We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Parnell to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Parnell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our stay there was very pleasant, we booked a premium double bedroom with an amazing view of the harbour and auckland city. The staff were very friendly and helpful and cared for every little detail. Breakfast at Gladstone restaurant was delicious with great variety. They are also very caring about family's with infants as they were with us. I tried to book our stay at Auckland Takapuna Oaks but they had appalling customer service so I changed my mind and luckily found discounted rates here and I am glad I made that decision. It is great value for money, and if I am to go to auckland again, I would probably stay there.

Room Tip: choose one with view of the harbour, it really is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Katrina A,

Thank you for your recent review, and we are pleased that your stay with us was to your satisfaction. It is especially pleasing to note that you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and caring. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all staff concerned, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quality Hotel Parnell on your next visit to Auckland.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    160
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
94
108
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with our two children. This was fantastic value for money, and gave us lots of extra space to cater for our family. We would definatly stay here again as it is so well priced, close to town, clean, comfortable and provides free parking. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: One Bedroom Suites perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear PJTravellers

Thank you for review and subsequent recommendation, and for choosing our Hotel to stay at whilst visiting Auckland. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that our accomodation suited your requirements. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wife and I stayed here at the start and end of our NZ holiday. It is a straight run from the airport by car and takes about 40 minutes. The property has two buildings, a smaller one on the top side has 2 or 3 stories with no lift. The larger one on the lower side has about 5 levels but has a lift. Our first stay was in the smaller building, the room being quite large and well appointed but with no view. We enjoyed a quiet and restful night there. We ate at the restaurant and the food was OK. On our return a month later we opted for a room in the larger wing as we didn't feel like lugging suitcases up stairs. Once again it was a lovely large room only with a beautiful view of harbour and CBD. The night's sleep was quiet and king bed very comfortable. We were a bit peeved to be charged $5 for 30 minutes of wi fi connection. Oveall we would stay there again and would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the city views - we paid the same price both times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear grazey16,

Thank you for review, and for choosing our Hotel to stay at whilst on holiday here in New Zealand. We are pleased that you found your stay comfortable and value for money, and also for subsequently recommending our Hotel. Your comment on our Internet charges are noted and we will be reviewing our wi fi charges once our new system is in place in the not too distant future. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, with helpful staff, a good location and nice rooms. Problem is there appears to be no sound insulation and you can hear every little thing your neighbours are doing and every word they say. Bought earplugs to get a good nights sleep: needs improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear MobileKiwi,

Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our location and
level of service from our staff. Your comments will be passed on to everyone concerned.
In reference to our sound insulation, I would be really grateful if you could contact me direct
on either email - manager@barrycourt.co.nz or telephone 09 3033789 to discuss further. It will be good to know which room you were referring to as we may be able to remedy this type of situation in our future renovation plans.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very comfortable rooms with updated furnishings. The view of the harbour from our balcony is spectacular. The B & B package gives a lovely breakfast in a very reasonable room rate. Staff is friendly and very helpful. The internet rate is reasonable for the service provided. Free parking close to the city is a huge bonus.

Room Tip: B & B add on is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear dsr1993

Thank you for choosing our Hotel to stay at whilst visiting New Zealand, and it is pleasing to note that you enjoyed our facilities and service. Your feedback on our recently renovated rooms and new furnishings is much appreciated, and validates the choices that we made in selecting the appropriate materials. We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel sometime in the future, and I trust that you had the opportunity to explore our beautiful country.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Barrycourt - selected primarily for its location and availability of parking. Our one bedroom suite was a little dated but they are gradually upgrading all rooms. ( I hope they are getting new beds to replace the tired, saggy old ones) There was considerable noise of workmen during the day. If we had been aware of noisy construction going on we probably would have stayed elsewhere.

Being August it was cold and we were relieved to see both rooms had heat pumps and the beds had electric blankets. The heat pumps were old and noisy and not very effective.....only one of two electric blankets worked - we sat in the living room with the heat pump set at 26 degrees and still needed to wrap ourselves in the spare blankets to stay warm.

Breakfast in the restaurant was forgettable and overpriced for what you got. The scrambled eggs were runny and cold - very unappealing. Filter coffee only and tea with a bag and urn of luke warm water. We should have gone to one of the many cafes on Parnell Road - we will next time.

The greatest positive was the staff - without exception they were smiling, friendly and helpful - The views from the room were spectacular for these reasons alone we would return - but when heating is not required! and we will definitely be eating out.

So hats off to the staff - you made our stay a pleasant one despite the cold.

Room Tip: Request refurbished room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Patz02,

Thank you for your review, and I note that there are several concerns that you have outlined that I will follow up with immediately to ensure that appropriate steps are taken to remedy these situations. I apologise for any inconvenience caused by our contractors during the course of your stay, and as part of our refurbishment programme, we will be eventually replacing all of our beds.
I would like to ensure that on your return stay your experience with us will be far more satisfactory than you have outlined in your review, and would appreciate it if you could let me know your contact details via e-mail on manager@barrycourt.co.nz if it is acceptable to you to communicate with me directly.

Kind regards
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is now the second stay I've enjoyed at Barry Court Motor Inn and I'd happily return - in fact my parents do so frequently so it must be good as they're hard to please. Anyway, the location itself is great with a short walk up to Parnell for an over priced brunch - Auckland is great for over priced brunch in general btw. The street itself is quiet and the rooms perpendicular to the street so not at all noisy. It is worth paying a bit extra for the spectacular views over the harbour / city. Service is very good with a few nice touches and welcoming staff. From memory internet was not free and these days IMHO this should really be standard fair. On my most recent visit my brother had his wedding in the nearby Rose Gardens. The hotel accommodated all of our mad relations (some of whom were from Australia and we all know how mad they can be! Ha-ha) - but yes, they also happily expanded a rapidly requested afternoon tea for the family to be an afternoon tea for all guests. Not something we had pre-booked but they catered for with zero fuss and a real kiwi can do attitude. We also had a few elderly family members whose access needs etc were never a drama and patience of the staff came to the fore. Many thanks to them all.

Room Tip: Get a room with harbour views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Bruski_11,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and also for your subsequent review. It is pleasing to see that we met your expectations again, and I'll ensure that your comments are passed on to all staff concerned. In reference to the Internet connection, we are currently reviewing our system and charges, and should be in a position in the very near future to offer a state of the art WiFi high speed connection along with reduced pricing options.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Rd., Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Parnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.