We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel over the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Auckland to your Saves list
Hilton Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel over the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I had an amazing stay in a bow suite which has sweeping views of the harbour with floor to ceiling windows. Simply fabulous. Huge bathroom with big bath and all the facilities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Service was good at all times from all staff.

Breakfast in the restaurant was quite pleasant although the egg cooking station was very slow, I guess that can be expected since the hotel was very full.

Only downside is it's quite a walk to the main city area. But this is necessary to get the overwater location they have.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagni, Director of Sales at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you posting a review of the hotel following your stay.

It was great to read your comments and I am pleased to see you enjoyed your Bow Suite experience with its amazing view of the harbor and that the service from our team members was to your satisfaction.
We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    351
    119
    45
    25
See reviews for
107
519
83
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We just came back from staying two nights & found this Hilton to be the best we have stayed in because of the staff. Warm, friendly and willing to go the extra mile - also great cocktails. The rooms are good - plus is the balcony, however the room is quite standard in size. good ammenties although the pool is very small and there is no spa. It was great having a BIG cruise ship parked next to the hotel as this is somthing that you would never see up so close. Room service breakfast was good and heaps of food. It didnt bother us that our room faced the apartments next door beacuse we stood on the balcony watching all the crazy going ons like that Alfred Hitchcock movie....rear window, would have been nice to have some balcony furniture.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagni, Director of Sales at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you posting a review of the hotel following your stay.

I was delighted to read that you found the service from our team members exceptional during your stay with us and enjoyed our delicious cocktails in Bellini!.
We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ and London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel was an easy and refreshing 10-minute waterside walk from the 'Airport Express' bus terminus in Auckland city, which was welcome after our long flight from Hong Kong. Our harbour view room was very pleasant, and staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel's top feature is its location, and we did enjoy watching waterfront life from our balcony - comings and goings of ferries to and from the islands in the Hauraki Gulf, and industrial activity at the container port. We felt that food in the restaurant was overpriced, and quite honestly there is no shortage of good alternatives in the local vicinity for a better price. Overall, the hotel was pleasant enough, but not what we would call luxurious. Perhaps we had been spoiled by the fact that we had just come from Hong Kong, where we'd stayed at the fabulous Hotel Icon - a very tough act to follow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagni, Director of Sales at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Pete and Carole,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel following your stay in February 2011, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found our waterfront location to be suitable for your needs and that you enjoyed watching the activity on the harbour from your room.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hopefully we will see you back again.

Best regards,

Ryan Mikkelson
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Truly magnificent location right on the port. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room and bed particularly was extremely comfortable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear MrsT209,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us, I appreciate your feedback.

It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay and the location, hopefully we will see you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days at the end of our honeymoon. We had a deluxe harbour view room. This is a lovely, modern hotel in a great location. The views from our room over the harbour were spectacular and it would be worth staying at this hotel for that alone. The rooms were big and bright, with a massive comfortable bed. The bathroom had the added advantage of a bath as well as a shower which was lovely and deep to have a soak in.

The staff at this hotel were friendly and very helpful - in particular the conceirge and the bar staff in Bellini could not have done enough for you, and we enjoyed several conversations with some of the waiters. A big thank you as well to Chris, the general manager, who arranged for a bottle of wine and some chocalates to be left in our room on arrival for my husband's birthday. Its the small touches like this that make this hotel such a great place to stay and we would highly recommended anyone visiting Auckland to book in here. Pete & Alex

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Alics1976,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of the hotel following your stay with us, your feedback is very much appreciated.

Thank you for your kind words and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help celebrate your husband's birthday.

Thanks for staying with us and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I've stayed in Auckland 4 times for a total of 5 nights in three different downtown hotels, which were all very good. However, The Hilton is "head and shoulders" above the rest in location, quality, convenience, price, and friendliness. It's a great place to stay. My wife and I were there the nights of February 27th, and March 8th and 9th of 2012. You can't beat the balcony and "City of Sails" harbor view. The rooms are large, clean, and very modern. The breakfast buffet is huge, nutritious and delicious. The staff was friendly and efficient, and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms when we came to Auckland and two weeks later when we left. Both wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Booked my management team and their partners into the Auckland Hilton in March 2011 for a 5 night stay.

The wife and i took the Presidential suite and the rest of the team had the Bow suites so we booked out all of the top rooms in the hotel.

This hotel is probably a good 4 star, but definately not a 5. The other option we looked at was the Westin, but we discovered that at the time it was experiencing financial problems of some kind so we steered clear. That being said, the Hilton was bright,airy and fresh and sat right on the edge of the warf facing Auckland Harbour. - There may be better hotels in Auckland, but we wanted the harbour views so we were told the Hilton and the Westin were the best options by our agent.

The location is excellent and it is located right amongst some of the best eateries in Auckland as well as the marina, all just a 5 minute walk away.

The Presidential suite was large and it had a huge balcony that ran down the whole left hand side of the suite. The balcony was very deep in many parts and could easily accommodate a party outside if required ( or allowed).

The couches in the suite were not super comfy and probably what you would expect in a 4 star hotel, which was one of the differentiaters from it being a 5 star property.

The Presidential suite features 2 full bathrooms complete with 2 showers. The main bathroom has a much larger shower ( big enough for a party!) and a large bath with views of the harbour.

The Bow suites and the Presidential suite are on the Harbour end of the hotel and they are not symetrical as the shape of the building is not either. - They form what would best be described as an out of shape tri angle in the living areas. - Full length Windows on both sides of the suite, make for wonderful views of the harbour.

Cruise ships dock right next to the hotel and this would block the view if you stayed in a lower floor or a room further from the end of the building. - You also get a big crowd in the hotel bar and around the hotel when the cruise ships dock.

Another plus though is that you are right next door to the ferry terminal, so if you intend taking a ferry trip to one of the surrounding destinations for the day you don't have to walk far to get back home.

Staff were very friendly and efficient and this property is not very old so it is quite modern and contemporary. For breakfast it is nice to have so many cafe's and restaurants within a few mintues walk so you don't have to rely on the hotel.

We would stay here again as the location is unbeatable. - We would also consider the Westin, which is in the marina if it was reliable.

Room Tip: Its all about the harbour in this hotel, so make sure you get a room with a harbour view. Higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear RelaxWithMax,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel following your stay in April 2011, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found our location to be suitable for your needs.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hopefully we will see you back again.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.