We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location, ideal for ferry building ferry, and getting acquainted with Auckland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Auckland to your Saves list
Hilton Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Prime location, ideal for ferry building ferry, and getting acquainted with Auckland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

It was a really nice memorable stay and great service.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Sf903,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    351
    119
    45
    25
See reviews for
107
519
83
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We recently stayed in room 604, which is a bow suite, and thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. Staff were all lovely, friendly and helpful. The room was superb, with a very comfortable bed & pillows (good pillow menu) and a wonderful feeling of space. Another big plus was the opening windows and sliding doors, this meant that we could enjoy the fresh sea air, instead of relying on airconditioning. My wife is a smoker, so it was nice to be able to sit out on the balcony with her while she enjoyed a durrie and a glass or three of wine; much more civilized than other hotels where smokers are banished to the street. The location is also a big plus if you want to get out on the harbour - the ferry terminal is right next door, as are the Viaduct & Westhaven Marinas. You also have some excellent local restaurants such as Cin Cin and Euro. The whitebait fritters at Euro are the best I've ever had. Be sure to visit the superb Auckland Museum at the Domain and allow at least a few hours to savour the treasures. The Maori and Pacific Island exhibitions are particularly good.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you can't justify the added expense of a bow suite, the common areas are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Mark E,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel on tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay in one of the hotel's Bow Suites and had the time to relax and soak in the views over the Waitemata Harbour. I noted you enjoyed the Whitebait Fritters at Euro, try FISH at the Hilton on your next visit. Chef Shane Yardley does very good Whitebait too!

Thank you for staying at Hilton Auckland and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Hilton Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

By far one of my favorite Hiltons. Our room had floor-to-ceiling windows on three walls, giving us an incredible wrap-around view of the Harbour, and a nice big balcony for sipping wine at sunset. Very romantic. A really memorable hotel.

Room was of a very good size, and spotlessly kept and maintained. The over-deep soaking tub was unexpected and much enjoyed. Staff were in general efficient and helpful.

The hotel's breakfast is a bit pricey but one of the nicer Hilton buffets, especially if you can get a good rate on a bed-and-breakfast package or free with your Hilton status. There is no executive lounge in this Hilton so Diamonds will get free buffet breakfast and Golds will if their room is upgraded.

Wifi is extremely expensive, as with most hotels in this part of the world, so if you have Hilton gold or higher, be grateful; otherwise, shop for a package that includes Internet access.

The surrounding neighborhood is a little industrial, including right up to the next door buildings, but there are some tasty restaurants mixed in, just don't be surprised when your taxi drops you off in front of what looks like a warehouse.

Tip: take a Supershuttle from the airport; I generally can't stand the shared ride services but the taxi fare from AKL to Auckland city center is about $80 NZD. Makes the supershuttle a ot more tolerable when it's saving you $50 or more.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for an upgraded/view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear dcpatti,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of the Hilton Auckland on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate the opportunity to read your feedback.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Our location right on the waterfront provides for some fantastic views over the Auckland waterfront and I am glad to see that you had the opportunity to enjoy a glass of wine watching the sun set.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

It costs more than 1000 NZD a night in one of their best rooms during the rugby world cup, room only (you heard it ; 1000 bucks over and wifi is extra, yes). From the distance, at the tip of PRINCES WHARF, the HILTON looks like a big boat pointing to ocean, and the BOW SUITES are the row of rooms at the front of the building. The view from the room over the Auckland bay is stunning. The Swimming pool is uncredible. Although the reception is surprisingly tiny and tucked in one corner of the foyer, the staff is very polite and helpful.

Like :
-Wake up with the view over the Auckland bay, right from our bed. The view the view the view. (Electric curtains please, no less)
-Very well appointed room with elegant scandinavian-like furniture
-Very comfortable bed
-Expresso machine in room ! For european travellers like us, this is gold !
-Stunning (heated) swimming pool, go and expose yourself !

Did not like :
-Bare service at premium price, but that’s HILTON, that’s the price for this privilege
-The bathroom is very simple, large but nothing to die for

Tips :
It costs around 80 by taxi from the airport

So the HILTON Auckland is a big, elegant and expensive thing and away from everything. Go there, fork out a big bag of money and enjoy. We did, but only afforded 2 nights, then we moved to the DE BRETT.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear BEEPfromPARIS,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. I appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that found the hotel's Bow Suite an unforgettable experience. The views over the Auckland Waterfront are truly unique and it was great to see that you have left with a lasting impression.

I hope we may have an opportunity to weclome you back on future travels to Auckland.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitman
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This hotel was very busy with world cup Rugby visitors and we checked in without a problem by 830 am using Hhonors points. The entire staff was so friendly and helpful. A wonderful start to our Kiwi/NZ hospitality experience! Rooms were well appointed, although the beds are a bit small by American standards, I know this is standard outside of North America. The expanded breakfast was well worth the cost, and especially being a Diamond member with Hhonors. The management team was responsive when there was a slight billing issue, too, which was quickly rectified. (Simple mini-bar issue...darn weighted fridges!) The hotel is at the end of one of the wharfs is downtown Auckland with great views of the Harbour! My favorite Hilton ever!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear kapitman,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of Hilton Auckland on tripadvisor, I appreciate your feedback.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and feel very honoured that you have rated the hotel as the best Hilton ever. I am pleased we lived up to your expectations as a Diamond Hilton Honors member.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back if your travels bring you to Auckland again.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a hotel that is well located next to the wharf, opposite the ferry terminal where the liners come in and the ferries sail to the islands. The rooms facing the sea are great, I saw two cruise ships dock next to the hotel and when then dock next to the hotel you can quite literally sea into the cabins and vice versa )) it was a great experience just seeing these big beasts dock. The bar on the ground level is quite classy. I must say that the hotel staff is just fantastic! Without exception each and every one of the hotel staff said hello to me and acknowledged me as I came through the doors, just great )) the only potential negative for this hotel was the fact that the wardrope would not take a large or for that sake a medium suitcase absolutly a minor fault and quite frankly not one that would stop me stopping there again. Enjoy this hotel ))

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea and watch the ships dock it's great fun ))
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Starjohnday,

I was delighted to read your review of the Hilton Auckland on Tripadvisor, thank you for taking time to share your impression of the hotel.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel's location and that you found our team friendly and helpful. Our location on the wharf is quite unique and certainly when a cruise ship arrives in port, like you I find this rather exciting.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back when next in Auckland.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC area
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed on the executive level of this hotel a few years back. The breakfasts were excellent! The hotel is well located on the waterfront and has a nautical style with the feeling of being on a large ship. We found New Zealanders to be among the friendliest people we have met. Service was great and so was the bed/sleep quality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear tnc2u,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of the Hilton Auckland on tripadvisor. I very much appreciate your feedback and was pleased to see that you left the hotel with a positive impression.

We look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to Auckland.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.