We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel was the last stop on our tour of New Zealand and had been booked by the travel agent who booked our flight – in other words, it was chosen for me. As it was very reasonably priced I did not really expect much and regarded it as a means to an end – i.e. to stay in Auckland for two nights prior to flying on to Australia.

To my surprise and delight we really loved it. The hotel building used to be the art deco MLC Building, originally built in 1957. We were allocated an apartment style room on the 6th floor overlooking Queen Street opposite Auckland’s Town Hall. The room was of a fair size and contained a kitchenette with sink, microwave, toaster, fridge and crockery etc. There was also a table/desk with three chairs, a 2-seater settee, single armchair, coffee table and a large flat screen TV.

There was a separate bedroom containing a double bed (English size double – the smallest we’d slept in during our tour, but very comfortable), 2 bedside cabinets, a wardrobe and ironing facilities. The shower room was reasonably large. Other reviewers have said it was nosiy having a room overlooking Queen Street, maybe it was because we were on the 6th floor, but we had no problems.

We don’t normally eat in hotels as they are usually expensive, but considering this hotel was on one of the main streets of Auckland we were pleasantly surprised at the prices and ate our breakfast and evening meals there for both days. The food was good quality and the staff were very friendly – especially Kevin.

Wifi is available – I can’t remember how much it was but it was a lot cheaper than a subsequent hotel we visited in Cairns, Australia. Another plus is the location – only about 1 km to the Quay – about 10 minutes walk - and the Airbus stops right outside the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    220
    80
    21
    9
See reviews for
49
192
50
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Valet parking, clean reception, nice bar area. I rate this as a good, basic, clean hotel. If you need a bed in central Auckland that's not expensive then this is perfect.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Easy to find on Queens Street.
We Parked right outside the doors and without asking a man came out to help us with our luggage.
The car was then taken for Valet parking.
Our room on the sixth floor was amazing. We had the apartment which was on the triangular point of the hotel, looking straight down Queens street. Super views of the sky tower too.
Across the road was the cinema complex, and lots of restuarants just 5min walk away.
Full kitchenette, sofa, dining table, tv, sky, and the bedroom, bathroom.


All very good quality, you couldn't ask for more at $119 for two adults including cooked breakfast, valet parking and late checkout.
Staff were very friendly! ****

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have stayed in two Scenic hotels while in New Zealand, in this one in Auckland and in another one in Queenstown and I can say that I have been very satisfied by both experiences, which make me think that the Scenic group is a high standard hotel chain.

Concerning the Scenic Auckland, I stayed there for one night in late February in a studio at an incredible value of 99NZD. For that price, I had a totally correct product, with a small room separated from the "living room" (in fact a small table, sofa and plasma TV) and the kitchenette by two doors. The studio also features a bathroom with a nice tiled floor. From the side where I was, I had a nice view on the city hall and the skytower. There were some works nearby the hotel but frankly they were not really loud. I have just read about some nightclub(?) noise during the week end, I stayed there on a Sunday night and did not experience this so can't really say about it.

Overall a very good value hotel, a very convenient central location (a few meters away of a stop on Queen street from the airport bus) and also a very friendly staff (the hotel being staffed 24/7).

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the city hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankalilla, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights arriving on a Friday. The staff were friendly enough. Our room was on the 4th floor at the front of the building. We could see the Sky tower from our window. The room was a studio with a queen size bed which was very comfortable, having a feather quilt under the bottom sheet. The room itself was very.......compact. The kitchenette had all we needed and the bathroom was a reasonable size, but the overall size of the room was very tight. It was an L shape room with 2 lounge chairs and tv and the bed was crammed in almost against the wall. Overall it was ok but the worst part was the noise from the busy street outside. Being a weekend there was plenty of traffic zooming up and down plus as the night wore on the pedestrians were very vocal as well. Needless to say there wasnt much sleep to be had that first night, so in the morning we bought earplugs as a priority!!
There were plenty of small restaurants up the street within walking distance. Mainly Korean, Japanese and Thai with the odd Indian thrown in as well. The main shopping area was just down the road with other options for a quick meal.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back of the building would have been quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Room was fine with enough facilities. We had a good breakfast. We ate in the town there were plenty of places down by the harbour. The art gallery was nearby and impressive. The museum was in great setting in the park and had some amazing exhibits.

Room Tip: Can be noisier if on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here on a saturday night, we were in a room at the front, Over the road is some sort of night club ( we didn't know). At 12am the music started to blast, it was as though we were inside, it was unbelievable, It went on until 4.30am. My husband went to reception, and asked for us to be moved, and was told, they couldn't as it was full (I don't believe that it was). The next morning the manager told us they can't do anything about it as this club has a license. Perhaps informing your guests, could be a start.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.