We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Parnell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed one night in this hotel beginning of january, we read all the comments on tripadvisor and decided to go here. But we were very disappointed as we checked in there late at night. Very impersonal service, old rooms, with a door who didn.t close good. We agreed with the receptionist for a late checkout at 12. But the next morning at 8.30 they already banged on the door to clean the room... Wonderful. We were so disappointed by best western, that the following hotels from best western we went to, we asked everytime to see the room first, before we decided to book it. When we complainted about these things we had to tell the story to 3 different people. Bad communication. Never again.

  • Liked — none
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muzzanz1, Hotel Duty Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, June 9, 2007
Thank you for raising these issues with us.

The staff member who was new, has since left the property.
It appears the problems followed on from his lack of passing on the information you had requested of him on check in.
The team at Barrycourt aim to please all our guests and love to hear any problems you may have so that these can be rectified as they happen.
Once again reviews are great as a reminder of ways to improve and rectify our facilities and services to our customers.

Thank you
Murray
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    148
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
92
101
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

We stayed here four nights (three stays) over a period of three weeks whilst travelling around New Zealand. Firstly the Hotel is easy to find in the suburb of Parnell and to get to from either the Airport or the north (great bonus when you are not familiar with Aucklands "magnificent" motorways) and has heaps of free parking. It also has the bonus of being in a quiet residential area and is therefore very relaxing. The City and supermarket etc are about a five minute drive away. There are a lot of restaurants/Cafes in the main street of Parnell about a five minute walk away.
We booked a two bedroom northwing unit which has a view over the harbour.
Unit 501 and 401 - These were large units, with full kitchen, washing machine and dryer (in the Bathroom), Spa with shower over, two bedrooms (one with 2 x QS and the other with 1 x QS and 1 x Sgl beds) and a lounge room.
Unit 512 - Slightly smaller than above with no washing machine or dryer and one less Queen size bed)
All three units were Clean, comfortable, with a good shower (always important after a long day) and comfortable beds. As mentioned in other reviews the decor is a little dated, and there is no sky TV (if this is important to you).
We had a great view of the Harbour from all rooms and all had a small Balcony with chairs.
However there are a couple of things which irritated us. The bathroom has no extractor fan, so it gets a bit steamy in there and is hard to see to shave after a shower. The Spa also has a habbit of purging air through the jets (presumably to clean it self) a few minutes after you have a shower, this can really startle you if you are not ready for it!
The Staff are undoubtably Brilliant (always smiling and helpful, nothing is too much trouble) especially the Restaurant supervisor Brent who organised a birthday cake for my daughter at short notice. The food in the Restaurant a reasonable price and good quality. Well worth a try.
All in all we had a great stay on each of the three occasions.

  • Liked — The Views and the Genuinly happy Staff
  • Disliked — Steam in the Bathroom!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

Stayed for a couple of odd nights when returning to Auckland during an extended stay in NZ.

Rooms available at short notice, nice, clean and efficient staff and Parnell is classy with some good shopping.

  • Stayed February 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

We booked into the "cottage" rooms at the Barrycourt. Large room with bay windows and kitchen & bathroom. Although decor is a bit outdated and can do with refreshing, the room was kept very clean. The biggest plus of this hotel: STAFF FRIENDLINESS. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Location: o.k. for walking to Parnell or to bus route.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURY ENGLAND
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

My wife and I arrived at The Barrycourt hotel having had to refuse the nearby motel we had booked on the internet from England. We were greeted by the most helpful hotel staff we had found on the whole of our eight week holiday in NZ (we stayed at over 20 different places). All the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2004

The Barrycourt is a very pleasant hotel in a good suburban location just on the edge of Auckland. The rooms are comfortable, equipped with everything a traveller would need. Views from the higher floors over the city and harbour are stunning.
The staff are incredibly helpful. Faced with moving a group of 20 people in the rain from the hotel to the Domain and then to the University, I asked the hotel staff for help. Within an hour they had organised a very cheap shuttle service and briefed the drivers. And all without extra charge.
There is a coffee lounge, bar and restaurant attached to the hotel, and the meals are excellent standard. The staff are young and cheerful, and work hard to make your stay a pleasant one. Parnell Village with all its restaurants is ten minutes walk away, and there is a city bus stop a block down the hill.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#21 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Parnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.