We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Out for the hidden costs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
“Look Out for the hidden costs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed only 1 night for the Katy Perry concert which was booked well in advance. We had requested a room with 3 single beds as there were 3 female adults staying aged 55, 24 & 17 years old. The room we were given consisted of 1 single bed and 1 king bed, which resulted in 2 of us having to share a bed.
Also upon our arrival at reception we were told that we had to pay a $100 bond for the night. I questioned this request and was told by the receptionist that it was now a standard request for all guests to cover any damage to the room or if it got trashed. No damage, your $100 bond would be refunded upon your departure. There was no mention of having to pay a bond upon arrival on their website. If this is a standard request then it should be stated in their website. Upon departure we were refunded our bond without anyone checking our room to see if we had damaged or trashed it so WHY ask for a bond. Other than that it was pretty standard.

Room Tip: Check their website fully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear BayGemini2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments regarding your stay. We clearly display all our terms and conditions on our website at the time of booking. We also display the same terms and conditions on third party agent sites like booking.com or expedia. If you provide a credit card we usually always perform an authorization of the bond on your card which is released on departure, however if any damage or unpaid bills are requiring settlement we still have the ability to charge the card for this. However with an actual bond paid with Cash or Eftpos we always check the room prior to the guests departure and this is done by one of our housekeeping supervisors. It is fairly usual practice in hotels in Auckland. We wish to apologize for any inconvenience in regards to your bedding situation however if we receive any requests for a triple room then we will always honour these however any requests must be mentioned at the time of reservation as we are able to accommodate a range of bedding configurations in our rooms to suit every guests needs.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    193
    139
    45
    30
See reviews for
100
189
49
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a couple of nights.For beginners check in was a hassle. There is no parking on there front entrance you have to go and ask the person at the reception what to do about the luggage and all. There was only one person handling all the check in's and as there were 3-4 people waiting to check in at the same time it took quiet a bit of time.
The room's average not that great but if you want to stay near the skytower area i doubt there's a better option.

Room Tip: The higher up the better i believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is only one step from perfect, the double rooms are adequately furnished - but the beds were far too soft for my back. After a few hours in bed, I had to strip the bed from sheets, blankets and pillow and sleep on the floor - which was too hard, of course. We paid for WIFI in the room but couldn't get any connection. It worked in the lobby, in the elevator, on the corridor next to our room - but not inside our room. We have stayed in plenty of hotels where WIFI was free and worked perfectly well. In our opinion this hotel should first make sure the services they offer will work properly before charging for it. Would we stay here again? I doubt it, in spite of the good and reasonably priced breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear 20thCenturyCox

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I wish to attention the bedding situation, we have recently replaced many of our beds and seldom receive complaints about being to soft. We offer free WIFI throughout the hotel for the duration of any guests stay for one device. We do however have a charge for guests wishing to use more and offer some great packages in that regard. In regards to your internet connection not working, we were not aware of this during your stay and if we are informed of this we would most definitely have resolved the issue for you during your stay. However again we seldom experience technical issues with our WIFI network which is state of the art and highly reliable. We would look forward to your return should you consider it.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a family room which consisted of two rooms connected via a kitchenette. Each room had a bathroom. One room had double bed and the other a double bed + single bed. We were a family of 5 (2 adults + 3 children). Quite a reasonable rate for a very central hotel. It was clean. Some city noises as was expected. Staff were efficient and friendly. We stayed just one night.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Samgabben

Thank you kindly for your feedback, it was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest and that you had enjoyed your stay is very positive feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a nightmare experience with my Expedia booking I ended up contacting the hotel direct to make the necessary changes. Romeo dealt with the situation in such a professional manner & made my whole experience stress free. Thank you for going the extra mile - it's not very often you get staff that would exceed the expectations of a customer!!!! Thank you & keep up the great work.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Napiergirls

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to your stay with us in February. We pride ourselves in assisting all our guests whether it is prior to their stay during or after. We believe in service and always aim to go that extra mile for our guests. Thank you very much for your feedback it was a pleasure to have been able to assist you.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is situated in the heart of auckland, walking distance to shopping, sky city tower and other main attractions.

The room which we stayed in has all the necessities, clean and excellent view.

The receptionists are always there to help you.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Liamgrixti6

Thank you for your great comments an o your recent stay with us, and very right you are the hotel is located very centrally to everything a discerning traveller requires. We strife to provide our guests with the best possible service and assisting our guests with their every need.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent just one night in this hotel upon our arrival in New Zealand.

Once upon a time this was a great hotel but now it is quite dated and in need of a refurb. The room was just okay, basic accommodation and basic bathroom. However on the positives, the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location for central Auckland.

There probably isn't much more to say other than it is close to Sky City, the ferry terminal and the information centre.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKutty, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Vicky N

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us, in regards to your comment raised about a refurbishment we are in the process of having the lobby refreshed and we are also constantly upgrading our rooms also to ensure we can provide a better experience for our guests. I wish to however thank you for your comments in regards to our location on which I also agree that we are very centrally located to all amenities and attraction in and around the CBD.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.