We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought I am on a big ship” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Auckland

Save Saved
You added Hilton Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #11 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thought I am on a big ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

The location of this huge steamer shape hotel right on the sea front makes this hotel a must stay during the life time. The main Queen Street - downtown of Auckland is 2 minutes walk and the Sky Tower is about 10 minutes away. The normal rooms are bigger but the surprise is the size of the bathroom. They are about 100 sq feet spacious with separate shower cabin and a bath tub. The rooms are quite well equipped and so the bathrooms providing all bathing amenities. The room opens up to the balcony from where one could have a breathtaking view of the Auckland sea side. A very romantic view and place to be! The cuisine is nothing exceptional except for the view from the restaurant and for vegetarians the items are limited. I would conclude with my opinion that one must visit for the view and breathtaking scenery then anything else!

  • Liked — Neat placings in the room including bedding
  • Disliked — Toiletteries
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    304
    101
    39
    24
See reviews for
96
450
74
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Very impressed with location, service, comfort -just everything about this downtown hotel was first class. Arrived exhausted at 2 a.m. from Canada but spirits soared when we were upgraded to a corner suite, overlooking the busy working harbour. Easy walk to great restaurants. Just can't say enough about this hotel - and we've travelled the world! Will return! definitely.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
481 helpful votes 481 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We liked this Hilton - a highly imaginative design that takes full advantage of and inspiration from its setting on the edge of Auckland’s harbour. It is white and glass throughout and looks like an ocean liner. Parking is a breeze, check-in totally up to the mark, luggage arrived in our room in minutes and the room itself (No.611) was superb, with a broad balcony on which to admire the view of the jumbled cityscape, the container port and the bay, all the way across to shabby Devonport.

Our room gave us everything we needed and maybe a bit more. While the bathroom wasn’t quite up to the ultra-new standards of the Crown, Napier (qv), no one could find anything wrong with it once you got used to the sliding door and the glass shower wall which actually looked like the door. There was a big flatscreen TV, rapid internet, a comfy bed and cool decor.

Downstairs, there is a bar for lunch snacks and White restaurant where we had dinner. This is a rather smart place, with contemporary food, not perhaps as buzzy as the scores of waterfront restaurants around the harbour and the marina. We had a particularly fine lunch the next day at a place called Cin Cin in the old customs building.

The hotel emailed us five days before our arrival to advise us that a large cruise ship, the Sun Princess, would be docking early the next morning. We got up at 6am to watch it sail in and after an hour or so it had completely obliterated our view - it was like an apartment block had arrived from Mars overnight. For a while it was a novelty, even exciting, but then the noise started to get to us - it was like having a vacuum cleaner going in your room. But we checked out by 11am anyway so it didn’t spoil our stay at this enjoyable and highly professional Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed in the Hilton Apartments overnight, what an experience the concierge looked after our luggage and car. We were exhausted and this was so well welcoming. We arrived at 11.30pm and the receptionist was so friendly. She then went on to congratulate us on our nuptials and a waiter arrived with flutes of champagne. Bearing in mind we were staying in the apartments and had booked online for a fraction of the cost! We went to the apartment, the concierge arrived with our luggage. We ordered a sushi platter through room service at the main hotel and it arrived 20 minutes later (bearing in mind it is now after midnight).
The Hilton apartment s are the best kept secret they are spacious and extremely well decorated. The service and friendliness of the staff was second to none.
I cannot strongly enough recommend the Hilton hotel and apartments in Auckland a great find! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed here at the start of a vacation to New Zealand after a very long flight from New York. It was great to arrive to such a comfortable hotel and it's a shame we did not get a chance to stay longer and take full advantage of this property. The hotel is very modern, new and definitely one of the nicer Hilton hotels we have stayed in. The room is stylish with a balcony and views of the harbor and downtown Auckland. The bathroom was large and spotless. We didn't eat or drink here at the trendy bar / restaurant but took a wander towards downtown and had an enjoyable cheap and cheerful Mexican meal close by. The hotel itself is situated in a fairly bland, but new complex built into the harbor. To get to the action you have to walk for a few minutes. That said there are a few bars and restaurants within the complex, including an ice bar. If I was in Auckland on a business trip I would definitely consider coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diandda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed at the Hilton Waterside apartments on the way to a wedding. The apartment was self contained and we got quite good value for money from a last minute website (I can't remember which one). The apartment was great apart from NO air conditioning and being charged an extra $30 for parking. There was no service to the apartments, but we knew that beforehand.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWI1010, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
The Hilton Auckland has a few apartments we manage that are located in two buildings next door the the hotel. These apartments ar inter-mixed with owner occupier apartments. The apartments that are located in 'shed 20' behind the hotel do not have air-conditioing. However all the apartments are water-facing with the large decks. Fans are supplied in the summer months and heaters in the winter months. As these apartments do not have air-conditioning this is reflected in the price.

We do offer both 'daily' service as well as 'non-service' rates for these aparments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We were careful to reserve a suite with an adjoining room next door for our two night stay. Unfortunately, when we arrived the staff informed us that they had given away our reserved adjoining room the night before.

The concierge sent us to an "Italian" restaurant that served no Italian food. It was called Cin Cin and turned out to be pretty good although we had been expecting pasta on the menu and therefore were disappointed due to the Hilton's false information.

The hotel restaurants are completely understaffed. We had awful service at White. We had to ask three times for tap water. The next day we ate at Bellini for breakfast instead and had better service because there was only one other party eating there. The waitress said that even when Bellini gets busy, she is the only staff there for breakfast and it can get to be too much.

The best thing about the hotel is the architecture because there are great views and lots of light. It is true that sometimes cruise ships park outside the windows though, and block the view and invade your privacy. The housekeeping service seemed friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the management does not seem to know how to otherwise run a decent hotel.

  • Liked — rooms, views
  • Disliked — service, restaurants
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWI1010, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
I was disappointed to see that we were a number of issues with regards to your recent stay at the hotel.

We do endevour to accommodate all 'special requests' with regards to room allocations, I'm happy to say for the most we do get this right but it can happen due to last minute changes during high demand periods it is not always possible.

I regret that your epxerience in White for breakfast did not meet your expectation on this occasion and that there was delays with the service to your table.

Thak you for your feedback in this regard.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.