We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,very good overall package.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Auckland

Save Saved
You added Scenic Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel,very good overall package.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in april and They clearly understand what's important and what's not for guests and the fact that its Kiwi owned really shines through for the rate we paid the standard was Excellent we definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    177
    69
    19
    8
See reviews for
40
168
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ideally located in the centre of Queens Street, lots of eateries within a very close walking distant. Room spacious with very comfortable beds. Parking is available at a cost $20 per night, this would be the only downside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent situation, central to city and waterfront. Hotel clean and comfortable, and the staff very obliging. One down point upon arrival was the cooking smell on our floor, eminating from a guest's room, however upon informing the staff the situation was resolved.
Future guests must be aware that the rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a courtyard giving access to and from a Chinese nightclub, which was noisy into the early hours of the morning.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: No pool or spa so could not rate. Choose a room at front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week while watching the England Cricket team. We found the location ideal, but this does have some draw backs. The main Queens Road is very noisy especially last thing at night and very early morning so the Hotel would benefit from some double glazing!!! The room lacked cupboard space and the layout was a little strange, but if you are only staying for one or two nights I suppose you would live out of your suitcase anyway, but a week is another matter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed overnight as we had tickets to a show at the Civic Theatre. Very well situated for the theatre and Aotea Square and ASB Centre. Plenty of food outlets within easy walking distance as is Sky City. We found the staff very helpful. The adjoining M.L.C. Cafe was very pleasant and had a great menu. Our room was well equipped, clean and comfortable and the bed was very comfortable. We would stay at the Scenic again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012.

The location was excellent, central to bars, shops, restaurants and attractions.

The room was spacious but the window was cracked which led to a cold draft by the single bed where our daughter slept. After jet lag we did not need her not sleeping as she was too cold. Otherwise good amenities in the room - sink, fridge and microwave, and straighteners in the bathroom.

Previously we stayed in Citylife Auckland, and we preferred that hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our family of 4 was referred to the Scenic Hotel in Auckland by another hotel, because, when we arrived late on Saturday evening, every hotel it seemed was full for the night (cricket match, concerts, and festivals all happening at once). From the street, it didn't look like much, but we were really pleased with our stay. The front desk clerks are very obliging, the room really clean, the bathroom sparkled, the beds were comfortable. The whole city was partying, so the front desk clerk gave us all ear plugs when we checked in - much appreciated! (My one wish is the same wish I had for almost every hotel or motel we stayed in in NZ - we wished for a teapot in the kitchenette so that we could make a proper cup of tea in the morning!) We would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.