We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good basic hotel - good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Good basic hotel - good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Booked this hotel for 1 night on an Entertainment Book special. I got a great rate so was not expecting a lot. We used the Airport bus and this was great as it stopped right across the road from the hotel (and if you travel back right outside the door). The check in was very good and the concierge was really helpful with helping us up to the room.

Our floor was on the 2nd floor looking out over Queen st. I was impressed by the size of the room. It was basically a 1-bedroom apartment. The queen bed was in a separate room, bathroom large and kitchen, table and chairs and a single bed over by the window looking over Queen St.

The kitchen was well stocked out and I wished that we had booked our other 3 nights here. I was staying with my 7yr old and I ended up sleeping in the single bed by the window as like others have advised it does need maintenance and one of the latches on our window wasn't completely 'tamper' proof and I did not feel comfortable having my young son sleeping near it especially being so not high up. There was a bit of noise out on the street around mid-night and then of course in the early morning. We stayed a Thursday night so not much "partying' noise - the most noise was in the morning with street sweepers etc. I found the room to be warm.

The staff were very helpful and once again on check out very quick. We had a taxi called to take us to our new hotel. We did not dine in the café next door so can not offer a review on this.

As most people have mentioned it does need some maintenance and cosmetic help - but for the price we paid I was more than happy with the quality of our hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    220
    80
    21
    9
See reviews for
49
192
50
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good location on Queen St, right across the road from The Civic and close to K.Rd. Our Superior Studio Apartment room was spacious albeit a little dark and tattered - peeling paint and stained walls.The staff at reception were very friendly and provided us with a set of discount coupons for the bar and restaurant - we didn't use them but it looked like a popular spot. Overall it was very good value for money.

If you're traveling to the airport, the airport bus stops right outside the hotel or if you'd rather take a taxi the hotel can organise a special $35 rate for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed as a GrabOne deal. We found the staff very friendly and the breakfast great. Had dinner there the night before which was also yummy. The room we stayed in was a little run down. A cracked window, with tape on it, rip in curtain and the INSIDE of the windows were very dirty. Room was cold even though we pumped the air conditioner up to 26. It was so good to have a very warm, welcome. Staff were great and so happy. Yes we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed here as part of a GrabOne package.
The room was a great size for the two of us and had a very comfy bed!
The hotel is in a great location for activities within the CBD, we shopped till we dropped, attended a show at the civic and went to dinner at the Sky Tower. (All on foot)

Only issues... the room was freezing cold, even after cranking the heating up (in hindsight should have contacted reception and got spare blankets), bathroom flooded twice due to the shower spraying over the side, and the windows need a good scrub from the outside =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great stay, good quality service and staff.We arrived early and the staff were able to assist us efficiently and to our satisfaction. The evening dinner was well presented and I can recommend the antipasti options. Great bottle of Merlot added to the after work relaxation and enjoyable company.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A small, comfortable, welcoming hotel in central Auckland. Lovely soft warm, bed, nice room, good service. Great breakfast. Great cafe. I always enjoy the central location and the helpful staff. It's ahrd to say more in 200 characters. My review seems to sum it all up. Good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night as we explored Auckland before heading out to Waiheke Island for a more relaxing weekend. Biggest complaint: no wifi! It's available but super expensive, a bit ridiculous, considering that wifi is available on the city network for free across the street. We were quite pleased with the size of our mini-suite with a nice sitting area, very comfortable bed and linens. Water pressure was a bit lacking, but enough to do the job. A bonus: both shampoo AND conditioner were provided. Convenient location, just across the street from the cheap airport bus as well as the inner circle city bus and convenient to walk in downtown Auckland. Our room had a view of the lovely Town Hall as well the SKy Tower. For the price, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.