We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rendezvous ,the hotel where great memories are created” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rendezvous ,the hotel where great memories are created”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed recently for our 5th wedding anniversary, we noted when booking online of our celebration, servag who was the front desk manager kindly upgraded us at no charge to the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in. The food at the restaurant was fantastic and the service was second to none, it was our best stay we have ever had in a hotel. I highly recommend the rendezvous Auckland, if you want a stay that exceeds expectation, this is it.

Mark cochrane

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    921
    252
    83
    45
See reviews for
318
875
161
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

purchase a wotif deal for a CBD hotel and was slightly disappointed when it transpired it was this hotel, only because i am not used to walking a lot. this hotel is located near the top end of queen street so involves walking in order to explore the viaduct and britomart area but is just across the road from Aotea square. i was initially a little nervous as i know queen street can be a bit sketchy at night time but as it turns out it was actually a non-issue and i really rated my stay here
the service is very very good. very friendly and courteous.
the free wifi only last for 3hours a day and you do have to call reception to ask for a code to input which changes every day. this is slightly annoying but not a deal breaker.
the gym and pool area is rather nice, there is quite a good selection of weights available. the pool is indoor but there is a lovely outdoor roof terrace area just off this which is very nice and well kept. i think the hotel should consider utilising this roof top for a dining or bar area! then again, i live in hong kong and we are kind of obsessed with roof terraces for dining or drinking...
i was in a room on the 10th floor - very peaceful and spacious. the bathroom especially - a bath AND a shower. very nice indeed.
overall i think this is a good solid 4.5star hotel and recommend it for short stays in auckland city

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

In the Central Business District , with parking (charged) alongside, this hotel is an easy walk to shops, eateries and pubs. 10 mins. walk down to the super harbour area with excellent dining and choice of tours.
The hotel is undergoing a refurb. so ask about your room. We didn't find the works intrusive . Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask about poximity of any refurbishment/building works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

If your after a good quality hotel in a prime location within the central business area of Auckland this is a good start. Well priced, always clean and with staff who are friendly.

On my last visit I was impressed to find the room had reciently been done up with new carpets and furnature.

One thing to be aware of is that some rooms over look the police station which can be a little noisy if there is an early morning call out.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights 20/21 Jan 2012.Hotel is within walking distance of cbd and restaurants/pubs.Very quick check in . stayed on 10th floor with beautiful views. meals in restaurant were good and reasonably priced and breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day.porters were quick with luggage and all staff we met were very professional and friendly .Ideally located for tourists like us who like to explore cities on foot.

Room Tip: High floors for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooloomooloo
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel used to be good years ago when it was under different management, but has slowly and surely deteriorated since rebranding as a Rendezvous hotel. I couldn't believe how tired and dirty the rooms have become, and how much they have scaled back on the little extras you used to get (not to mention staff as well). I also became very itchy after coming in contact with the bedsheets, and had to ask for them to be changed. I will be avoiding this hotel in future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Arrived at the hotel at 9.45 in the morning, rather tired after long flights from UK . The room was ready and available and check in staff really helpful. Room was a good size, light and airy and very clean. The staff were really helpful with a few issues we had back home and needed to sort out. We used the concierge who gave us complimentary wifi vouchers. The atrium bar was comfortable for drinks and we were very impressed with the breakfasts and the staff in the restaurant. We didn't eat in the hotel at night but only as we wanted to explore Auckland. We also had the car delivered to the hotel (Avis), which the concierge dealt with and brought
round for us when we were ready to leave. The situation of the hotel although not by the harbour is great for a tourist, near the sky tower, Queen street for shopping, the art gallery, Aotea Centre etc. We felt it was a really good choice and good value for money and would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.