We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Centrally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We booked this Hotel through Expedia for 1 night. This is located very near to Skycity. There are lots of Cafes, Restaurants and shops around it. Staff were quite helpful. Room was good. It seemed to be a old hotel but well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    193
    135
    45
    30
See reviews for
99
187
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had a short stay over in New Zealand and were looking for a place downtown so that we could see a few things in the area. We had a room with one double bed and a separate room with two single beds that was well suited for us with our two older children. There was a fridge in the room so we went to the grocery store next door and picked up some items for breakfast. They had bowls and spoons too so we got some breakfast cereal. We had hired a car so needed to use the parking garage. It sounded like others had problems finding it so I emailed them prior to arrival and they responded with detailed instructions which were very helpful. We had no problems finding the right spot and getting in. One thing that was kind of odd was a sign in the bathroom that said there would be 15 min of hot water and then 45 min would be required for more hot water. We didn't use the shower, but if four of us had to shower in a short time that might have been a problem.

So, this hotel worked well for us - no complaints with our stay. It was just what we needed and is in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to be reading your comments about your stay with us. We are delighted read that our services and our product satisfied your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Islands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just an overnight stay with my wife. Her on conference, me on business.
Very amicable early check-in.
Well located corner room on the 14th (top) floor. Great view of the Sky Tower and the bungy- jump antics. Room clean and well appointed with wi-fi at $10 for 24hrs...would be better free but I've paid a lot more within hotels in the CBD.
All good and well appointed...until you get into bed.
Possibly the worst hotel bed I have ever attempted to sleep in!
It was so bad that we had to empty the bathroom of towels in order to lie on them. The bed springs virtually embedding themselves into your body. The frame of the mattress was so prominent through wear and tear that it should be declared a safety hazard.
Unfortunately...a hotel with a crappy bed is as useful as a cinema with broken seats....you can still see the programme but you do so in abject discomfort.
Hoping it was just this room...cos the rest of the hotel is pretty good value.

Room Tip: See the review...just avoid room 1405. Maybe ask if the beds have been upgraded on any of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, we highly appreciate your feedback, and wish to assure that the bed in the room you had stayed in will be addressed immediately to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all future guests. We take the comfort and enjoyment of our guests serious when they choose BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland for their accommodation needs in Auckland.

We hope that you may give us another chance on a future stay where we can have the ability to make your stay more memorable.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Central city hotel and value for money-paid for parking but problematic.Booking worked out okay through booking.com.Was within walking distance of all Auckland CBD sights,events,transport,shopping,bars,restaurants,waterfront etc.

Room Tip: All rooms as you would expect in high-rise city hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. We value your feedback highly as it assists us to make improvements wherever required. We always pride ourselves in aiming to provide value for money for all our guests. We do understand you felt that our parking was problematic, this is mainly due to the street configuration and we always aim to help our guests with any issues they experience throughout their stay to our highest ability.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Centrally located - walking distance to the centre and harbour. Having booked and paid in advance, through Thomas Cook, was not happy when the hotel manager said they had no record of payment. First three days in New Zealand and we were forever trying to get confirmation from England that we had paid. Also had to pay a $100 bond which came as a surprise.
Room adequate and clean - manager very helpful with our prepayment issue.
A budget hotel, suitable for initial familiarisation on arrival in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. It is always great pleasure to be reading such positive comments from our guests and seeing that that they have enjoyed their stay with us. We do pride ourselves of being able to offer affordable accommodation in a a very central location which is highly praised by many of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazeing
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Situated in central Auckland this is a great place for seeing the city and surrounds. The rooms are fine though not large and have a kitchenette with a microwave if you are not wanting to eat out or have takeaways. The staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms are kept clean and well presented.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua District, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Me and my little family stayed for two nights. Our stay here was good and had no issues. Only downfall we had was arriving to hotel only to be told we had to pay a bond of $100 which we weren't aware of. All our accommodation was paid for before our arrival. We were lucky we had money left in our debit card. Was not happy about that.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise definitely request the top floor with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.