We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we extended our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Parnell to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Parnell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So good, we extended our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a two night stay at the beginning of our trip and returned for five nights at the end of trip. This is a busy smaller hotel with an excellent central location near the city. Good value for money in our opinion.

We were lucky enough to have rooms with a beautiful view over the city and harbour. Our rooms were large and had been recently redecorated. Beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were clean but average with shower over the bath (restrictions due to the age of hotel).. Self catering facilities were great for quick meals with our toddler granddaughter.. The best thing about the room was the couch and two armchairs to relax in. We experienced dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was of a very good standard - pricing comparable with many Auckland restaurants during our two week visit to New Zealand. Free Carparking was good most of the time, with overflow out onto Gladstone Road. Guest Laundry was a real bonus. Staff were always very friendly and helpful. There are various levels of accommodation to suit most budgets.

Nearby shopping is in Parnell, a tourist orientated shopping street, with Newmarket a five minute drive/bus ride down the road. A LINK Bus Service operates up Parnell Road every 10-15 mins during the day and completes a city circuit. This is a must to experience! A tourist bus to the Zoo, Kelly Tarltons Underwater World, MOTAT etc stops at the entrance of this hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 'stay-put' hotel to visit our daughter and granddaughter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    160
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
94
107
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Quality Hotel Parnell has excellent views of Auckland and Waitemata Harbour.

The staff were good and the room was clean. The room was also large compared to what you might get elsewhere.

Would stay again here if in Parnell or the nearby area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Quality Hotel Parnell is perfectly located, out of the noisy Auckland town centre, but close enough to be convenient to the waterfront, Parnell or the city’s many amenities. Parnell itself is beautiful and has some great shops, galleries and cafes – the Sunday market is amazing. We loved the large, comfortable rooms, great kitchen and bathroom facilities and spacious lounge for relaxing. Our room had a fantastic view of the city centre and out to the water – it was beautiful at night with the city lights on display. Training was important to us and we were right on the doorstep of the Parnell Pools complex, plus the beautiful waterfront bays for run training and bike rides. We couldn’t have asked for a better location and the great room service made for a lovely and hassle free stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here at short notice and were very impressed with the value! The rooms are basic and the furnishings are a little dated however its clean and has all you need. The location is hard to beat, the dining looked very basic, however Parnell has a number of excellent restaurants nearby.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Quality Hotel Parnell is centrally situated in Auckland. The rooms were excellent, and the staff obliging. The breakfasts were expensive as were the dinners quoted. We were a group of 35 people and we elected to self cater for breakfast by taking some plates an cutlery, and having cereals in our rooms. The tariff was reasonable considering the central city site

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bar
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was a "find" and worth the two nights stay. A great comfortable bed, room clean and bright, spacious including the bathroom and a restaurant on site. The view from the rooms with balcony are just lovely and nearby Parnell village with its trendy shops, galleries and restaurants is a 10 minute walk. It is relatively close to Auckland CBD and has free onsite parking. We found the hotel to be quiet and next visit will spend longer than 2 nights there.

Room Tip: A balcony room is worth an extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urunga, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here as a first stop from Australia to catch up with friends. Hotel was easy to find (by car) being on direct route from airport to city and convenient for our expected travels to the North the following day.

Top floor room had recently been renovated and was clean and tidy with all furniture and fittings in excellent condition. Access via open access a bit out of date and open to (bad) weather but functional. Room had a balcony which provided great views of the city and harbour.

Breakfast was provided in the restaurant and proved to be very enjoyable.

Extensive off-street car park on first-come, first-served basis which could mean a little walk in bad conditions but for us it was great. Although located on major thoroughfare this was of minor intrusion during the day and no noise at night (past 10 pm).

Room Tip: Pay a little more and select rooms on top floor with city views to get the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Parnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.