We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't change a thing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Don't change a thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Excellent. Would stay again any time.

Self booked a two night pre-cruise stay and was completely surprised by how great everything was. Rooms were very, very tasteful and nicely furnished - not overly large, but fine for my short stay.

Every staff member was welcoming and made a fabulous effort to satisfy. Location is good, quite a lot to see and do within a short walk.

I can't imagine anyone being disapointed here!

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    921
    252
    83
    45
See reviews for
318
875
161
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

Spent our last night in New Zealand at the Rendezvous and loved every moment after a hectic three weeks spent in a campervan. The room was lovely, clean and spacious and the service was second to none. Treated ourselves to room service which was also excellent. To top it all off the price was extremely reasonable. Cannot recommend this hotel more.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Good location, close to Sky Tower Casino and shopping. Big reception area check in quick and friendly. Big public areas no dark dingy corridors. Room good size clean & tidy nothing too flashy.
Nice big bathroom with seperate bath and shower all marbel clean and tidy.

Breakfast what you would expect but nothing special opens at 6.00 am . Service good.A good buisness Hotel or for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We booked this hotel over the internet, and when we arrived, the room we were given exactly fitted our internet request - non-smoking room with a view. I suspect at some stage the room had been a smoking room (or someone had been smoking in there and shouldn't have been), even though it was definitely a non-smoking room, but this wasn't a problem. The hotel foyer was beautiful. The room was beautifully decorated with good facilities. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we got a great internet rate. The hotel is in a good location, about 5 minutes walk from the heart of Auckland, and within walking distance to the harbour. The hotel seems to be a favourite with Japanese groups. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Decor, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Slight smoke smell in non-smoking room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

This place is depressing! The common areas are bland, the gift shop is DUSTY with barely anything in it and the restaurants were vacant the entire time we stayed there.

The room was a decent size and clean despite the terrible grout problem in the bathroom.

One cool thing, the bathroom had a speaker so you could listen to the television.

BLEAK, EH?

  • Liked — The speaker in the bathroom
  • Disliked — The grout in the bathroom
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We started our holiday in NZ at this (then Carlton) hotel. We arrived from an early flight at 8 am (as did several others) and the check-in staff were friendly and very helpful. We were offered the use of the fitness centre facilities, etc. but elected to take breakfast in the restaurant. By 8.30 am the receptionist arrived at our table with the keys to our room that they had prepared for us. Throughout our stay the staff proved friendly and responsive at every opportunity. The hotel is, in our view, well situated and was in easy walking distance of the shops and waterfront.

The rooms were comfortable. Our only complaint was the fact that our room did not have wireless internet access, although it did have wired access.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

Great hotel in good shape. Large room, large bathroom. Parking garage connects to the building. Three blocks away from several restaurants. Professional staff.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.