We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, served its purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location, served its purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Although I live in Auckland I was attending a conference and dinner at Skycity, so this hotel was the ideal location, and a good price for the CBD. The hotel room is pretty basic, but cleanliness was very good. I have had to take off a couple of points as the bed was terrible. It was two singles pushed together, and so I kept sinking into the middle where the two beds joined. The mattress was a very basic sprung mattress as well. I am lucky to have a very good bed at home, and stayed at two 5 star hotels last week, and I definitely noticed the difference in my sleep quality. You could do worse for a very central, budget option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    234
    161
    48
    34
See reviews for
115
222
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the Best Western President Hotel in Auckland last week for just one night. I had a late check in (about 8:30p). The 2 young ladies at the front desk were fantastic! I asked if there was a chance for a late checkout (2p), but unfortunately there was not due to new guests arriving. But, they were great! They offered me a noon check out if I desired. It costs an extra $10 for wifi for 24 hours (but it was well worth it!) There is also a restaurant on site that has a buffet breakfast as well as lunch and dinner. (I didn't get the breakfast, but was provided the information).

My room was - fantastic! I couldn't have asked for a better room! It was much larger than I expected as well. I had a sitting room (with tv, couch, table), a small kitchenette, a bathroom, and a king size bedroom. It was PERFECTION! I needed to re-pack my luggage, so it was nice to have the sitting room to spread it all out. I had the most beautiful view of the sky tower. It was perfection. I couldn't have asked for a better room. To make it better, the price was fantastic as well.

There is a souviner shop next door as well as a couple snack shops. There is also a grocery store down the street.

I definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, as it can be loud/bright at night due to the activities near the sky tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Close to lots of eateries and activities so ideal from that point of view. Room was well presented but smelt musty and signs of mould in shower. Surprised no sky movie channel and no free wifi other than 30 minutes in internet bay. Paid for wifi but repeated requests for log in made it frustrating. Very clean and bed was good. Quite and good breakfast available with very good service. Couldn't fault staff who were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for the easy access to Auckland's finest establishments, and were not disappointed in the least by the hotel. Nice, clean and comfortable rooms with rapid check in, no nonsense. Highly recommended for adventurers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for two nights as I was looking for something close to the heart of the city and the ferry wharf. The location is brilliant -- a two minute walk to the main strip of shops and restaurants, and 5-10 minutes to the ferry wharf on foot. I checked in very late, and was able to pop over to the convenience store next door to pick up midnight snacks and a SIM card for my phone. I appreciate the security of after-hours card entry to the hotel lobby, and the front desk staff was fast and friendly.

As for the room itself, it can best be described as 'sterile.' I.e. it was spotlessly clean but bare and a bit cold. The king-size bed was actually two twin beds pushed together (this appears to be a trend in New Zealand) and wasn't terribly comfortable. I got an excellent price for the two nights through a deal site flash sale, but if I'd paid full price (upwards of $200/night) I probably would've been disappointed. Excellent choice for the convenient location and cleanliness if the price is right.

Room Tip: I was on one of the top floors and it appeared to be recently renovated -- everything looked freshly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My stay was only for one night but the studio room served our purposes well.The hotel's location was its best feature - right in the heart of the CBD, close to the restaurants and bars I was planning to visit to celebrate my 40th birthday.

Good features included being on the 12 floor which meant we heard very little noise except for the odd scream from the bungee ride opposite (made for entertaining viewing though), the blackout curtains were great and the bed was ok. I liked being able to reserve a secure parking space at the hotel for $20 a night. The spaces were pretty tight though.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast - plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, breads and pastries and the cooked foods weren't greasy. I could have done without the religious service broadcast on the TV - it might have been Sunday morning but it felt weird to be eating accompanied by hymns and sermons!

Bad features - surprisingly poor shower pressure and lack of a normal power socket in the bathroom so I couldn't use my hair straighteners by the only mirror. Having a mirror in the bedroom would help. The whole facility could do with a colour injection - it felt a little drab.

I would stay here again mainly for the great location. Otherwise, it's just your run of the mill hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room high up to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We wish to thank you kindly for taking the time in giving us feedback on your recent stay with us. We that you had enjoyed your stay by giving us plenty of great comments. I must apologize about the TV program which the TV was tuned into on the day you had breakfast. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I've stayed in many, many Best Westerns, mostly in North America and this was not a good one. The room although spacious, was very tired, with very stained mould in the grout of bathroom. Internet was not cheap and dropped out about every 5 mins. Breakfast was expensive and frequently there was nowhere to sit down due to busloads of tourists getting ready to leave for a tour. The lobby might be the most dated and unfashionable lobby of all Auckland CBD hotels. The staff was friendly and it was quiet being up high, but you could hear the occasional scream of the bungee machine outside with tourists screaming.

Not a bad hotel, but not up to North American Best Western standards

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We wish to sincerely apologize if your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. We are constantly making improvements to the Hotel. As all BEST WESTERN Hotels are privately managed we do have differing offerings from property to property. We do however take all comments seriously and thank you kindly for your comments. I have passed some of your concerns onto the relevant departments. Thank you again however for your praise of our staff.


Yours Sincerely


Romeo Liebig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.