We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Parnell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Did the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Clean and comfortable. After staying in B&Bs for the previous 3 nights found it quite noisy. The couple in the next room " went for it " for 2 hours and wanted the rest of the hotel to know. ( not that this was the hotels fault ) On the up side we did get a great view of the setting sun over Auckland.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    154
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
93
102
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a room on the 2nd floor with a limited view of the city, the room was an ok size for 2 but very noisy, other guests voices and noises, the elevator outside our room was also very noisy all night long. The bed was comfortable, the room clean except for the shower, quite dirty around the edges of the bath (older style shower over bath) great location, nice cafés nearby in Parnell Rise, car parking not the best so get in early, no mirror in the bedroom only in the bathroom (no good after a shower) overall for the price and location not to bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor or higher and away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaruru, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed one night to attend a course in Mission Bay which is a 5 minute drive from the Quality Hotel so it was convenient for me. The room was on the fourth floor so it had a great view down to the harbour. The bathroom was a bit small. The bed was comfy and i had a good sleep. Not flash but good value I thought.

Room Tip: Rooms near elevator have more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spent two nights here with a family of five, Parnell being our last stop to a fourteen day vacation in NZ. Staying in Parnell was a better choice for us than being in the city. Ample carpark space, relatively quiet surroundings as it is nestled amongst residential houses. We had a two bedroom unit. The corridors were long and narrow and had a hostel feel. Once inside, the unit was efficiently spaced out with a round dining table of four to five, a kitchenette with a toaster, microwave, crockery and cutlery and of course the fridge and kettle.The master room is tight with no ensuite. Mattress in here dipped in the middle. All occupants share a bathroom cum toilet. The bath tub is large and not like a normal rectangular tub. Stand inside the tub and have your shower. We had sufficient towels and face towels as well. It has a cute heater to turn on to get your bathroom warm and toasty. The second bedroom is more spacious with two twin-sized beds. Two kids under the age of 12 can comfortable sleep in one. The sofa in the living room can pull out into a sofa bed too. We were on the second floor and fortunately had a room that looks over to the city side, able to see the Sky Tower and part of Mechanics Bay. The balcony outside the living room is useful to enjoy the view. It is also located at the rear of the hotel and much quieter. I did not try out any meals within the hotel, prefering to try the ones along Parnell Street. Use of wifi much friendlier here. They do have electric blankets here but Parnell was not that cold for us to use it having come from Queenstown earlier which was much colder. There is a guest laundry you can use. Only thing it closes at 10pm. I was waiting for my clothes to finish with the cycle and one hotel staff who came to shut it allowed me another grace period of 10 mins grudgingly. I was to leave the hotel very early in the morning the next day so I could not afford to leave the clothes in there to collect it the next day. My fault for starting late in the first place. Wished there was no need for a closing time but understandably to accord the occupants in the neighbouring units close to the laundry room some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I booked on wotif for a one night stay I was early and my room was ready which was great. Very friendly receptionist, room very clean and comfortable. The views from my balcony were awesome, I was looking out towards the city and devonport. Price for the room special was a good bargain. The bed was a little hard but other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

but not really 4 star. The room I was in was spacious (room 304) with good lighting, desk, etc but tired bathroom and average towel quality and amenities. I would expect a mini bar in a 4 star place. The room was opposite the elevator which meant door clunking noise throughout the night. The walls are also very thin so you can hear neighbours having showers etc. The room had a nice balcony with great views to the sky tower. I was there for a meeting and the conference facilities across the car park are adequate if a little tired. My breakfast was excellent - I chose an a la carte omelette which was high quality. Reception staff were friendly and customer focused, so no complaints there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having driven past the Barrycourt (now called Quality Hotel Parnell) for many, many years and not stayed there, I finally had that opportunity recently and was pleasantly surprised.
The look from the outside hasn't changed in decades but the rooms have had a nice recent upgrade and were more than comfortable. The staff were really courteous and friendly and the onsite restaurant was pretty good ( but busy so a bit slow in getting meals out).
So close to the city (4 minute drive) and with ample free parking I will undoubtedly find myself staying here again in coming trips to the big smoke.

Room Tip: Stunning views across the city and harbour from floors 4 and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#17 Family Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#21 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Parnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.