We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Crowne Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Crowne Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Auckland recently. Hotel was centrally located within walking distance of city centre, rooms were comfortable with all facilities I needed. I usually don't eat at Hotel restaurants, but this one was quite good - for both dinner and breakfast. Hotels charging ridiculous rates for WiFi really annoy me. In theory by joining the IHG Loyalty Club the wifi was supposed to be free - but it was on my bill. Perhaps it was just a discounted rate. Overall I found the experience quite good and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your great four star review! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast in Aria Restaurant. Thank you for your great comments regarding our location and comfortable rooms. As an IHG Rewards Club member you should have received complimentary internet during your stay, the charge for this should not have appeared on your bill. Please contact Johnson Joseph, our Operations Manager, at johnson.joseph@ihg.com and he will look into this further for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    493
    121
    29
    13
See reviews for
160
342
83
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is my third time staying at the Crown plaza. It is a central city hotel that is very clean and the staff are always very nice. Nicole in the restaurant was particularly pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear KellieTremayne,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your wonderful FIVE STAR REVIEW!! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your great comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and also for your comments regarding our friendly staff, particularly Nicole in Aria Restaurant. Guest service is our number one priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right!

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel was very central - close to Elizabeth street (main shopping, where there is also a large supermarket halfway down). The hotel joins onto a shopping mall so convenient for the food court. It is also close to the Elliot Stables (quirky selection of restaurants) and round the corner is a great little coffee shop - Remedy Coffee. Hotel room itself was very spacious. King bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a little dated. Got a good deal through expedia. Overall, would recommend this hotel for business visit - excellent location and quiet on floor 21.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear UkE_b,

THANK YOU for your great four star review! We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location well situated for your purpose of travel. Thank you for your great comments regarding the size of our rooms and the comfort of our beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Crowne Plaza Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed in alot of hotels in Auckland and I would say the Crowne Plaza Auckland is one of the best. I travel to Auckland for work regularly and have tried them all, but I keep coming back to the Crowne Plaza for the service and the comfort. The staff are all welcoming and friendly and they are always there to help. The rooms are comfortable and clean and well stocked. If you can manage to book a Club room on the top floors even better. They have a private club lounge where happy hours are held and breakfast is supplied free of charge.
Definately consider this one on your next trip.

Room Tip: Try and get the top 2 floors for Club Lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Keith B,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your wonderful FIVE STAR REVIEW!!! We were delighted to read your great comments regarding our welcoming, friendly and helpful team and our comfortable and clean rooms. Guest service is our number one priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got this right. Your kind words are a real motivator, so we will ensure that these are shared throughout the team.

Thank you for also for recommending us so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
The team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balclutha, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely rooms, the most comfortable beds ever, staff constantly smiling and helpful, meals great. ... and prime location right in the heart of auckland. Couldn't ask for better! Highly recommended to those looking for a great stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Tracey M,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your wonderful FIVE STAR REVIEW!! We were delighted to read your great comments regarding our rooms, comfortable beds, meals, location and our smiling, helpful team. Thank you also for recommending us so highly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind Regards,
The team at Crowne Plaza Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Crowne Plaza is one of those large hotels attached to a shopping mall which leads to the main part of downtown. The hotel is friendly, warm and well situated. It is an easy 15 minute walk to Britomart and convenient to buses. Staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Stan061,

Thank you for your great four star review! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location well situated for your purpose of travel. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the helpfulness and friendliness of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
The team at Crowne Plaza Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Couldn't fault their staff. Professional and great service. Always a smile on their faces. Location is ideal if you wish to be in the middle of Auckland.

Although the hotel fixtures and décor are feeling a little old and tired. Needs a refresher/make-over.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Cruzmeister,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could not fault the service and professionalism of our staff. Guest service is our number 1 priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
The team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.