We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location paired with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Auckland to your Saves list
Hilton Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“perfect location paired with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was sent here for work in September 2013. It was my first time in this hotel and selected it for it location, both central in the city and near work. I soon realised that it was also near a lot of nice restaurants both in the harbour area and near the fish markets.
The service received from the valet and bell staff was of a high standard and very friendly. We received a lot of helpful tips and suggestions for 'off-the-beaten track' spots to check out and places to eat from these guys.
Room size was normal and we managed to get moved to a bigger room as I was there for a total of 2 weeks. Parking was a bit pricy but if you are staying for a while with a car rental, make sure you pay weekly - works out cheaper :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear soul_man19

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland on your extended business trip. I appreciate your positive feedback and am glad that the Concierge team took good care of you to ensure your stay in Auckland was a memorable one.

Should you be returning to the City of Sails, we look forward to seeing you once again.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    351
    119
    45
    25
See reviews for
107
520
83
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great hotel with perfect harbour views. Cocktail bar and restaurant were quiet with great food. Outdoor dining overlooking the harbour. Breakfast was better than I have ever seen before and the variety was amazing. Service was fast efficient and friendly. Definitely a hotel I would recommend to others

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Marie P

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online hotel survey and opting to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and ambience, served with spectacular views across the Waitemata Harbour!

The team and I hope we will see you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Extremely unhelpful staff, no value for the high rates, almost inedible breakfast buffet. Would not recommend this hotel at all - much better off at a boutique hotel in Auckland. Location is good as it is on the water except half the rooms face the wrong way and the ones that do face the water look at another building.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Hannah F

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I am sorry you experienced some inconsistencies at the hotel with price paid and customer service issues.

Your feedback has most certainly been shared with the management team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future stays should your travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here after a wonderful cruise around New Zealand. If you are coming off a cruise ship, this is the place to stay! Right next door to disembarking terminal! We wheeled our luggage right to the front door. A bellman name William was so friendly and took our luggage straight away for storage and then room delivery. Throughout our 4 day stay, William was always helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, room 414. The view was just breathtaking after the cruise ship departed. My husband is a Diamond Hilton member, and they treated us very nicely. The breakfast buffet is delicious and plentiful! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear luvsmickey

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland as HH Diamond travellers and post your holiday cruise. Thank you for your generous TripAdvisor review and I am delighted you took the time to unwind and enjoy the ambience of the city's waterfront.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the “City of Sails’ on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I think my title says it all. I read lots of moans and groans on TripAdvisor about cruise ships but they are part of staying at a living dock location.
The hotel is clean, the staff are caring and interested in your comfort and enjoyment of their hotel.
Room serve was timely, tasty hot and cooked to precision.
I would stay here again in a heart beat and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting the City of Sails.

Room Tip: I had room 511 great view of sunrise and it was wonderful to sit out on the veranda and enjoy the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear JamesPAB

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland and were able to take time to enjoy the sea views from our Deluxe Harbour View Rooms. Thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Eighteen of us had a reunion in Auckland.Thirteen of us booked into the Hilton as we thought it was an ideal place to showcase Auckland especially Waitemata harbour.We had organized yachting and also a ferry trip to Northcote Point for a dinner. The weather did not do us any favours as a cyclone came in on Friday and out on Sunday - exactly matching our reunion time, so we had to cancel these events.We had drinks and dinner at Fish and we were able to use the balcony for drinks before dinner which suited us well. The staff were very accommodating and the food was very good.
Our room was spacious and had a great outlook.It was a superior harbor view room (I think that's what they call it.) The staff were all very helpful from the time we arrived until the time we left.

Room Tip: If you book a harbour view room make sure there are no cruise ships in as they will block your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear RossAnderson

Thank you posting your review on TripAdvisor following your reunion with friends in Auckland. I do apologize for the weather that weekend, however am glad the team cared for you well and you enjoyed a pleasurable dinner in FISH restaurant.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and we hope to see you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Auckland Hilton is well located on the water in the city. It is an average hotel property with an higher than average price. We were unable to get early check-in. There really don't seem to be many higher end choices in Auckland. It was clean and safe - but nothing special.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dea Anita M

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. The hotel certainly does boast a unique waterfront location within very close proximity to the social hub of the city’s entertainment precinct.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.