We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, recommended hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Parnell to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Parnell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Papamoa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Value for money, recommended hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed one night in this clean, and well equipped motel. Very good location in the middle of Parnell, we walked into the city and hopped on the bus back (1.80 NZ$). Rooms were not that spacious but good enough for us, beautiful LCD tv, nice beds and modern design. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to park our car in the parking lot even though we had checked out already. Recommended hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    160
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
94
108
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Barrycourt was a pleasant place to stay. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was spacious although the decor is a little dated. The hotel is in a quiet street in Parnell which has many trendy bars and restaurants. Situated on top of a hill and close to the city our room had amazing views of the harbour. Would happily stay here again when I return to Auckland

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed one night in a studio room for $105. Was relatively quiet and very clean. Bathroom was a bit outdated and had a few minor details not attended to but was good otherwise. had a bath which is always a nice touch in a hotel room. Had a big king sized bed with nice linen. Would recommend this hotel for somewhere reasonably priced and comfortable to stay. Location is good as it is close to everything. Free parking is a bonus as that is hard to find around the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Service - Lovely staff, even when we made it clear that we were checking out early because we were very disappointed. Went out of their way to assist.

Room - Great view but nothing else going for it. It feels like you are on a ship. Main room door opens straight into the bathroom!

Location - Ok location. Great view!

Amenities - Free parking. Internet that you have to pay for is so so so so slow! A waste of time trying to get any pages to load.

Liked:
Best - The friendly lady on checking out who gave us a refund for the poor internet
Least - Pretty much everything else

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The Quadrant - where I stayed for my first visit to Auckland - was already fully booked so I had to use some alternative that did fit within my budget and had rooms available. I did choose the Barrycourt because it was reasonably priced, was pretty close to the CBD and had good reviews here.

I did get a room at the fourth floor of the eastern wing, with a great view over the harbor and out to Davenport etc. The room was pretty large, with two king-size beds. It included a fully equipped kitchen (well, it didn't have a dishwasher but used cups etc. were washed every day by the staff) and a small bathroom. Clearly, its best days are a history now - the whole room and its furnishings looked like taken out of the seventies with the exception of the modern flat-screen TV. The furniture looked positively worn, the couch and two armchairs in particular should definitely be replaced. Also, the bathroom while clean had this worn down, used look to it which made using it a tad uncomfortable.

The bed has been quite comfortable. It was fitted with two electric blankets - one for each side of the bed with separate controls.

When I entered it the room had this peculiar smell that is hard to describe - a bit like damp plywood. On subsequent days it wasn't as strong as on the first night - maybe I got used to it or maybe the room sat unused for some time before I moved in.

The room was equipped with a very loud heater-blower installed over the door. When working full time it was able to raise the room temperature to a comfortable level in the evening. Without it it was of course pretty cold at night (even though it was early spring and pretty good weather). However, it made so much noise it wasn't possible to sleep with it on - so the only way to keep the chill at bay were the electric blankets.

Again, this hotel shared the common problem of all Kiwi buildings - no insulation, no double-glazing, no heating. Somehow Kiwis didn't notice most of the developed world has moved on from the housing standards that were considered normal in late nineteenth century Britain. I mention it to help you put this into a proper prospective - cold inside is how you would feel in most Kiwi homes and hotels, so Barrycourt is not an exception.

Whatever Barrycourt lacked in terms of room's standard it made up for it with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Their friendly attitude put a smile on guests' faces and I think is the high point of this place. In particular I want to praise Kathy at the reception who was great when organizing my airport transfer late at night.

No comments on breakfasts or restaurant as I didn't use them. I did use room service once - it was friendly, fairly quick and obviously overpriced for what it was. However, Barrycourt is just a few steps away from Parnell Road where you will find different places to eat - from restaurants through a pub to a bakery and a fish&chips place - although most of them close before 9pm.

Overall, it is a pretty decent hotel for a business traveler on a budget but I wouldn't take my wife there for anything romantic unless it undergoes a full scale renovation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Excellent, cheap & view @skytower and nice staff, show me one unfriendly kiwi... never met one! The best, kindest people in the world!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

A reasonable price for Auckland, and well located. Room was smallish with dated bathroom. Having said that everything worked, it's just that the whole place has a 70's feel to it. Parking on sloping area can be awkward. Staff were all friendly though. Dining area lacked any atmopshere, but again staff were attentive, although the food was just average.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Parnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.