We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for a night to carry out our Auckland city tour before we drove down to Hamilton. We got one bedroom suite. It was adequate for our stay. Right in the middle of downtown and next to the Sky tower. All tours stop at this hotel . We didn't try the breakfast.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and from your comments I see you have enjoyed your stay. On your next visit do try our buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    193
    139
    45
    30
See reviews for
100
189
49
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Best Western in Auckland. The best thing about the hotel is the location, it is very close to all of the major attractions. The room is basic and clean. The staff is courteous. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. It is always a joy to be reading positive comments from our guests and it encourages our team every time to satisfy our guests in every way.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The top floor room I was given could use massive updating but it was clean. The elevator did not engender confidence but it worked to get me where I needed to go. The location was convenient but avoid arriving at rush hour if you have a car as it took 45 minutes to get to front door from a couple of blocks away. The car park is as tight as I have ever experienced so be comfortable squeezing in should you use it for the $20 fee charged. While not effusive, the staff were efficient. If the price is right, there is nothing offensive about the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

My apology Thank you for your comments in your review, it will assist us in constantly improving our facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. I booked a triple share room (as that was all I could get as I booked it the night before we arrived) however, upon check in we were given a 2 bedroom suite on the 6th floor.

The hotel itself is basic, but clean. The room had a small kitchenette which had a microwave and small fridge and some crockery/cups/utensils. One bedroom had 2 single beds and the main bedroom had a queen size bed. Both bedrooms were very spacious and the windows in the main bedroom opened so you could get fresh air.

The air conditioning unit is an older style, it was a little noisy but it did the job and kept the room nice and cool.

You do get free wifi daily, but only available for about an hour and in the reception area.

Parking is available, you have to check in first and they will give you directions. It is $20/day and is in a secure carpark beneath the hotel.

*Just note that you can't park right out the front of the hotel as it is a bus stop. There is a loading zone just before the bus stop but beware of the parking rangers.

Location..................
Well, really, you couldn't ask for a more central location. Right downstairs in the hotel lobby you have a 7 Eleven (which is a little more expensive than a supermarket) but to the left of the hotel about 20 metres away is a Countdown (like a Woolworths) supermarket.
To walk down to the harbour is a nice and easy 10 mins max (its about 900metres walk) along Queen Street.
Sky Tower is 1 block away (it is an uphill walk) and transport is available right out the front of the hotel.

If you want a casual but nice place for dinner, just to the right of the hotel is an Italian Restaurant called A Little Italy. Lovely restaurant and the pizzas were great. Even better that the owner came around to all the tables while they were eating to ask if the food was ok!

So a great hotel for the money - would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your splendid review, it is much appreciated to see such an extensive review from one of our guests. It clearly shows that you had enjoyed your stay and that you had found our services and facilities adequately suiting your needs during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel brand is not one I would normally stay at, but due to most other hotels being booked for the weekend that I was in Auckland I was left with little choice. The location is excellent, just down from the Skytower and metres away from Queen Street, so very central to attractions. It was also one of few hotels that could accommode 3 x singles, not many hotels within Auckland offered this type of setup without having to book several rooms. I think the price was a bit steep for what we got, however it was very central, was clean and tidy. The beds are not comfortable however and it is a very noisy hotel - both from within and outside. They can't control the noise outside but it did feel like the walls must have been made from paper they were so thin!!! Overall it met our needs for one night, but I probably wouldn't consider staying here again if for longer due to the noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, in regards to city noise, we are rolling out sound proofing for the entire hotel in 2014. In terms of our room rates, we wish to advise that they are very competitive and are based on our location and product offering. We have replaced our mattresses recently to more firm ones. In general we are delighted about your comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is nothing flash but is very clean and serviceable. The location is very central to the main street and walking distance to the Quay. The only thing i will complain about is the tv. The had the volume set very low so that you could hardly hear it,my husband has hearing problems so couldn't hear it at all. when we asked about the volume they said it was set from sony that way. Don't really believe this but they weren't willing to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your review, it is always a pleasure to be reading positive feedback from any of our guests. Again I wish to however apologize about the television, unfortunately as we had mentioned, Sony have set up these TV's for hotel use and that means they have adjusted the volume to a average setting of 30 for the volume which we feel is appropriate and ensures that guests in other rooms are not disturbed by loud volumes. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo B.C.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is pretty much a no frills large hotel smack dab in the middle of busy Auckland, so it is busy and noisy. However, the hotel itself is pleasant with large clean and comfortable rooms. Staff is helpful and friendly. I think the price is a bit high for the value but if you book ahead with any of the online booking sites I think you can usually get a much better deal.
Given that the hotel is situated right downtown means that it is conveniently located close to Auckland’s waterfront, which is a delightful mix of trendy shops, restaurants and boardwalks along the harbour.

TIP: Ask for a room facing away from the Auckland tower as the tower is used for bunge jumping. If you are as unfortunate as we were and your room faces the tower you will be serenaded by the screams of the jumpers late into the evening hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review, It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We pride ourselves as being centrally located and being value for money in the city centre. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.