We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location across from Skytower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location across from Skytower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Stayed here as part of an 18 night trip around the North Island and it was one of the best night's sleep that we had on our trip. Our room (# 1405) offered us a spectacular view of the Skytower (stunning at night) and was smack bang in the centre of the CBD.
Skytower and the Sky City casino are just across the road, the harbour area is less than 5 minutes walk and the FREE Auckland city bus stops right around the corner.
We booked our accommodation on wotif.com.au and got a great deal of NZD$100 per night including buffet breakfast. Car parking was onsite and cost an additional NZD$15 per night.
Room was spacious, king sized bed, separate kitchenette and bathroom. Flat screen TV, writing desk, internet connection (NZD$12 per 24 hours). Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    234
    161
    48
    34
See reviews for
115
222
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed here for two nights at the start of our NZ touring trip. It's pretty basic but met all of our needs. Bathroom was a little tired, and some of the fittings could do with a bit of maintenance. There is a limit of 15 mins hot water in the morning, (an eco thing), which was fine for the two of us, but people with kids may struggle! Kitchenette was adequate, though no cooker, just a microwave. Location excellent, right down the road from the Sky Tower. Can be a little noisy from street traffic at night if you are sensitive to that sort of thing. Five minute walk to the harbour. There was a questionable smell in the lobby but I think that was coming from outside!! Internet access expensive!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed here from 5th -8th March for $412AUD which was great value. Good location in the heart of Auckland but this is nothing special. I was just over for a football trip with my mates so it was nothing more than a crash pad for the weekend and it did the job. It was clean, the reception staff were helpful if a little slow and the room (1406 on the corner) had all the basic essentials plus a little kitchenette. The negatives were a drip of a shower and the odd mismatched furniture which made the room look like it was furnished by the salvos. I had agood view of the Skytower from my window but my mate was in a Corporate Suite on the 1st floor and it was bigger, nicely decorated but it was noisy as. He complained and got moved to the 13th fllor and again it was better than my room. The were painting the landing on my floor so perhaps its getting a small make over.

Overall, good for your mates but not somewhere i'd take the wife.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had a very large apartment style room though the decoration was very dull and would have got me down if we were staying for longer than a night. Bathroom had a bath but hot water was rationed (from memory 15mins then 3 hour wait!) so a bath was out and showers had to be planned. Staff were friendly, we didn't have the breakfast but it looked reasonably priced.
Great location for the city centre which was important for our short stay. We were on 12th floor and it was very quiet.
Overall good value for money but wouldn't recommend for long stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We booked a 2 bed room 2 bath apartment for 4 people for NZ$162 per night. Hotel is right in center of twon, walking distance to everything, rooms are clean, bathrooms are imaculate, good value for the money.
However, the 2nd room has no window no air con, only a fan so it can become quite hot during the afternoon. At night it is a bit cooler. The main bed room has air condition and larger than the 2nd bed room. The kitchen is very small like a hall way with a toaster, a microwave and a sink. Bed and pillows are comforatble.
Overall it is comfortable and good for the price we paid

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

A great location, only a couple of minutes walk from Sky Tower, so if that's the most critical thing for you then this place might do, but there's plenty of others around.

The apartments are very small, even for inner city apartments. The crockery was dirty and needed to be washed before use and the drainage was blocked wich made the room stink. We covered the drain ourselves which got rid of the foul odour.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Was only here for the night as flight arrived late and we left early. The room was a 2 bedded apartment with kitchen, washing machine etc. The room was very spacious and would have been great to stay here longer.
The staff was friendly and the location was in the centre of Auckland near the skytower.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.