We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - has the basics” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location - has the basics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Room was darker than I like (mainly due to it's position - next to car park without sunlight). Was clean and tidy. The location is good in that you are in the CBD. Staff were helpful. I used the gym (has the basic equipment but not a lot of room). Used the restaurant for breakfast only. This was of a reasonable standard and price. TV gives reasonable channel coverage.

Room Tip: If you want a lighter room ask for west facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to be reading feedback from all our guests to assist us in improving our services and facilities, we have recently upgraded all our TV's in all our guest rooms and always pride our ourselves in offering value for money right in the heart of Auckland. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    193
    135
    45
    30
See reviews for
99
187
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights here in a 2 bedroom unit. Fantastic location almost across the road from the Sky Tower. Wifi was always dropping out so kids ended up in the lobby to use free wifi when they needed it. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Make sure you organize parking if you have a car and use the gym across the road as the hotel gym was stuffy with no window and didn't feel safe. Could be a much better property with a bit of renovation. Room service was excellent and they even washed our dishes which we didn't expect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us, our apology about the negative experience using the hotels WIFI internet, we have had some minor issues with it since upgrading our infrastructure however we have now had an upgrade to the firmware which has fixed some of the issues you may have had experienced. I wish to assure you that all the equipment in our gym is safe and is regularly checked for safety and compliance. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedrooms family suite and enjoyed our central Auckland stay for the periods 17-21 Jan. The suite was clean and staff were friendly. Each room had it's own LCD TV with a handful of channels. This kept the kids entertained. The beds were comfortable and room service was efficient in maintaining our suite. An area of improvement would be the two bathrooms in our suite as we noticed there was always a slightly unpleasant odour whenever we opened the bathroom door or used them. This odour remained even after room service cleaned up the suite. We have traveled a lot and have stayed at different hotels. Best Western Auckland rates as one of the better ones.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your splendid review of our services and facilities. We enjoying reading great reviews of guests who have enjoyed their stay with us. I must however apologize about the odor in the bathrooms, we will ask our housekeeping department to take a look into this and attempt to rectify this problem. Again we thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights. Location is just fantastic, clean, coffee and tea facilities, TV, but unfortunately no wifi in the room. Nice restaurants nearby and a little supermarket. Staff please. Will certainly stay there again if I pass by Auckland again.

Room Tip: Stay in the upper level so there is no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we see that you had found our location fantastic, unfortunately you must have been misinformed as we do offer WIFI in all our rooms at at an additional cost. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights.

Good:
- location is in the CBD
- fridge and microwave
- aircon
- large flatscreen TV

Didn't like:
- paid parking with tiny parking spots
- no free wifi in rooms
- small beds
- not enough powerpoints
- windows don't block out noise from street
- curtains don't block out light
- bathroom shows signs of age

Overall basic accommodation, location is the biggest plus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We wish to apologize if your stay had not been a satisfying one. Unfortunately being a city based hotel we do not offer free parking in line with our competitors. Our beds are standard sizes ranging from 2 singles in some rooms to king beds in the majority of the rooms, these are standard New Zealand sized beds. We are constantly improving the hotel and are therefore this year undertaking a sound proofing project which will sound proof all our rooms. Also some of our rooms will be receiving new curtains to block out the light. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future so you can experience our improvements.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Good location for New Yrs Eve, but hotel needs investment in furnishings. Safe kept breaking down, washer broke and carpet needs replaced. New paint would also be a plus. Staff was great to work with on each occasion we required their help.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us, in regards to the issues experienced with your safe it appears that the batteries may have been empty which we would replace in these circumstances. The safes have very good security and you must enter the correct code every time to unlock them. We have replaced carpet throughout many of our rooms. Also our rooms are painted on a regular basis. Thank you for the the high praises of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel was good even though it is a bit old. Plus point its bang in central business district. near to skycity tower. Has many 24 hrs cafes near by. The bed was not much comfortable. Has a good super market nearby. I had one bedroom suite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. We are a very centrally located hotel hence you have access to many cafes in the vicinity, we have replaced all our mattresses recently throughout all our rooms, our apology if it had not satisfied your expectation. We look forward to you welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.