We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #13 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Melbourne
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great choice for a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lots of positives for this place.
Central in the city, with a shopping court literally built around the hotel.
Great breakfast choices.
Really good gym, has kettlebells and fit balls as well as plenty of machines, mats and weights.
Very helpful and courteous staff .
My room was clean and neat and reasonably modern.
There is a laundry on level 17 as well.
I had nothing to complain about.

For meals may I recommend popping out the back of the shopping center and visiting Elliot Stables.... you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Avoid the laundry on level 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear luckydog428,

THANK YOU for your great four star review! I'm pleased to read you had a great stay with us. Its a delight to see you loved our location, our room, gym, great breakfast choices, self service laundry on Level 17. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team helpfulness and courteousness. Guest service is our number 1 priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right. I want to find that key that unlocks a Five star review, next time maybe?

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Well worth the long trip!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    382
    98
    20
    10
See reviews for
119
257
67
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good location. close to sky tower and walkable to queen street. breakfast was average. club is very good. accesible to many restaurants and also to the food court in the mall attached to the hotel. checking was easy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear RajeevGollap,

THANK YOU for your 4 star review! I'm pleased to read you had a good stay with us and found our location perfect for your purpose of travel. I'm delighted to read you loved our Club room and the facilities/ benefits which come with it. However, I am a little disappointed that we were not able to impress you with our breakfast offering. I'm positive you will change your view next time as we are currently working on our Club Lounge breakfast offering :)

I look forward to welcome you in the near future and give us a 5 star review.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Become member of IHG Rewards Club: extra checkout time @ every stay!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a couple of nights here at the beginning of our holiday. It was a quality hotel with very helpful and friendly service across the board. Rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The full buffet breakfast was extensive with gluten free options available.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Altaboy73,

A MASSIVE THANK YOU for your 5 star review! I'm pleased to read you had a great start with us to your holidays. Our Chef and his team will be delighted to see you loved our breakfast offering including our Gluten free options. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team's helpfulness and friendliness - Its a real motivator!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Quality and Fun!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed in the Crown Plaza many times and have been very satisfied. This time was not quite as good. The beds were good but that's all. I think that they have taken the old mattress from the better rooms and put them on the in the lower rooms. The toilet doors were creaking when closing. Come on Crown Plaza a little bit more maintenance needed. Don't let your standards slip. Everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Just pay a little more for the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear DRK042,

Thank you for your 4 star review! Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. I'm disappointed to read that your stay was not as good as your previous ones with us. Please get in touch with me when you plan your next visit and I'm positive you will give us a 5 star review.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - We Value your comments!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just spent 3 nights at the hotel and had a fabulous time. The room was clean and spacious, with plenty of space for all our luggage on the large luggage bench in the room. We had 2 queen beds - very comfortable with a choice of pillows. It was my husband, myself and our son - when checking in, our room had the standard 2 tea cups and glasses, by the next morning (without us asking) we had an extra cup and glass provided - we really appreciated that. We had breakfast in the hotel twice - a great choice of food, and super service. After such a good dinner the first night, my son and husband insisted on having dinner there the next 2 nights - they ordered the same steaks each night - my 11 year old is not a big eater, but devoured his steak. The food was really excellent, and the service was fabulous - we were so well looked. Nothing was a problem here, from our request for a slightly later checkout, to concierge assistance in tracking down an item my husband was looking to buy. This a is super hotel - although it is part of a big chain it certainly had a small hotel charm - will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Siggy66,

WOW!! A HUGE THANK YOU for your fantastic 5 star review! I'm delighted to read you and your family loved every aspect of your stay from check in to check out. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team anticipating your needs and our ARIA restaurant food, Our Executive chef and his team will be thrilled to see your comments. Guest service is our number 1 priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right. I will make sure all the team see your review - it is a real motivator.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Every day a new reason to smile!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed just the one night, booked via hotels .com. Great room with wonderful views and clean. soooooo comfortable beds, best that we have stayed in in a hotel :)
Only major downer was the room temperature....far too hot and the air conditioning didn't work.
Hopefully that was only a minor hiccup and they have sorted out the problem by now, Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: get a room on the upper floors, better views and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sarah W,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your 4 star review! I'm delighted to read you had a great stay with us. Yes, our beds are great to the extent that I could not resist and I got one myself :) Please accept my sincere apologies regarding your room temperature only if we were able to get that right we could have had another star! I will use your review as an example of how we could have made it happen for you.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Where the beds are soft and the coffee strong!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a perfect location if you are in the city for a show at the Aotea Centre. Room was very clean and comfortable. Large bathroom with separate shower. Excellent food in the restaurant. Will definitely stay here when next in Auckland.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear colbe_11,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your 5 star review! I'm delighted to read you had a great stay with us and found our hotel perfect for your purpose of travel. Yes, we are located at the centre of all entertainment. Thank you for your kind words regarding our Aria restaurant food. Our Executive Chef and his team will be delighted to see your review. THANK YOU!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Your exploration base!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.