We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location in city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great central location in city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very good hotel in Auckland city centre.

Access: Easy to walk to everything, minutes to the central shops, a food court in the shopping centre next door, many restaurants in immediate vicinity, bus stop nearby (5 min walk) on Queen St to get to/from the airport. Also a large supermarket around the corner opposite Bungee jump. If you want to go to Ponsonby (great shopping & cafes), you can walk in 45 mins, or catch the inner city loop bus from near the Sky Tower. This bus also goes to Parnell.

Rooms: The room had everything we wanted. Quiet room, with view over city to south, and harbour in distance. Comfy bed, nice sheets, well-positioned lights (but slightly confused as to how to turn some on & off), spacious bathroom, shower that didn't leak water all over room, nice bath. Iron in cupboard was good, no waiting for housekeeping. Really big mini-bar fridge so you can fit a bottle of wine or milk in without having to rearrange. In room heating was efficient. Room was cold when we checked in but put on a/c and it was toasty in about 15 mins.

Service: Efficient check-in and friendly staff. Member of IHG Clubs rewards so got free internet. Dined in hotel once for dinner and the food was very good.

Some people mention noise of police sirens. I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Auckland over the years and all get some noise from police sirens.

Only quibble: there was a strange noise after using the basin, a kind of gurgling sound that was a bit random and quite loud. Shut the bathroom door and solved noise issue.

Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. It's not a hip designer place but is good at what it offers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear sunn1g1rl,

Thank you for your four star review and the handy hints you offered with how to get to nearby shops and eateries and also how to get to Ponsonby and Parnell - great areas to visit for those that love to shop and dine out! We were delighted to read your great comments regarding our rooms and our team and the service that we provide. Thank you also for your comment regarding the noise in the bathroom and please accept our apologies for this. If you do not mind, could you please contact our Operations Manager, Johnson at johnson.joseph@ihg.com, so that we can have our maintenance team look into this.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    437
    112
    22
    10
See reviews for
140
292
78
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza hotel; nice, clean, well presented rooms. The hotel rooms are a good size. TV quality was poor and there was no station for young children, would have expected at least a Disney channel. The bed was comfortable and the pillow selection was good. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is close to the sky tower, casino and restaurants. The food court under the hotel was a little disappointing, however overall was happy with this hotel

Room Tip: Take a higher floor as the lower floors have noise from the attached carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Troymf,

Thank you for your four star review and your comments regarding our nice, clean, well presented rooms. We were pleased to read that you were overall happy with your stay and found our beds comfortable and our location close to some of Auckland's must see sites, however disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations with our TV quality and channel selection. Thank you for your great comments regarding our helpful and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Service was fine, the room was very clean, just what you'd expect, no faults found

In 2014 wifi should be provided free. I stayed at a small hotel for 2 nights before this and it was free there, so I don't think the cost is an issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear The Rei,

Thank you for your four star review! We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We currently offer complimentary internet throughout your stay for all of our IHG Rewards Club members. Joining our programme is quick and easy.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed three nights here on arrival very early hours of morning I was shocked to see staff outside smoking.
The room was spotless ,the beds comfy but the noise on the second night (sat) was awful in the end at four in morning my husband phoned reception,they sent a guy up who opened the curtains with a flourish pointed to a building below and said that's a night club it closes at 4am you should be ok now.

We were then given free breakfast for remainder of our stay and reembursed for the one night.

The hotel in very central to City which means you hear the police sirens all night!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Moggie40minor,

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. I'm delighted to read you found are room spotless and beds comfy. I can confirm after going through CCTV footage that the staff seen smoking outside the hotel were not our staff but our guest staying with us who work for the travel industry. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the noise, Very rarely we get a comment on noise from outside. I am aware that our Guest Experience Manager was in touch with you during your stay to ensure we did everything we could to resolve your concerns.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future so that you will score us a 5 star review.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good hotel, central to everything (easy walk) and easy to access by car.

Decor is conventional and still current.

Bathroom is good. No noticeable noise transfer from rooms/hallways. Twin beds were doubles, so a little on short side, but otherwise no complaints.

Staff are friendly and helpful. (aren't all Kiwis?)

Access to good eateries is great - they're everywhere around the block that hotel sits on. There's also a really good little whisky shop hiding under its shadow.

Nice stroll to the waterfront. Almost next door to the Sky Tower.

Room Tip: Car park levels (7) are above the lobby level (4). Have to switch elevators at the lobby to access r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear lfandsl,

Thank you for your four star review! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Hotel to be a good base for exploring the City. We were also pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as guest service is our number one priority so it is great to read we have got this right!

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel many years ago and rather than going to my usual hotel in Auckland CBD I thought that I would try out the Crown Plaza again.The biggest factor in making my decision was the actual location of the hotel, it is excellent. I had made contact with the reservations team two days prior to arriving and provided them with my hotel loyalty club membership number along with my expected arrival and departure times. On checking in my membership number had not been noted in the system even though reservations had sent me an email confirmation.The check process was slow, at that time I was the only one at the front desk.Being a IHG rewards club member I was asked would I like a complimentary copy of the NZ Herald newspaper, over the two night stay not once did i get a paper. The rooms start start from level sixteen but do not expect a great view,On a good note the rooms are of a very good size, windows are nice and big so you get plenty of natural light.In the evening the room lighting is also excellent,Good size desk to work from but there is no note paper or pen available which is always handy should you need them. Bathroom is also nice and big and well maintained, this is good to see in a hotel.However the hotel is a little mean on the soap, surely something a little bigger could be offered to their guests.Other amenities are very good but as a suggestion would like to see a shoe wipe in the cupboard.I did ask housekeeping for one but they said they are not available.Apart from a small issue on my account check out was nice and quick,Overall friendly staff at this hotel, they are all willing to help their guests. Finally as I mentioned the location of the hotel is excellent, a easy 10 minute walk to the Viaduct Basin / Queens Wharf area. Add another 5 to 8 minutes and you will reach the Wynyard Quarter district, another good option to the Viaduct Basin for both restaurants and bars. Wynyard Quarter just celebrated its third birthday and it will only get better over time so worth the visit to experience this relatively new destination.Across the road is Skycity, there are several good options for dining. If you need to shop Queen street and several off street lane ways are just a couple of minutes away from the hotel. I would certainly recommend this hotel for both business or for leisure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for your well written four star review! We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be excellent and within close proximity to many of the must-see places to visit and dine at in Auckland City. Thank you also for your comments regarding our friendly and helpful team. Guest service is our number one priority, so it is always a delight to read when we have got this right! We were disappointed to read that we were not able to meet all expectations during your stay, as our team work hard every day to ensure our guests are comfortable and experience our true Crowne Plaza hospitality and it saddens us when this is not the case.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Auckland recently. Hotel was centrally located within walking distance of city centre, rooms were comfortable with all facilities I needed. I usually don't eat at Hotel restaurants, but this one was quite good - for both dinner and breakfast. Hotels charging ridiculous rates for WiFi really annoy me. In theory by joining the IHG Loyalty Club the wifi was supposed to be free - but it was on my bill. Perhaps it was just a discounted rate. Overall I found the experience quite good and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your great four star review! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast in Aria Restaurant. Thank you for your great comments regarding our location and comfortable rooms. As an IHG Rewards Club member you should have received complimentary internet during your stay, the charge for this should not have appeared on your bill. Please contact Johnson Joseph, our Operations Manager, at johnson.joseph@ihg.com and he will look into this further for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.