We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived from the airport to start our long stay in New Zealand. Second stop using airport shuttle is right opposite hotel, so very convenient for anyone flying into or out of the country.
Our suite was very well appointed, with separate bedroom, lounge, kitchen and shower room. Excellent service and staff were very helpful with advice on what to do and where to eat. Made use of the laundry / drier room which was very useful. Would stay again next time we come to the country.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    218
    80
    20
    9
See reviews for
49
191
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ahmedabad
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel in two parts, once on 26th November,14 and then 28th November,14. This is one of the best hotel centrally located. One can for a Indian Restaurant for a vegetarian food by walking.Self typed rooms are quite big with some amenities like kitchen utensils, microwave etc. Rooms facing east needs curtain because days are longer than nights. Quality of morning breakfast is very nice. Locker system is available in this hotel so for one or two nights out one can keep their main baggage in this hotel. Staff is cooperative.

Room Tip: Try to avoid east facing rooms across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Though this Hotel is centrally located, these people gave us a surprise of paying NZD 25 for parking my car.
Rooms were not good. Rather I will dislike the service provided by Thomas cook for liasioning with such Hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks for staying with us and making some comments. We only charge $20 for valet parking and this is the lowest of our competitors so we are at a loss to understand your comments. feel free to contact me directly if you have further information. I am sorry you did not like your room but without any further information it is difficult to comment except to say sorry it did not meet your expectations.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Check-in was smooth. Bed was very soft for me. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Bus stop right at front to go to the airport and everything is in walking distance to see what Auckland city has to offer.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As most reviewers mentioned, the building is located at a convenient location on Queen street that has most stuff that you need. That's about it. Anything else, it can't compare to other serviced apartments around the area. Their competitors are cheaper and offer more amenities. Search around a little more on the internet and you are likely to find a better deal.

You can't cook in the apartment. There were no stoves. Bring your own trash bag because their garbage bins were pathetically small. There were no in-suite laundry facilities and if you use the shared laundry, you need to pay 3 NZ dollars for washer and 3 NZ dollars for dryer. Also remember to bring your own laundry basket or bag to carry your clothes. Don't bother with their complimentary Wi-Fi unless you like to wake up at 3am or 4am in the morning to use it. Also, you are restricted to 4 electronic devices per room so if you travel like Batman with all your toys, you probably need to pay for their premium Wi-Fi.

In summary, you can do better than Scenic with even less money.

Room Tip: Construction ongoing near the building. Ask for rooms that are not facing the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We only have in room laundry facilities in our extended stay apartments. The room amenities are detailed for each room type in all the booking engines including our own. We describe our cooking facilities as "kitchenette" and detail the exact kitchen equipment included such as microwave. Our free WiFi is restricted to 4 devices per room but this would seem to be more than ample for the vast majority. All our rooms have free laundry bags hanging in the wardrobe. We check our rates every day and very carefully to ensure we offer the best value possible so are disappointed and sorry that you felt otherwise. On our top floor we also have fabulous two level apartments for extended stays that have full kitchen and laundry facilities, private balconies. Thank you for commenting we appreciate your feedback and sorry you were disappointed in some respects.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable hotel in good central location within easy walking distance to K Road, the waterfront and other central Auckland attractions. Friendly staff. Great eggs Benedict but breakfast buffet was a big overpriced for the selection. Good choice for low budget while being clean and comfortable. Loads of excellent cafes, bars and restaurants around.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very well located for being central. One of the best parts of it is that the Airport Express bus stop stops right outside. I came in for a visit to AKL and it couldn't have been easier for me. I was within walking distance from all I needed to do in town. The room was neat and clean and functional. I especially enjoyed the little toiletries and coffee/tea options. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Be aware that being a central hotel, it can be quite busy and sometimes there is noise on the street, but it didn't bother me enough to keep me awake. Very satisfied overall.

Room Tip: It may be quieter if you ask for a room towards the back (not on the Queen Street side), but that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.