You find whatever you need there, including a work desk with all facilities. Additionally, all additional services like minibar, internet, etc. are really ok priced, (e.g. 3 dollars for a can of coke), which is a huge difference between this hotel and others of this category. Internet is free, and working stations are available. Facilities and prices are top, but what really impressed us is the staff who - with very few exceptions - were so kind and personal, that you feel as if it were a small hotel with 10 rooms, instead of a huge hotel with over 200 rooms (probably even far more). They really do a great job, and we would recommend this hotel to every one who comes into Auckland. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is opposite to the police station, they are the quietest (although the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great location - easy walk to Queen Street shops and Sky Tower. Very clean. Modern facilities. Really impressed with the price considering the standard of the hotel. We will definitely return and stay here next time we visit Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were pleasently surprised at the quality of this hotel for the price. We booked online with less than 24 hours notice and received a great deal. We had a hire car so the $15 per day undercover parking was very handy. We ate Dinner in the Pacific Restaurant and it was one of the best meals we had on our holiday. If you like NZ green lipped mussels they are a must to try. The staff were all very friendly and cheerful. Our room didn't have a view of the Auckland Tower but it was large and comfortable. The mini bar prices are very reasonable and the Black Forrest Martini from the Atrium Bar for NZ15 was the perfect nightcap. Would recommend this Hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My partner and I arrived into Auckland and ended up staying here as other Hotel fell through. The service was great. Our receptionist was so helpful and friendly she really is an asset to the company and told us everything we needed to know about what they had to offer. Rooms are very nice and clean. Breakfast was also perfect. Close to queen st, sky tower, short walk to viaduct. I would def go back! Good on you guys!

Room Tip: High floor, away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed three nights over the Easter weekend. The location is good with easy access to motorways and Auckland attractions. Our rate included parking which is a real bonus. Reception and restaurant staff were excellent - helpful and obliging. The hotel is large and the entry foyer is impressive. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, but are showing signs of wear (burns on tv cabinet, missing picture and a fridge door that did not close easily). The breakfast buffet is really good. Overall a most enjoyable stay, made fantastic by the great attitude of the staff towards guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a "king" bed - twin rooms have double beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.